We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the water”
Review of Rainbow Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Himrod
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place on the water”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I during our trip to the finger links stayed for 3 nights at Rainbow Cove - it was fantastic place for low cost (under $100 bucks a night) directly on Seneca lake. We would lounge on the dock in comfortable deck chairs right on Seneca Lake and enjoy some snacks/wine - very relaxing. This place is not fancy, dated (60's) decor with an adequate restaurant all at a reasonable cost. The rooms are basic, clean and some rooms offer a view from the picture window and all have a view from the covered porch in front of each room with a bench to sit on. A nice built in pool to swim in, unfortunately they don't allow swiming off the dock, but you can launch your kayaks right there and/or dock a larger boat if desired. If you want to stay there, book now for next year. I booked our rooms for July on May 15th and could only get a room for 3nights. If you like to be on the water and on a budget this is the place for you. It is about 1/2 hour from watkins glen (absolute MUST visit), walking distance to four chimneys organic wine farm, AND has a small recreation room/excercise room, large yard great for kid activities. We loved our stay at Rainbow Cove.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the 2nd floor with a view - your lucky, but really all rooms are good enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

It doesn't take The Four Seasons or The Ritz (I have stayed in both many times) to make you FEEL 5 star. We love the simplistic beauty of Rainbow Cove. If you can't handle a few "rustic" items (you will NOT find 500 thread count sheets or modern furniture or flat screens, etc.) then you'll miss out on an amazing place. If you can put the materialistic comforts aside and want amazing scenery, perfect location, clean adequate rooms, and a feeling of serenity then this is it! I've been with a friend & then took my mom and can't wait to return...Rainbow Cove is something special...the owners will make you feel like you're old friends! You can eat on premise, drink a bottle of wine (from the nearby wineries) right on the dock as the sun sets and then watch the bonfire....perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlantaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamsville, Ontario. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Four of us stayed, two separate rooms (my fiance & i were in #17)and my sister & her husband were in #18). Quaint, warm, friendly, you would have thought we were family or long time visitors of Rainbow Cove from the welcome we received! The room was comfortable and best of all NO PHONES, NO RADIOS to distract from the scenery and quiet. #17 has a double bed( i think that is what it was?) plus a day bed which opens up, small table, couple of chairs around it, dresser with three drawers, t.v. which sits on top of a mini fridge. closet space set back beside each door; nice bathroom, which has a "pocket" door which separates the toilet/shower area from the sink. Very comfortable! Both rooms are located in the bottom part of the two storey section; it was great to be able to have a front and back door, so you didn't have to walk around to get to your car. There is a small games room, which also had a pop machine and ice machine which was ALWAYS full! Joined in thru that room was a small work out room with some machines and in behind in a separate building was ping pong & shuffle board. The pool was not open but nice setup, towards the back. There are actually four buildings; as you pull into the area, towards the right is a low, single storey building of rooms; centre is the office and restaurant and sweeping towards the left is the two storey section of rooms. Each room has a couple chairs and small table right out front of your area plus there are some picnic tables set towards the two section part. More tables are set up by the gazebo and area where the bon fire is set each and every evening! The dock is a large "u-shape" again with lots of chairs, loungers and wooden deck swings. You are also welcome to bring your own chairs and relax!!! There is also horse shoes as well as basketball area set up. At the time of our visit, which was this past long w/end, breakfast was the only meal being served, after Memorial Day weekend Jeff (owner along with his wife) explained that the restaurant will be opened for all three meals from then till the time the place shuts down for the season. It is easily located between all the wonderful Seneca Lake wineries, close the the "Windmill" facility (which is approximately 150 vendors of anything and everything including some wineries, GREAT FOOD and shopping for every family member). The Rainbow Cove Motel is relaxing and comforting!
We couldn't have been at a better spot; waking up to peacefulness every day, greeted by any staff member with a warm smile, friendly hello and after a long day of being in the car, grabbing your beverage of choice, heading to the dock and relaxing! We met so many wonderful people from all over, whom also discovered this "little gem" tucked away but yet close enough to many of the Finger Lake attractions! The breakfast was great, the coffee was great and oue servers (which i should have caught their names better, my apologies WERE GREAT!) Many contributing factors make a great place and RAINBOW COVE HAS THEM ALL!!!!
Fishing (licence for the year not badly priced) came be done off of the dock or by renting a boat. My fiance and brother-in-law actually went out for two different days but hired (a great pick as per Jeff's knowledge) the services of Skip; what a guy...charming and definitely knew the water ways of Seneca Lake. As per the guys, even if you don't catch any fish just being in the same company with Skip adds to the fun associated to Rainbow Cove.
The four of us LOVED THIS PLACE, that we have already re-booked for next year!! My room and a few others have mini fridges in them. Breakfast opens up @ 8:00am so because we are all early risers, brought our small coffee makers so we could sit out on the dock or in front of our room enjoying the sun coming up!!
Thank you for an awesome weekend from start to finish!!! Margarita5040

Room Tip: Possibly check which room has a mini fridge?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margarita5040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Spent 3 nights in early October. We have been here before and will go again. Great location on the lake, very scenic, quiet, and a good base for visiting the wineries, Watkins Glen, Windmill Farm & Craft Market, picking apples etc. These are very basic rooms without the amenities most people have come to expect in chain motels and hotels but the rooms are very clean, well priced, scenic views of the lake from most rooms and the hosts are very friendly and accomodating. Breakfasts at the restaurant are tasty, also not expensive, and the dining room also has views of the lake. The only complaint we had was the pillows were not very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhikersNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Rainbow Cove based on the recent reviews and were not disappointed. The owners were very friendly and our breakfast was very good. The property is older but very clean with a "homey" feeling.The views of the lake (especially in Oct) are beautiful and the bonfire at night was a nice way to meet the other guests and exchange info on the area wineries. We'll be back.

Room Tip: go for the second floor lake-view....Room 20................
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillQ496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My spouse and I traveled along with another couple to visit upstate NY and New England. We have traveled together before and have stayed in Choice Hotels as well as lodges and B&B's. This was a nice change from the chains we had visited and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for 2 nights on beautiful Seneca Lake. With chilly nights in Oct. the bonfire by the lake was inviting, we only wished we had marshmellows to roast! Seneca Lake was gorgeous and both sunrises and sunsets were beautiful. Although the resort was old the rooms were clean and breakfasts were very good and cooked to order, host Jeff was very nice and personable. We would definitely stay here again but if you're expecting the Marriott you may be disappointed. Rainbow reminded me of places my parents stayed when I was growing up.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbedwire44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We loved staying at the Rainbow Cove Motel. We loved having the lake view right at our doorstep, and watching the sun rise over the lake. The bonfires were perfect for October! The owners were friendly and helpful, and overall we were 100% pleased. The restaurant served great food for both breakfast and dinner. We wish there were more places like this! -Two travellers from Pittsburgh

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
17.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
13.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
97 reviews
16.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Cove Motel

Property: Rainbow Cove Motel
Address: Rte 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Rainbow Cove Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing