We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right”
Review of Inn at Green River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Green River
Ranked #1 of 6 Hillsdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Union Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night while visiting the country living fair in rhinebeck
While not in Rhinebeck, we sought for a place away from the fair and had a great drive thru the country that was easy and had much to see along the way.
Very clean, relaxing, and welcoming! Deb was a kind and helpful hostess. We will be back someday soon!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GabeKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you - "GabeKatz" - so pleased that you chose to stay a bit north of Rhinebeck, and enjoyed all that this area has to offer - gorgeous countryside, great farm to table restaurants, a wide variety of antique shops, not to mention museums and historic sites. Lots for you to do on your next visit which I hope will be soon! Thanks again for taking the time to review the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    13
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
93
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Inn at Green River is the perfect place to stay when exploring the upper Hudson Valley or the Berkshires. Its setting is lovely, on a quiet road, but within an easy drive of restaurants, shops, and hiking. We upgraded to the Martin Van Buren Room, a king with a fireplace (and an extra twin), as well as a walk in closet and large bath with double sinks, and were happy with that decision. The view from the room was of a quaint old graveyard and the lovely garden. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was scrupulously clean. The decor is in keeping with the old house, but very livable and comfortable. Deborah, the innkeeper, is helpful in advising visitors about the area, but is never intrusive. Her breakfasts, served on a glassed-in porch overlooking her garden and meadow, were hands down the best we have ever had, made with local meats and produce, and beautifully served. Deborah is an imaginative and skilled cook. We felt like pampered guests, and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally good. Each one is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakespring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear "lakespring" - It was a pleasure having you both here, and I look forward to seeing you and your family back at Thanksgiving! As you noted, our location on the border of Massachusetts makes us a great home base for exploring both the upper Hudson Valley and the Berkshires...and you won't run out of places, museums, historic houses, etc to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Inn was as beautiful in person as it was on the website. The breakfasts were delicious and the room was clean, cozy and inviting! Deborah, the innkeeper, was lovely and made us feel right at home. Far enough away to relax in the wilderness but close enough to the local cities to visit antique shops, museums, the Rail Trail for bicycling, Bash Bish Falls, restaurants and shopping. Loved it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
So pleased, Patty and Greg, that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we have the best of both worlds, beautiful rural countryside, and sophisticated restaurants and great shopping & antiquing. I do look forward to seeing you both again. PS. So happy you found your way to Boxwood Linens! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohoes, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Being parents of young children, we were looking for a getaway that was not too far from home, but a change of pace and scenery where we could relax. The Inn at Green River provided that comfortable, private and accommodating space. All of the amenities were superb, and breakfast prepared by Deborah in the four seasons room surrounded by windows was wonderful and delicious. The inn is nearby to the beautiful towns of Great Barrington, Lenox and Stockridge, where we found many antique shops and country stores. A definite recommendation!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you Niki T. So glad you both found that the Inn provided the relaxing and private respite that you were looking for! Hope to see you again when you need another break! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We felt so pampered with all of the thoughtful details (especially the warmed coffee mugs)!
The Inn is beautiful, hospitality is amazing and breakfast SO delicious! We especially loved the baked apple recipe!
We have told so many of our friends and family about our wonderful stay, and look forward to returning!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks so much, CM! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Next visit I will share that baked apple recipe with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just returned from 4 days, 3 nights at the Inn at Green River and have to say we're already talking about going back! LOVED this Inn! We've stayed at quite a few B & B's in the past but this is the first time we're actually planning a repeat visit to one. A beautiful, clean, comfortable, cozy and quiet place. Deborah is the best hostess - gracious, funny, helpful, a wonderful cook (breakfasts were delicious). It was just the respite needed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marci b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
So pleased to hear that the Inn at Green River is the ONE you would like to return to! I enjoyed having you both here for a three night stay....long enough for you to really relax. We are in the midst of retiling around the tub and adding new shower fixtures in the Martin Van Buren room - the room you stayed in. Please come back to see the inn soon and enjoy the changes. Also to see the gardens which were covered in snow when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

genuine and warm hospitality accompanies the charming home,delightful landscape, and delicious breakfast. Deborah the inn keeper was most accommodating of our particular request which ensured we had a perfect stay. We are return visitors and felt like welcome guests. Thankyou

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper12, Owner at Inn at Green River, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you Brad N - always fun to have visitors from the North! ;-) Thank you for returning to the inn for another visit, and I hope to see you all again next Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsdale
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Egremont Village Inn
The Egremont Village Inn
#1 of 1 in South Egremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
7.6 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#3 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
7.5 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
16.5 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Green River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Green River

Property: Inn at Green River
Address: 9 Nobletown Rd, Hillsdale, NY 12529-5712
Region: United States > New York > Hillsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hillsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The c.1830 Inn is set on an acre of lawn and gardens, shaded by ancient sugar maples, in a peaceful, rural setting in the New York Hudson River Valley. It is close to the cultural attractions of the Berkshires, such as Tanglewood, summer home of the Boston Symphony and the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge, MA. Down hill and cross country skiing, snow shoeing, boating, hiking, biking and an aerial forest adventure park are all a short drive from the inn. It is the perfect Berkshires B&B for a romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing