We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hideaway”
Review of Rainbow Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Himrod
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint little hideaway”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My spouse and I traveled along with another couple to visit upstate NY and New England. We have traveled together before and have stayed in Choice Hotels as well as lodges and B&B's. This was a nice change from the chains we had visited and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for 2 nights on beautiful Seneca Lake. With chilly nights in Oct. the bonfire by the lake was inviting, we only wished we had marshmellows to roast! Seneca Lake was gorgeous and both sunrises and sunsets were beautiful. Although the resort was old the rooms were clean and breakfasts were very good and cooked to order, host Jeff was very nice and personable. We would definitely stay here again but if you're expecting the Marriott you may be disappointed. Rainbow reminded me of places my parents stayed when I was growing up.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbedwire44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We loved staying at the Rainbow Cove Motel. We loved having the lake view right at our doorstep, and watching the sun rise over the lake. The bonfires were perfect for October! The owners were friendly and helpful, and overall we were 100% pleased. The restaurant served great food for both breakfast and dinner. We wish there were more places like this! -Two travellers from Pittsburgh

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

tiny little cove right on lake seneca -- beautiful spot for a cozy little retreat. Friendly people, peaceful atmosphere. There is a beautiful waterfront to walk along, great sitting spots, they have boats to rent, and at night a big bonfire was lit.

Restaurant had nice food and you can take a bottle from the local vineyards in for BYOB.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor - ceilings are thin and you can hear footsteps above pretty easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxsiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We found this motel online and could have stayed for a week. It was peaceful and pleasant. We loved the surroundings:fireflies, campfire, gazebo, skipping rocks by the pier, the paddleboat, pingpong, shuffleboard, the pool, the field out back, sitting outside our motel door, the motel right across from the lake. It was just wonderful. The place is run by a helpful couple. He came and played guitar with my husband the next morning by the pool. It was simply magical. We all loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were traveling on an 1800 mile motorcycle trip with another couple and stayed one night at this motel. It was amazing, the accommadations, food and hospatality were exceptional. All that was missing was Patric Swayze. Thank you so much. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011camping2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of a USA touring holiday 25th May to 1st June 2011. The motel is on the east shore of Lake Seneca, part of the FInger Lakes in New York State.

The location is idyllic and the accommodation excellent. This is a family-run motel and the owners and staff provided a warm and excellent service. It is an ideal base to tour other lakes in the vicinity as well as reknowned state parks such as Watkins Glen.

We cannot recommend this motel and its location highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indicator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

If you've ever driven down rt.14 from Geneva to Watkins Glenn on the wine trail you might have wondered to yourself, "I wonder what it's like to have a vacation place down by the water. That lake is so beautiful.There's no way I'll ever have that kind of opportunity." Well, you can and you should.Rainbow Cove really suits my fancy. It's on the water and seems secluded but only a 12 minute drive to Watkins Glen. The rooms are good sized. We had a porch outside our back door (rm25) and a view of that lake that was spectacular. They have an outdoor pool (not open yet) a game room with real shuffle-board and a pool table. The exercise room has a few cardio machines. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and inexpensive. They have a small motor boat to rent. This is a resort, but a small one with a very laid back style. The only complaint I have is with the beds. They were not comfortable at all. But that's really a minor quibble. The price is right too. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
145 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
17.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
16.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,180 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Cove Motel

Property: Rainbow Cove Motel
Address: Rte 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Rainbow Cove Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing