We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savannah House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at The Savannah House Inn and we couldn't have been happier with our stay there. We arrived at a late hour due to our travel, however, this didn't stop the owners from being truly wonderful upon our arrival. They literally greeted us with open arms.
Our room was wonderful. An adorable place to simply get away and enjoy the beautiful views that came with the location on the finger lakes. Since we were new to the area, the owner took the time to explain many different aspects of the finger lakes from the best wine locations to the best restaurants depending on our moods.
We can not wait to return during the warmer seasons! Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaAmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Wonderful, delightful couple. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again when it warms up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for The Savannah House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My boyfriend and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Savannah House. A small, motel-style inn, the Savannah House was exactly the kind of homey, low-key, and totally comfortable place we were hoping to find. Even in the winter season, the snowy views of the lake were gorgeous, and the stars were unbelievably clear and bright. Not to mention, easy access to a number of delicious and different wineries (we just drove up and down the street and managed to hit eight in one day, and since it was off season, ended up getting a lot of extra samples). The near-by town of Penn Yann is also great, and we spent a lot of time at their tasty restaurant/bars that sported some of the best wings and pizza I've ever eaten, chatting with friendly locals and making good use of the surprisingly happening nightlife.

Back at the inn, the room itself was adorably decorated, and the bed was one of the softest I've ever slept in! We turned on the electric fireplace for a little romance, too. The two owners are so kind and quick to give tips on good local places. You can tell they really enjoy their guests and the opportunity to meet new people -- they make you feel right at home! We'll definitely be heading back in the spring when the owners told us the bonfire roars, people bring their guitars, and guests mingle and make lifelong friends!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for doing such an informative review, which is so helpful to others considering a place to stay and visit. We welcome your return - and with your friends too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Looking for some time away from the everyday stress---found the perfect place--Pat and Brenda 's Savannah House. The quaint rooms were spotless. There were three couples so I was able to see three different rooms. All were unique in design. Pat and Brenda were great hosts--creating a very comfortable and fun atmosphere. With the wineries and their wonderful product, with the great place to stay, and with good friends---it was exactly what wee were looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We very much appreciate your comments and your visit, along with your friends. We feel this area is a great getaway for people living in the Rochester area. Short drive. Lots to do. Hopefully your review will encourage others from Rochester to come and stay with us. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent three wonderful days at the Savannah House Inn. It was a nice, cozy quiet Inn right in the heart of wine country. Our room had a beach cottage vibe. It had a serene view of Seneca Lake and was spotless. The bed was so comfortable we slept in ever day. Pat and Brenda, the owners of the Inn, were so friendly and accommodating. They helped us plan our wine tour and gave advice on where to visit- we went to Watkins Glen which was beautiful. They also recommended the Himrod Eagle for a place to eat. It was quaint and reasonably priced and very delicious. We visited about 15 vineyards which were all on the same road and within a 10 mile radius. My boyfriend enjoyed a bountiful amount of wine and decided he wanted to start a bon fire so Pat and Brenda showed him where the wood is and gave him a lighter and such to get it going. Also we wanted to pop open one of the bottles of wine and Brenda kindly gave us some glasses and a cork screw. We would highly recommend the Savannah House in. Pat and Brenda were wonderful hosts and we will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Great guests. Very enthusiastic couple. Set a new record for number of wineries visited in one day :) It was pretty cold during their stay, but they got the fire going and had a nice time. Hopefully we'll see you again soon. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have been going to the Finger Lakes for 20 years and this was the first time at Savannah House. We went with 2 other couples and got the Suite and two Queen Rooms. The Suite was an excellent meeting place for our group and it was so inviting and most importantly SPOTLESS!! We got there late and when we arrived it was so warm and inviting. The candles were lit all over. Pat and Brenda made the experience better with their warm hospitality. It isn't a motel, it's a Bed and Coffee (breakfast is within 6 minutes in either direction). Cozy, comfortable rooms, great coffee in the office and close to many wineries. Also, for transportation call Finger Lakes Limousine & Coach, 315-789-7272. They were excellent. We loved our trip and will go back.

Room Tip: Suite is huge with a futon and a jacuzzi tub. The other rooms are a great size and also very comfor...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

It was a delight having your group visit us. Very positive and upbeat. You know how to take advantage of your time on the Wine Trail :) We loved having all 3 couples and hope you all return soon. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My friend and I spent a weekend at the Wild Flower Cottage and absolutely loved it. There was everything we needed. We got in a little later than we expected and called the owners to find out if any good wineries would still be open. He recommended an amazing one in Anthony Road. We actually got to meet the owner in person, and not only was he extremely friendly, he told us some history about the area and the property itself. Although the cottage is not directly on the water, it is close enough for a beautiful view and a very short walk to it. Our doggie companion loved the yard and it was a perfect weekend for the fire pit! Loved it so much we definitely plan on taking another girls trip to stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

It was a pleasure having your girls' group stay at our Wild Flower cottage. We knew you would enjoy it - plus have your favorite pet with you. Perfect place for peace and privacy, but also short walk to the Outlet Trail. You definitely took fulla advantage of what the cottage has to offer, and we're very appreciative that you shared your experience with others who may be considering this cottage for their getaway. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We just spent a weekend at the Wild Flower Cottage. The cottage itself has 2 bedrooms and is just charming. Brenda did an excellent job decorating! It was completely equipped with everything we needed - all dishes, linens, hot tub, charcoal grill and fire pit. There was a large yard which our dog just loved! Pat took the time to show us through the old mansion and shared their plans for it with us. Pat and Brenda were the most gracious hosts and we will definitely return! Thanks for a really great time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

It's nice that you appreciate our old mansion that shares the property with the Wild Flower cottage. As you know, it's 200 years of history, and we were happy to share it with you. Thank you for staying with us and for doing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
10.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
195 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,237 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range: £72 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Savannah House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing