We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perry Point Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savannah House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perry Point Cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We love going to the Finger Lakes wineries but didn't want a hotel/motel. We are a group of 22 friends who like to get together at night and hang out and talk. Most places don't have an area we can do that in other than a bar. We wanted something more homey. Pat and Brenda delivered when they recommended their cottages. Twelve of us stayed at their Perry Pont Cottage and LOVED it! As one freind said "It's f---- beautiful!! Can we book now for next year?" We loved the view, the hot tub, the bedrooms, the room to spread out in... When the rest of the gang showed up for dinner Saturday night, all 22 of us had plenty of room. There were even card tables and extra chairs downstairs to use, which came in handy. We are definately coming back naext year. Thanks, Pat and Brenda.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryll G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    48
    10
    13
    14
See reviews for
39
151
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We decided on a trip to the Finger Lakes for my friend's bachelorette party. After much research on the area, I contacted several places to inquire about accomodations and package. The owners of The Savannah House, Pat & Brenda, were very responsive! They walked me through options and answered all of my questions, and I had plenty. When we arrived, we were greeted by Pat and Brenda - they were very excited to have us and to show us their Inn. We were booked at the lakefront cottages, which were a bit down the road. Pat gave us directions and many helpful ideas on places to eat and visit. The cottages were fantastic - the view from the one cottage was remarkable - it is right on the lake! The hot tub was a nice surprise for us! The 2nd cottage was only a few steps away so all the girls were able to spend a lot of time together and didn't feel separated. The massages were wonderful - great way to end the work week and begin the long weekend. They came right to the cottages - and set up with no problems. The following day we were scheduled for our 6-hour wine tour of the region - and the driver showed up on time and picked us up right in front of the cottages. He was fantastic - taking us to 7 wineries and arranging the tastings for us so we didn't wait in line! He was very knowledgeable of the region. Pat and Brenda were wonderful and their behind-the-scenes organization of the massages and wine tour made my planning of the trip so much easier. I recommend the Savannah House without hesitation and can't wait for another trip up there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmd3582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Just came back from a two night stay at The Savannah House. Three of us stayed in the suite. We walked in to soft music playing, an adorable homey decor and super clean everywhere. The grounds are wonderful and so peaceful and relaxing. Pat and Brenda are wonerful hosts!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gowers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

on Sept 19 my girlfriend I spent the evening at The Savannah House Inn and right from the start we were not impressed.

1. Check in was at 2:00pm, we arrived at 2:20 to be greeted by a note stating they had went into town for supplies. Now when I pay for a movie I expect to view the whole movie and not miss the first 15 minutes( that's what I paid for), so to not be able to enter our room until 4:00pm was more than frustrating.

2. The condition of the water system totally ruined our stay. I wanted to take a shower before using the whirlpool and I've used drinking fountains with better water flow not to mention the quality of the water was HORRIBLE our pool has less chlorine. It took forever to fill the whirlpool and as I noted earlier the chlorine smell was HORRID.

3. Now I'm glad we came to check out this facility. We are planning on sending my Mother on 4 day vacation with one of her friends and to pay for the lodging. I would have felt horrible if She had to spend 4 days in this smell hole and experience the Horror of their water system.


To not disclose that there were issues with their water supply was quite deceptive. We would not recommend your Inn to anyone we know and furthermore I will personally make sure that anyone I know is well aware of the experience we had. To have to rush out the door in the morning just to get home early enough to get a decent shower is no way to end a night alone with your Sweetheart.

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME.... Better experience at the Glen Harbor Hotel ... No Whirlpool But at least you can take a shower and drink the water!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BravoGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
This guest never said a word during their stay about any of their concerns. We have a standing arrival time of 4pm, but the guest came at 2:20pm. Our water system and chlorine residual [% of chlorine in the water] is monitored by New York State Dept of Health, which requires a certain level of chlorine - which is measured every day. We've had over 11,000 guests since we opened and no one has ever mentioned a concern about the chlorine level. Also we drink the same water as our guests. The guest never mentioned a concern about water pressure. Nearly every guest that has stayed in the same suite as this guest has remarked at how large and beautiful it is, often saying that it is better than the photos. Our guests continually comment on how clean our rooms are, how quiet it is, and how comfortable the beds are. As is our practice, if a guest has a concern, which is rare, we respond quickly. Generally, our motel is noted, not just by the guests, but also by the community and surrounding hotels and motels, for its cleanliness and excellent service. We receive many referals from them because of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glosta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I traveled from out of state with our 8 month old twins and our dog; we were so excited to have our first family vacation (Aug 2011). But when we arrived and took a look around, our hearts sank. The home is not private as advertised, there is a working dock (with barges) *right* next door. In addition, there is another home that is right on top of this one. The hot tub is very small, had cloudy water, and smelled over chlorinated. The furniture looked like it was haphazardly thrown together from a garage sale; I guess I expected worn in but cozy and comfortable. The bathroom shower stall was very awkward with a sliding door and might be difficult to get in and out of for some people, it also had loads of black mold growing in the cracks and crevices. The kitchen was acceptable, the 2 bedrooms small and *very* tight, and the house strongly smelled of animal urine. Basically we got everyone out of the car, had a walk around, and then left (knowing full well that we paid all $$ up front (foolishly) and that we may not get it back). We called the owner and left a message stating that it was urgent for him to call us back… He didn’t call back until the next afternoon, more than 24 hours later. At that time he claimed no responsibility and advised us that it wasn’t his property, it apparently belongs to his son (this was the first we had heard of this), so his “solution” for us was that he would have his son call us about a refund – as of Sept 22, 2011 we still have not received his phone call. (Incidentally we were charged $2K for one week which is not the rate advertised on the website.)
Please do yourself a favor and don’t rent this property (or any other property that these “owners” rent out), you would have a better vacation if you just stayed home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Manager at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
The "working dock" is a naval access point for Seneca Lake. No "work" is done there - it's done out on the lake. This small marina is also about 40' below the cottage level. The cottage is on nearly an acre of land - the nearest house or cottage is about 300' or more away, and each of those is on an acre of land. One is unoccupied [we own it], and the other is used occasionally on weekends by its owner. No matter where one goes in this cottage - with all windows open to the outside - can an occupant be seen from the marina or either house. The hot tub is normal size - can accommodate 6 adults. The renter had 2 adults. Yes - there is chlorine in the water, as there is in every hot tub. In that the previous renters had departed about 5 hours previous, and the hot tub was serviced just before this person's arrival, it is likely they would smell chlorine for a while. All furniture is clearly shown in the photos of each room. This renter saw those photos before arriving - nothing was changed. The modern bathroom is a normal size, with a normal size tub/shower - common in most homes. The sliding shower doors are also normal and common. There is no mold in this cottage. The kitchen is modern and large. The bedrooms are small - and we tell people that. There is no dog urine smell. Nearly everyone who has stayed at this cottage for 4 years has raved about how clean it is. This renter rented for 8 nights - not a week - so their total increased to $1,985, which is the one week rate of $1,700 plus one night at the normal rate of $285. In addition, we gave them two more nights at NO CHARGE - a total of 10 nights in prime season - which comes out to $195.85/night - nearly $100/night less than going rate. Not being satisfied with what we already did for them, they called a few days before arrival and wanted to get early arrival at no charge, which we couldn't do because of the time we spend cleaning between rentals. It's likely this cottage didn't meet this person's standards, which we found at the end to be unreachable. We rarely have dealt with a renter as demanding as this one. My son, the owner, did contact this person by email and offered them half their money back, even though our cancellation policy, which these people approved, clearly states that we owed them nothing beyond the cancellation date. They never responded to that offer. This renter's review comments are completely at odds with the reviews, ratings, and direct comments of 314 previous renters, and in many cited examples - exagerated or untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We chose to stay at this cottage because it accommodated 5. I highly recommend any property managed by Pat & Brenda. Brenda beautifully decorates each room to the smallest detail AND Extremely clean.
We cooked BBQ, made s'mores at night, sat by the lake (you can swim in the lake but we are from Florida, the water was cold for us) and went wine tasting. A perfect vacation for kids and adults.

Jackie

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our second year for our girls weekend. Stayed an extra day. Pretty soon it will be a week.THANK YOU BRENDA AND PAT.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
10.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,201 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.4 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Property: The Savannah House Inn
Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Savannah House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing