We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good Mexican food near West Point”
Review of Maria Bonita

Maria Bonita
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Mexican food near West Point”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We live in California and don't have high expectation for Mexican food in semi-rural NY, but we had a nice family lunch here. The decor is nothing special, although the bathroom is remarkably clean and apparently recently decorated. The staff is friendly and efficient, but this is not "fast food."

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food in an unexpected place”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A great option for gluten-free dining. We were visiting West Point and didn't expect much in the nearby restaurants, but were pleasantly surprised by Maria Bonita. Standard Mexican fare, but freshly prepared and delicious. Attentive service and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE BEST MEXICAN FOOD I CAN REMEMBER”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My siblings and I stumbled upon this wonderful place while actually walking to another Mexican restaurant up the road which is "more popular". My one suggestion would to have a sign running perpendicular to the building so that it would be easier to spot.
The interior looks like there was a total renovation at some point in the not to distant past. Nice bar and beautiful tin ceiling. At the time of our visit, business was quite slow at the West Point Military Academy people were off on break. Service was extremely gracious and attentive. The food all FRESH and the flavor of everything shined through. I have not had such a satisfying meal at a Mexican restaurant in a long time. I cannot recommend this place enough and it should be THE Mexican restaurant to go to when at or near West Point.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic first rate Mexican fare”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We eat here on a regular basis. The owners are lovely people who take great pride in their restaurant and food and it shows. They are happy to accommodate special requests and even though they aren't on the menu, ask for the shrimp quesadillas. You'll be glad you did! Other favorites include the ceviche, the seafood soup, the stuffed peppers, the chimichangas and the enchiladas suiza. Have an awesome marguerita while you try to fiqure out how chicken can be sooo tender, then plan your next visit back to Maria'a.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkmilsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good storefront restaurant”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were going to a hockey game at West Point. I read some trip advisor reviews and decided to try Maria Bonita's. When we got there my brother in law was hesitant to go in. He is a cleanliness freak. The place was small with a nice bar and clean with a fireplace in the back. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was very good. The kids had the tacos after a very good appetizer. I had the burrito...very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slay827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria Bonita also viewed

 
 

Been to Maria Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing