We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Getaway Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savannah House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from a weekend trip with 4 of my friends. We did a weekend wine package which included the cottage, a 6 hour limo wine tour, half hour massages for each of us, and dinner on both nights. We stayed in the Seneca St. cottage right on the lake with a hot tub on the deck overlooking Seneca lake. The cottage was very clean and quaint with amazing views. The bedrooms were a little tight but it met our needs. We were greeted by the owner Pat, who delivered our party platter of sandwiches & fruit on Friday. He was always so kind and informative each time I called to ask questions. Our masseuses were great as was our limo driver Sam, and the girls were so impressed as to how much we got in our package for the price, it was a great deal! We were also given cards to use on the wine trail for discounts on tastings & purchases. We are already planning our return trip next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

It was a pleasure to have your girl's group stay at our Seneca cottage this past weekend. Wonderful group. Masseuses and driver also commented on how much they enjoyed helping you. We appreciate your comments as they will be informative for other groups or guests who are contemplating coming to Seneca Lake. Thank you for taking the time to write and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from our first weekend getaway to wine country. Pat and Brenda were very helpful with their recommendations on both food and wine. They are very friendly people that wanted our experience to be the best it could be with the short time we had there. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. They offer all you can drink coffee in the morning to start your day. You also get a beautiful view of the lake. Its perfectly located on the western side of the lake to hit up all your favorite wineries. We will definitely be visiting them again on our next trip there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We very much enjoyed your stay and getting to know you. We're also happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much while here. Thank you for taking the time to comment, and for visiting our little motel. You added a lot to the enjoyment of several of the other guests, and we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this place just this past weekend and had what I would call a so-so experience. The room was laid out nicely but had some quirks for bring their "suite" room. The problems that had occurred were the constant toilet running and filling up even after they came up and adjusted it a 3rd time, a black fly problem in which we had killed a dozen in the one window and told Pat and Brenda about it but he said its a common issue and "we just deal with it". The flies were a constant annoying problem the whole time. There was also the constant creaking of the one baseboard heater in the bedroom which was very annoying when trying to sleep and on Saturday night with the toilet problem and baseboard heater noise we had ended up sleeping on the futon couch in the living. In my opinion it's not worth the money for their "suite" and if you shopped around more you could find a better deal somewhere else at a bed & breakfast or hotel down in Watkins Glenn.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RestiveGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We're sorry our guest had a less than desireable stay. We tried to explain that each year at this time we may get what is known here as "cluster flies". They appear suddenly for a few days, and leave just as suddenly. In that we are located in the center of the Wine Trail and vineyards, and this being harvest time for the grapes, cluster flies may appear. Our guest had a few at one window, which we removed. The flies were nowhere else in the suite, and now they are gone, as they always do. As for the toilet issue - we have not had this issue before this guest. The toilet has a newer flush mechanism, and is easily adjusted, which we did a couple of times. When we did each adjustment, the toilet worked fine, and has since they left. It is a mystery for us as to why this happened. This couple is from a large city and we explained that things are different in a rural area like ours, especially surrounded by fully mature grapes. Upon their arrival, the wife made an unsolicited comment that she was expecting their first child and was conconcerned about anything that might negatively affect her pregnancy. Our take on that, was that she was possibly a little overly concerned, as first time parents tend to be. In that we have raised 6 children, we understand that, but due to the high degree of cleanliness in our rooms, we felt confident in reassuring her. This was a nice young couple and we're sorry they didn't have a good visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Senca Lake wine country. We stayed at the Savannah House Inn and totally enjoyed ourselves. Pat and Brenda have converted a motel into a set of unique and comfortable rooms, each with their own charm. Brenda is a self-described clean freak - the rooms were more than spotless, they were very well decorated and VERY comfortable. She and Pat made us feel like family and offered a number of suggestions to improve our visit to the area.

The view of the sun rising over the lake in the morning is superb. Pat and Brenda also provide a campfire every evening, weather permitting. This is a great way to meet people and share your stories and wine!

It is a short (but STEEP) walk down to the lake where one can enjoy the view from a different angle.

This is probably not the place to stay if you have young kids, nor are you going to be able to use amenities such as a workout room (unless you take a walk). However, if you want a nice comfortable getaway, this is the place.

While they do not offer breakfast, the coffee comes on at 7:30 and is superb. Pat & Brenda also recommended the nearby Dairyman's Diner is just a few minutes away and offers a fantastic meal for next to nothing! Be sure to leave a big tip, especially if you are a Red Sox fan. And say hello to Jackson there.

They are open year-round so you can enjoy all of the seasons in this wonderful area.

We will return!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Ask about the two cottages by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NazTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Excellent description of your experiences here. Very helpful to others who are not familiar with our motel and cottages. Great guests - wonderful sense of humor. Thank you so much for commenting. Mike at the diner is getting a little concerned about the possibility of Big Pappy and the Red Sox winning the Series. You may have to increase your tips next time around:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I returned today from a two-night stay at the Inn. We had a great time and would definitely return. Pat & Brenda are an outgoing couple who make you feel very welcome, Our room as very nice, clean, and tastefully decorated. The sheets, blankets, and pillows were so comfy. And Pat makes delicious coffee that we enjoyed each morning! Pat & Brenda gave excellent recommendations for breakfasts and dinner- Dairymen's Diner and Eagle Hotel. We also met such nice people (and Josie the cat) at the bonfire in the evening. We had fun visiting wineries, eating, hiking, and shopping. Just a wonderful and relaxing weekend. We weren't quite ready to come home!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for sharing all your experiences here for the benefit of those who are looking to visit in the future. We had a wonderful time with you during your visit, as did our other guests. Best wishes - see you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Well, where do I start? The atmosphere?, The wonderful room?, The great owners?
So let's begin. Ypu've got to meet Brenda, a Southern Belle and Jeff. You'll feel like family. By the way, theeir the owners.
Great room, not sure i remember the name ( yes, Brenda names the rooms ), I'll call it the Blue Room. We enjoyed this room.
We showed up un announced and after passing the Jeff test we were offered accommodations. When he found our we were " Dam Yankees", for those of you who don't know what that is, it's Yankees that came to the south, Baton Rouge, La. and never left.
Brenda, being the Southern Belle, gave me a hug, and welcommed us to their Inn.
I got great advice from Jeff regarding wine vinyards to visit. Spot on.
The Inn is rightin the middle on the western side of Lake Seneca winneries.
So, if you're looking for a great place to stay on Lake Seneca. run by down to earth classie people, that make you feel like your family, that look no further, The Savannah House Inn is everything you can sak foe.
We will be back, when our win runs out.
Walt and Marg

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Awesome and warm folks. These guests came to us from another motel because they were dissatisfied with the other motel, and we're very glad they did. Brenda was delighted to share a common cultural background with you, and she was simply delighted that you could truly appreciate what she has done here with her decorating, and the manner in which she tries to make everyone feel at home. You were a very pleasant surprise, and we look forward to you returning each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We returned yesterday from a 4 night stay at The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake. It was our first trip to the Finger Lakes Region and we could not have picked a better place for our 26th wedding anniversary getaway. I did a lot of research of hotels, B&B's, cottages and motels in the area. We chose The Savannah House because of the great reviews, pictures on the website and location.

Our Accommodations: We stayed in the upstairs suite. It was very roomy especially for 2 people. Nice open bedroom with queen sized bed, flat screen tv and a large Jacuzzi tub, living room area with a futon and another large flat screen tv, kitchenette with dining table for 4. A small balcony/deck off the bedroom with an incredible view of the grounds and Seneca Lake. The suite was very clean and nicely decorated. Lots of soft towels and nice bedding. The kitchenette has a toaster, small microwave, small (not mini) refrigerator and a coffee maker. We did bring food from home and ate most of our breakfasts and dinners in the room. There is also an electric skillet but we did not use that. My only suggestion for the kitchenette would be maybe a salad bowl and a larger cutting board. Otherwise it had what we needed.Coffee and tea each morning in the office was nice to have.

The Owners : Pat and Brenda were our gracious hosts and a really nice couple. Very down to earth and full of stories.They offered several great suggestions for things to do and places to see. They did an amazing job renovating the motel and giving it a very warm and cozy feel. We also had our daily visit with Josie the resident cat. She was always happy to see us and the other guests.By the end of our trip, we felt as though we had made new friends.

The Property: The Savannah House In is located on 25 beautiful acres overlooking Seneca Lake. To the side of the motel rooms are several Adirondack chairs overlooking the beautiful view of the lake. Also there is a fire pit with chairs. Candles were lit each night along with the fire pit. It was a great place to unwind after a day of exploring the area and the wineries.

Things we Did : We visited the cute Village of Watkins Glen several times. It is a short 10-15 minute drive south of the Savannah House and located at the base of Seneca Lake. The afternoon we arrived was a balmy 82 degrees in October. We were able to take the 6 pm lake cruise on Captain Bill's boat. Tony and Joe did a great job on our tour of the lower lake. We then were able to sit outside and had a nice dinner at the Harbor Station restaurant. Another day we hiked the gorge trail at Watkins Glen State Park climbing our way past multiple amazing waterfalls. Definitely worth the trip. We followed the hike with a late lunch at The Wildflower Cafe on Main Street.

One day was a little rainy in the morning/ early afternoon so we took a drive to Ithaca Mall to see a movie. It was a scenic 45 minute drive and the Regal Cinema at Ithaca Mall is great. Appears to be fairly new.

Another day we drove to the little village of Skaneateles after a great breakfast at The Dairyman's Diner which is about 10 miles north of the Savannah House at the blinking light in Dresden (a recommendation from Pat). Skaneateles is located about an hour northeast of Seneca Lake. We drove through several other small villages such as Waterloo and Seneca Falls. It was a beautiful drive and a cute village. We shopped and walked the lakefront.

Wineries we visited : On Day 1 Brenda recommended Weimer's Winery across the street as we awaited checking into our room. Great tasting and we purchased our 1st of many bottles of wine. Another winery we visited was Wagner's Winery on the east side of the lake. We stopped there on our way back from Ithaca. Also very good with a beautiful view of the lake. More wine purchased.They also had a brewery and beer tastings but we stuck to the wine. The Miles Winery is in a beautiful location lakefront on Seneca Lake and just north of Savannah House. Here we received free wine glasses with our tastings along with a taste of our first frozen wine slushie and it was very tasty. More wine purchased here. Our last winery visit was probably our favorite at 3 Brothers Winery on the northeast side of Seneca Lake. It was three wineries and a brewery in one location. Our favorite tasting here was the Bagg Dare Winery. It was very creative and fun. You wander down a dirt road to a pond side backwoods bayou tasting room. Needless to say, we purchased more wine here. 3 Brothers winery also gave you a free glass with your tasting and they also had the frozen wine slushies.

All in all our first trip to the Finger Lakes Region was a great success and the Savannah House Inn was a wonderful home base from which to do all our exploring as well as a comfortable place to return to each night. There is definitely a lot more to see ad do and we look forward to a return trip in the future.

Big thanks to Pat and Brenda for their hospitality!

Room Tip: Rent the suite if you have more than 2 people or if you are staying more than 1 or 2 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsaienni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

This is the most comprehensive review of all. We appreciate very much that you took so much time and effort to provide so many details about the area and your experiences with each. Your review will be a huge help to anyone new to the area, which most visitors are. We so enjoyed your extended visit. What wonderful people. We really missed you after you departed, and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
10.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
211 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,252 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range: £84 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Savannah House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing