We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful...and they are now CLOSED” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Grill - CLOSED

Sonoma Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Islip, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful...and they are now CLOSED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A friend and I and an AWFUL meal and equally AWFUL service there. Thankfully, they are now closed permanently, and a Hibachi Grill/Sushi restaurant will be moving into that space.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hollybern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sonoma Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Family has eaten here many times without any problems. Enjoyable meals with attentive wait staff. The food is good with large portions. On a bad note we heard that they are closing at the end of this year & being replaced by another restaurant. Sorry to see them leave.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoiAn Vietnam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I went to lunch here on the recommendation of the lady I was meeting. When we arrived the hostess was on the telephone and when she got off she seemed dazed and confused. We were seated quickly, the place was not crowded, but our section with a blue ceiling and blue lights was so dimly lit I borrowed a flashlight to read the menu. I had read the menu previously on their website and had decided on the half wrap of the day and a bowl of soup. the half wrap of the day was grilled vegetables so I passed on that and had a some kind of chicken wrap with a balsamic reduction drizzled lightly on the inside. The wrap was oversized, dry and needed some kind of seasoning or additional balsamic reduction which I asked the waiter for and which improved the taste immensely. The included pasta salad was also tasteless a mix of pasta rotelli and some kind of chopped tomatoes. She enjoyed her steak wrap which had sufficient cheese in it to not be dry and we both had Blue Point Toasted beer which was tasty but should have been served in a well chilled glass and was not. I thought that the bill of $36.82 for two wraps and 2 beers in a strip mall restaurant next to a Big Lots Store on Sunrise Hwy in Holbrook NY was a tad overpriced. The food was average at best, the place was too dark to read the menu and I do not care about the flat screen TVs that line the wall to keep the sports fans happy. I would not discourage anyone from going there to try it out, it may be to their taste and they may love something else on the menu, but I would not recommend it either and certainly would not drive the 30 mile round trip that I made to eat a dry and overpriced wrap again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We've been to Sonoma Grill many times over the years and have never been disappointed.
The food has always been fresh and well prepared and the portions more than adequate. Their burgers by the way are really great. The decor is pleasant and the only negative I can think of is that the place can be loud at times.
All in all it is a really nice place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holbrook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sonoma Grille”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very family oriented restaurant. The decor was pleasant, and clean, and roomy. Lots of people with kids, and without. Service was good, without being rushed. Very extensive menue. Prices average. The fired zucchini was coated in aPanko coating which was very light, and crisp. The zucchini was under cooked, but not bad. The burgers were very large, and flavorful, cooked the way we ordered them. The fries were asked to be well done, but alas they were not, had to send them back to the deep fryer for a redo, not the fault of the waitress. Now for the dessert, an inside out ice cream sandwich, mmmm, enough for 4 but we made do with 3. Overall a very nice and not too expensive a place to eat. They do have early bird, and burger night. The check with tip was 80.00 not chep,but not that much for what we got.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonoma Grill also viewed

Holtsville, Long Island
Holbrook, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing