We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff..hotel needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holtsville
Phoenix, New York
1 review
“Nice staff..hotel needs updating”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for two nights. Matt B. at the front desk was wonderful and helpful. The room was clean, beds comfortable, maids did a good job getting the room back in order for the second night. Negatives..the hotel fixtures, furniture and carpeting have a lot of wear and tear. It needs updating. Everything functioned fine. Its just not fresh looking. I was a little nervous staying there because of the reviews, but it was booked for us by a third party. It wasn't as bad as these reviews, but it does need to be spruced up a bit. The hotel must get a lot of traffic because the room decor is not outdated, just worn from a lot of use. And this is the second hotel we've stayed in that does not have a clock or mini fridge, was wondering if that's a trend. Not liking that. Great location though, literally right off of the Long Island Expressway.

Room Tip: Hallways are long. If you have trouble walking, ask to be closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartmannGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Debbie F,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel property, for it means a lot to us. Staff and management are thrilled to hear that Matt's customer service was "wonderful" and he assisted you in your accommodations. Our number one priority is always guest satisfaction, and we are pleased that you were content during your time with us and Matt proved this to be true. We genuinely appreciate your feedback, and your comments have been reviewed by management. I apologize that there was some inconveniences, for your room should have had a clock in it. However, the fridges are an additional cost per day, upon request. Of course we waive this fee for medical reasons of families traveling with small children. Our hotel is specifically known for its excellent customer service. Please contact the front desk directly at 631-758-2900 regarding any future endeavors.

Best Wishes,
Deborah
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    159
    230
    193
    171
See reviews for
374
184
69
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.. The customer service was horrible the hotel smelled like cigarettes .. Our Room was not properly cleaned the sheets were dirty we had no towels in our room.. Some guest were smoking in their room & the fire alarm kept going off spider webs in the corners .. I will NEVER come here again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brittani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartmannGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Brittani J,

We appreciate the time taken to write this helpful and appreciated review. We are distraught to hear that so much occurred during your stay with us and that you did not find our customer service to be accommodating. We take this very seriously, for our number one priority is providing each guest with 100% satisfaction with regards to customer service. Housekeeping has been notified regarding the issues stated, and I assure you these will be addressed. Although we are a non-smoking establishment, some guests do not take that seriously. It is unfortunate when a guest smokes in their room, but our staff and management stay on top of these guests and there is a smoking charge of $250.00. We hope to work with you again in the future, please give us a call at 631-758-2900.

Best Wishes,
Deborah
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holtsville hotels

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I would rather pay more than stay here again. Rooms are very small, when our room was cleaned there were NO towels left in bathroom. When I asked for some when we got back, they took a long time to find some. Hotel needs massive updating

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartmannGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Karen W,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel property, for it means a lot to us. Staff and management are upset to hear that you do not wish to stay with us again. Our number one priority is always guest satisfaction, and we are disappointed that you weren't content during your time with us. I have spoken with my housekeeping manager regarding the towel incident, and he is sincerely sorry that had occurred. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences, and consider giving us the opportunity to prove to you what we are capable of providing. Our hotel is specifically known for its excellent customer service. Please contact the front desk directly at 631-758-2900 regarding any future endeavors.

Best Wishes,
Deborah
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is similar to many recently re-acquired hotels--needs an overhaul. The front entrance is completely overtaken by the smokers, whenever we came or went they were sitting there, puffing away. The front desk is seriously understaffed though the ones present were certainly friendly and nice. The rooms were adequate, Sleep Number bed was comfy. The towels were old and mismatched, but there were 3 of each rather than the usual two.
Some oddities: we were two adults in a king bedded room provided with only one drinking glass and one coffee mug. The second night the room was redone the same way. The second night we had no bath mat, I asked for one on our way out ,and again upon return when it still wasn't provided. Never got a bath mat so used the third bath towel.
One peeve is the new trend to green-ness. To get fresh towels you are instructed to put them on the floor but if you return before the room is redone you must use a towel from the floor. There must be away to get dry towels but I could only think to ask at the desk.
Overall, this hotel is ok when you need to stay, certainly not a place for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ei442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartmannGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Eiball442,

We appreciate the time taken to write this helpful and appreciated review. We are disappointed to hear that not everything regarding your stay was as comfortable as your sleep number bed was. Unfortunately it seems housekeeping made some mistakes, and your comments have been sent to our housekeeping director. We do not take these comments lightly, for we aim for 100% satisfaction. Management has been notified regarding the smoking issue outside the hotel and your feelings towards the hotel desk being understaffed. Again, we apologize for all that has occurred here and I would love the chance to make it up to you. We hope to work with you again in the future, please give us a call at 631-758-2900.

Best Wishes,
Deborah
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I read the reviews of other trusty trip advisor reviewers but felt obligated to stay. I had reservations at the Marriott but a family member pre paid on Priceline. I was torn after reading the reviews but they paid for two nights in advance. Upon arrival there was a large group of men smoking in the entrance. Walked into the lobby to be greeted by a blue couch with a very large brown stain. It gets worse on the room floors the carpet is stained with bleach stains in the hallways. We refused to stay in one room due to the bugs in the shower. Some rooms are partially decorated and in the atrium there is trash and broken furniture. It is clear here that someone has given up. When we left in the morning we were greeted by Hotel personnel smoking in front of the hotel with cigarette butts littering the entrance. Warning don't look under the bed. We left after the first night and checked into the Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chartmannGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Donna T,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel property, for it means a lot to us. Staff and management are very disappointed to hear that such occurrences happened during your stay with us. Our number one priority is always guest satisfaction, and we are disappointed that you weren't content during your time with us. The things which you have noted are extremely troubling to hear, and I assure you that all has been reviewed by all staff members and management. Please accept our apology for the inconveniences, and consider giving us the opportunity to prove to you what we are capable of providing. Our hotel is specifically known for its excellent customer service. Please contact the front desk directly at 631-758-2900 regarding any future endeavors.

Best Wishes,
Deborah
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holtsville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Holtsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Medford Long Island
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
7.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island

Property: Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
Address: 1730 N Ocean Ave, Holtsville, NY 11742-1839 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Macarthur Airport hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Holtsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holtsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Holtsville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Holtsville
Holtsville Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing