We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”
Review of West Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Point Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Elmira, New York
1 review
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed one night while visiting West Point. Nice room - large and clean, quiet. Very reasonably priced. Close to the town and convenience stores. We ate dinner and breakfast at the Park Restaurant in Highland Falls - excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101NLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review in TripAdvisor of our motel. We pride ourselves on the value of our accommodations; both on the cost and what we offer side. We continue to make improvements throughout the year and hope on your return trip to our beautiful scenic area you stay over and enjoy another stay. Thank you again.

Gus Koutsourades,
Manager/Owner, West Point Motel, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    63
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
69
22
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice motel right next to West Point. Staff was friendly. The town of Highland Falls is a gem. Motel has done some very nice upgrades which was much needed. A better continental breakfast would be great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer:

Hello. Thank you for your sincere comments about our small motel in our gem of a community, Highland Falls, New York. We greatly appreciate your objective review, especially your recommendation concerning upgrading our continental breakfast. Your comments are of value to us and we will take steps to implement your request.

All the best and thanks again!

Gus Koutsourades,
Owner/Manager, West Point Motel, "Gem of a Community", Highland Falls, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is an older motel, but nicely kept. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. It was within two minutes of the visitor center for the West Point Academy and right in the town of Highland Falls. Great choice for us!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandgski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer:

Hello. Thank you for your recent review of our motel in TripAdvisor. Yes, the motel is somewhat older (last unit built in 1992), however, we are always taking steps to update our rooms and appearance. We pride ourselves as being the only accommodations in Highland Falls with a easy stroll to the Main Gate at West Point. Our community is slowly improving and hopefully you will see the changes with your next visit!

All the best and thanks again!

Gus Koutsourades,
Owner/Manager, West Point Motel, Highland Falls (a short distance just outside West Point's main Thayer Gate entrance).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in their newly renovated king room and were very impressed with it. Lots of room with comfortable bed, nice easy chair ( however I never understand why there is only one in every motel room), desk and chair and refrigerator. i would recommend this motel which is well located and a short walk to resturants and West Pointe. Staff were very polite, helpful and professional. Breakfast was good but limited with bagels, muffins,etc. coffee and juices.
The one shortcoming was limited outlets to plug in computer, phones etc. which is easy to get around . Last but not least the price is very reasonable and it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer:
Thank you for your kind review of our renovated king leisure room at the West Point Motel.

We pride ourselves on well kept accommodations at reasonable prices. We will continue to make improvements throughout the coming year, especially during the fall and winter season. Once again, thank you for your objective review of our little piece of heaven in Highland Falls, New York, next to our great neighbors, West Point.

Gus Koutsourades,
Manager, West Point Motel, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We almost always stay at chain hotels but based on others reviews we tried this place. We were not steered wrong, the room was big, super clean and quiet. We stayed here one night and the Thayer and this room was bigger and the queen beds were really comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, General Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello. We greatly appreciate your review of the West Point Motel in TripAdvisor recently. We continue to make improvements to our property while offering value to our treasured customers. Once again, we thank you and wish you all the best!

Gus Koutsourades,
Manager/Owner, West Point Motel, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Location, location, location. Location is everything. And, if you are visiting West Point, this hotel is as close as you can get....affordably. Rooms were slightly dated, but clean and well-maintained. The front staff was courteous and helpful. Small continental breakfast in office.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review of us. We are always trying to offer our customers the best accommodations for their hard earned dollar. We will continue to improve our motel to higher standards that our customers want and desire. Again, thank you. Gus Koutsourades, General Manager, West Point Motel, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was there to help an attendee at a USMA reunion and took a room here for three nights. The room was very clean, the a/c and heat both good and the beds quite comfortable. Extra pillows were a nice touch. Bathroom mostly very nice (very clean) and at half the cost of the hotel on the post at West Point, the two motel rooms I saw were perhaps less "decorated" than the Thayer but they were roomy and clean and not shabby at all.
My only issues were the very narrow tub - I really do not understand why hotels and motels don't just put shower stalls in most of their rooms as I imagine there are very few people who actually want to take a bath in a motel tub - and the rather skimpy towels (but there were sufficient towels, so that's not a huge deal) plus the fact that the curtains had a difficult time blocking all the external light at night, especially since there's a mercury vapor streetlight across the street. But light is a particular bugaboo of mine.
There were some damaged steps in the building I was in and it is an older property. It has been well-maintained and you can see the effort put into it, but it is not a brand new property. The pictures are accurate. Minor road noise, but this is a small town and it was sparse after 9 p.m. and before 7 a.m.
Overall it was very pleasant place to stay. I would also suggest that the owners revise their cancellation policy and waive the cancellation fee if the cancellations are made far enough in advance. That did give me some pause when I made my reservation because there was a possibility that I might have had to cancel about a month out and losing $25 for each night with that kind of notice seemed a bit harsh. I could understand it more for cancellations made less than a month out or for graduation week.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor because I hate hearing people above me. I believe most of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland Falls
1.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Property: West Point Motel
Address: 156 Main St, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Point Motel in Highland Falls, NY has been family owned and operated since 1923, ideally located near West Point and Hudson Valley's largest attractions. For 90 years, we've provided affordable hotel accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers for short or extended stays. We are a quick eight miles from Woodbury Commons, the largest outlet mall in the country, the Appalachian Trail, and many wineries. Enjoy a relaxing vacation in the lush and historic Hudson Valley Region with us in one of our 51 spacious and non-smoking rooms fully equipped with refrigerators, air conditioning, Cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, and free wireless. Our remodeled motel offers a small continental breakfast of easy grab and go choices like bagels, muffins, juices and coffee to prepare you for the day. At West Point Motel, it's our mission to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay no matter the reason. Our staff is dedicated to your comfort and the ease of your trip. Book your stay and come cozy up in the greenery the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing