We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet to Relax”
Review of Rainbow Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Himrod
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Pen Argyl, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Quiet to Relax”
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We were traveling about 30 years ago and came across this hotel by accident. We had our sons with us who were fisherman and of course they fell in love with it. They were 5 at the time and now have their own families and still go up there to relax and fish. My husband and I still have a 12 yr old at home and we go up there every year and he loves it also. I'm sure when he has his family he will do the same. I just love the cozy atmosphere and the friendliness in a small village. We will be up again in July to relax and enjoy. The host are very friendly and accomondating.

  • Liked — Friendly, relaxing, food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Friends had chanced by this place and suggested it. We were on our motorcycle (down from Canada) and decided to give it a try.
What a treat! It was stepping back in time. The place feels like being at a friends cottage; a camp fire each night, a boat dock, a place for shuffleboard and games on a rainy day, and a nice pool. This is not the Hilton - but the rooms are clean, neat, large and comfortable. Little patios outside each room and over-hangs on both sides of the lower floor rooms make it excellent for motorcycles. It is quiet and the view is spectacular of the hills along Lake Seneca - a perfect place for a day trip (around the lake) to sample the many wineries and breweries in the area. The restaurant serves good basic food (not a wide selection). The establishment is not licensed but you are permitted to bring your own wine if you choose. It is well off the main road so their is little traffic despite having another Motel just nearby (which is licensed and has a patio on the lake). The reasonable rates just add to the appeal.

My wife and I have made this a destination each time we go through the finger lakes and have been there 3 times now with another planned this year.

It is a stones throw from Corning (glass museum, Norman Rockwell museum, etc.), Watkins Glenn, for the boating and race enthusiast), and a couple of terrific National/state parks.

I didn't want to let the secret out - but I'm taking some friends along this time. I'll probably never get a room again!

You will enjoy it!

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, reasonable rates, great location
  • Disliked — Not licensed, limited meal selection for longer stays
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Harley_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

My husband and I went to rainbow cove about twenty years ago, different owners at that time. Then about three years ago decided to go back, so here we are going back again this july 08, and hopefully as long as we can. We meant two great friends there from Ohio, so of course we look forward to seeing them every year. The host Jeff & Helen are very nice and make your stay very welcomed. I have recommended Rainbow Cove to friends.

  • Liked — Very clean and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoehamiltonontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We have come to Rainbow Cove every fall for the last 21 years and every time we can not wait to go back. Jeff and Helen are great hosts who will do anything to make your stay comfortable and fun.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PAWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcade,Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I have been going to this hotel for years.I average going 3-4 times a year. yes it is difficult to get reservations here,but only because everyone wants to be there. I strongly suggest going from monday -friday if you are having trouble getting a reservation.
The owners Jeff and Helen are amazing people and will do anything for you to ensure you have a great stay.
The rooms are comparable to a cottage,and are very clean. I have NEVER had a problem with cleanliness at this hotel.
They have a beautiful pool,wich my family makes plenty use of.
There is an game room,with video games for the kids,an Recreation hall with ping pong and pool tables,and shuffle board,wich hard to believe I am addicted too[I'm only 32,and some of my best times staying here has been playing shuffle board, I THOUGHT that this was only a game that my grandparents would enjoy.]
The food here is amazing too,with a different special every nite,even the kids love the food!
I honestly can not say enough good things about this place,when we leave to go home we can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — It's on Seneca Lake
  • Disliked — nohing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sweeny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NY State
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

The Rainbow Cove Motel is a place that we've stayed at for years. It's a beautiful location directly on Seneca Lake that is easily accessible off Route 14. It is family owned & operated - has that personal touch. They also have a restaurant, pool, and dock/deck directly on the water. The rooms are nothing fancy or pretentious-simply clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrfightr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Gardner,NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stumbled upon this hotel and were very pleasantly surprised. It has everything you need, views, dock, boat, clean rooms,bon fire,restaurant,and very nice people! Conveniently located right down the street from Four Chiminey Winery..Also an excellent find...

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JB827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
178 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
16.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,222 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Cove Motel

Property: Rainbow Cove Motel
Address: Rte 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Rainbow Cove Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing