We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best New Years Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Honored Guest

The Honored Guest
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Honored Guest
Ranked #2 of 6 Hillsdale B&B and Inns
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Best New Years Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Charmingly cheerful and romantically old-fashioned, The Honored Guest Bed and Breakfast was the perfect weekend getaway for mine and my boyfriend's New Years ski trip. Not only was the B&B a lovely place to stay--quiet, with great food and a warm fireplace to cozy up by in the evenings--but Lauren and Bob were also delightful hosts and always eager to make our visit the best they possibly could, whether this meant leaving chocolates to surprise us in our room, offering us tips on attractions and restaurants, or just showing genuine interest in how our day had been. The B&B was located in easy access to Catamount (the nearby ski resort) and was only a short distance from Great Barrington, MA which offered a nice main street of shopping and dining. I would gladly recommend The Honored Guest to anyone thinking of staying in the area. I'm sure you'll be as pleased as we were!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

This is our 4th or 5th time staying at the Honored Guest. We visit Hillsdale every year for the Falcon Ridge Folk Festival, and staying here is just wonderful. Lauren and Bob Dunn are extremely friendly and welcoming, and the B&B is perfect for us. Our room has a king-sized bed with lots of pillows, a comfy chair, and an antique armoire. The bathroom has a clawfoot tub. The breakfasts are delicious-- every day is different... homemade yogurt and muffins, French toast, eggs benedict, and plenty of hot coffee. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popplers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

This was a perfectly lovely place. The hosts were extremely friendly and chatty (almost too much so, if you are the type of traveler that wants more anonymity/privacy), the breakfasts were delicious - each day it was something different. Every evening they turned down the sheets and even changed the towels. There is a nice parlor where they have plenty of games, a piano and guitar for guests to use, and they'll even make popcorn for you. They also make great gluten-free banana muffins. The one thing we thought was odd was that there were no locks on the doors. There are only 4 rooms, and they rely on the honor system (so to speak!), so it wasn't a problem, but still, you never know. All in all, A+! We would definitely go back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizaP212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed at this B&B for one night last year while attending our friends' wedding. We absolutely loved it! The hosts are extremely nice and discreet. The lady of the house was so nice that she even washed my muddy shoes that got completely distroyed as the rain was pouring on the wedding day. This was so sweet of her... The room was very nicely decorated with an amazing view of the pine-tree forest. The breakfast was delicious and generous. This is a lovely place to relax and would definitely recommend it...

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanimuners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

The Honored Guest is by far one of the finest bed and breakfasts in the region. The rooms are beautifully decorated and provide the utmost of comfort. The bed linens are of the highest quality and the bathroom towels are soft and plush. The owners, Lauren and Bob, are the epitome of graciousness as they go out of their way to provide exceptional service. Hilldale is a dreamy, country village surrounded by dairy farms and lush, green pastures. The town is also in close proximity to the cultural happenings of the Berkshires. The Honored Guest is the perfect retreat from the fast pace of city living.

  • Liked — The way the rooms were decorated and the excellent service
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FernNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2006

We stayed at The Honored Guest for two nights when we were in Hillsdale for a wedding. Our host greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. Room and bathroom the size of a normal bedroom -- plenty of room for bed, luggage, etc. Bed very comfortable, and linens and towels nice quality. Bathroom fine; shower was in a clawfoot tub, so it was a little tight. Breakfast was delicious french toast both mornings. Convenient location for us, and close to great side roads for walking and 24 hour convenience store / gas station. Would recommend for cozy, relaxing country spot.

Helpful?
3 Thank CPaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsdale
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Egremont Village Inn
The Egremont Village Inn
#1 of 1 in South Egremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday House Motel
Holiday House Motel
#2 of 2 in Hillsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
5.7 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
7.6 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#3 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honored Guest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honored Guest

Property: The Honored Guest
Address: 20 Hunt Rd, Hillsdale, NY 12529-6005
Region: United States > New York > Hillsdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hillsdale
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honored Guest Bed and Breakfast looks forward to accommodating your lodging needs on your next visit to the beautiful Southern Berkshires region of the historic Hudson Valley. Located just two miles from the Massachusetts border and 12 miles from the Connecticut border, The Honored Guest Bed & Breakfast offers easy access to a wide variety of attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing