We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, spacious room. Tasty breakfast with a view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Showboat Motel

The Showboat Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Himrod
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Showboat Motel
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, spacious room. Tasty breakfast with a view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Based on the previous reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. It is in a perfect location so I was willing to give it a try. When checking in we were upgraded, even though it was a weekend of beautiful weather and the "no vacancy" sign went up as we were arriving. The pool looked sparkly clean although we did not swim. The room was very spacious, looked and smelled very clean. I have to admit that there may have been outdoor noise but the air conditioning blocked it. The next morning we enjoyed breakfast on the dock across the street. Yes, as other reviewers stated, service was exceptionally slow. From what I could tell it was the process in the kitchen, not the wait staff. The wait staff consists of summer employed teenagers and they were attentive. The bill was very reasonable for a nice portion of basic breakfast fare.

Room Tip: Room #31 spacious with a jacuzzi tub. Could hear footsteps from room above but noise from a/c block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelS842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    4
    4
    11
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Good food. Great pub grub and salad bar! Lots of friendly people. Awesome DJ or band on the weekend. Wonderful place to have a drink on the dock by the water. Be sure to try the appetizers especially the bird balls cheese sticks and poppers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rshra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

This place is for sale and is a Gold Mine. Buy it quick before there are no customers left!!! As a year round local we want nothing more than to have a place on the water to brings loads of people for dinner, drinks and fun, especially all summer. But time after time this place disappoints. Not much competition. Come help us out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rerefnstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Came by boat for lunch with family - usually go to Watkins to Village Marina - but thought we would give Showboat a try since we've not been there in a long time. That said - I can tell you it will be a long time until (if) we ever go back. Starting with server - asked what Seneca Lake wines they had - she said none - but she would check. Comes back to tell us that they don't have any Seneca Lake wine, but they have brand 'x' Chardonnay - well, the brand she gave us is a Seneca Lake winery - about 10 miles away? Turns out - the server must not even be 18 because she could not serve the alcahol to the table - bartender had to. After appetizers arrived (which were fine - bird balls (fried cheese) and chicken wings - which were actually good), it started to really suck. Waited like 20-30 minutes - no new drinks - no server. I go in to ask bartender if he can check on order - and get a status of 'its coming right out'. Meanwhile people that came after us are are done, and people that came almost at the same time had left 20 minutes ago. Food finally came - was it worth the wait? Hardly. BLT - store bought sandwich bread - one tomato slice - and bitter iceburg lettuce...mine at home are far better than this. 3/4 of their food is just fried stuff - and should take about 5-10 minutes to make. Crazy bad service - average to less than average food. Also - chairs terribly uncomfortable - metal outdoor chairs with no cushions - although it could just be because we were in them for what seemed an eternity. If you have the time - skip this place and go to Village Marina in Watkins - also on the water, and much better food and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DexSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We just visited the Showboat for lunch the day after July 4th, Apparently, they have the worst servers scheduled for that day. We were the first and only table to sit outside. We promptly were greeted and drinks ordered for a party of 6. After that, things soured quickly. we ordered 2 easy appetizers and our lunch entrees. Considering the nature of the menu everything should be quickly and easily made. Given that only 2 tables were seated after us one would assume, our order would be ready quickly. Not so, after we got our apps. we ordered another round of drinks and waited for our entrees. We waited for more than 15 minutes with no drinks and no one cleared the dirty dishes We noticed all the tables that were seated AFTER us had gotten their entrees and one table was actually heading out. Suddenly we realized our waitress had left!!!! Seriously? SO the bartender checked on our order and said it would be out shortly.....code for "we totally forgot about you and we are now making it". We waited 15 more minutes with 3 disgruntled children and 3 adults. We waited fo food that looked like our 5 year old slapped together in 30 seconds. The incompetence of the wait staff ended up being comical. More drinks ordered and never brought over, waiting 15 minutes for the check. We boated over for the view and someplace different to try. We have been coming to Seneca for years and have been here in the past, we will NEVER come again. I have worked food service for years in the past and the place wasn't even busy for 2 servers. Yet, the service was poor all around, not just with our table but the whole restaurant. We witnessed 2 tables leave while we were there and one table didn't even have a server greet them the entire time they were sitting!!! They clearly think the view will make up for the amateurish wait staff. Do your self a favor and skip this place. There are many other places like this on the lake with better food and service!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmsatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Initially thought about spending my holiday weekend here but ultimately selected another place. However, we did stop at the Showboat to eat at their restaurant, but after our experience I don't know if I would consider staying here in the future.

The service was unbelievably slow. Our waitress was unresponsive. Her facial expression made you wonder if she actually was listening when you were speaking to her which was answered in the negative when the order eventually arrive - all requests ignored.

From the time we sat down on the dockside patio to the time we received our order over an hour passed by. And during the time we waited we only saw our waitress at our table 3 times - once for the order, once to deliver our drinks (took 20 minutes), and once to deliver the food. When she walked passed going to see another table we inquired on the wait for the food and she said she would look into it but she never came back.

Our order was pretty simple so we don't know why it took so long - 2 Hamburgers, 1 BLT, and 1 Grilled Chicken Sandwich - but when it arrived the first thing we did was ask for the check. The burgers seemed to be cooked okay although a little well done. The BLT was a little on the sad side, only one tomato slice on the sandwich. The chicken sandwich was a complete disaster, burnt to a crisp - in fact it was so burnt that it was uneatable and we were able to scrap off a few teaspoons of charred food.

Seeing that the waitress never came back with the check we went to seek someone out to pay and get the heck out of dodge.

I would love to say that this was an isolated experience but as we sat there we saw many other people waiting for extended lengths of time as well. Additionally when we tried to warn a newly seated family on our way out about the absurd wait times because we didn't want their young children to have to wait that long, they politely informed us that they vacation in the area regularly and are familiar with the unusual wait times and that it's always like that and with no explanation from the proprietor.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j9sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We planned a weekend get away and when booking the room the person who answered the phone told us that the room would be over the restaurant, here to find out when we got there it was above a bar that was open until 1:00 am which is ok if you want to party until that time because you are not going to get any sleep if you don't. The walls were paper thin so you could here every conversation that was going on below us, the rooms were very outdated and the bathroom very small. The heat that was in the room was a little space heater mounted on the wall that made a horrible rachet when running. We did not stay there the second night as planned and asked for a credit on our card. The person at the desk said that she couldn't do that and that she would call the person who could. We waited about 20 minutes and then asked where the person lived, she said just up the road that she would be there shortly she was working on a paper. It seems that a paper is more important to these people than customer service. We had her call when the charge was credited. She called about an hour and a half later,
but when we got home and looked online at the credit card statement she hadn't credited the card but put another charge back on, now at this point we have been charged three times for one room. I do not recommend anyone stay at this place and I am even surprised they manage to stay open. It was a horrible experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
16.9 mi away
Belhurst Castle
Belhurst Castle
#8 of 11 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
8.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
15.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
6.9 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
4.4 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Showboat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Showboat Motel

Property: The Showboat Motel
Address: 3434 N Plum Point Rd, Himrod, NY 14842-9772
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Himrod
Number of rooms: 46

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing