We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming”

SUNSHINE Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Bakau
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our lovely beach is relaxed, quiet and hassle free. Why not come and get your bodies tan on our sunbeds free of charge?We also offer the best Canarian-Spanish, Gambian and International cuisine at a very reasonable price in our garden or terrace.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So welcoming”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Cape Point. Spent a lot of time at Sunshine. Mams and the team are great, really looked after me. Great food and really good value. Lovely music including a fantastic drum band from Guinea Bissau some afternoons. I will go back in November to visit new friends.

Helpful?
Thank Jody94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“lovely sea view”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very friendly local bar on the beach. Watch the fisherman bring in their catch when its to rough to land it in Bakau.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hallij2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something for everyone - food, drink, beach, people watching & chat”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a delight - we were first attracted by an offer of beers at 50% hotel prices. But discovered so much more. These guys are very proud of their country, and love to chat! About trips one can make, football and all manner of things - just like down the local at home in the UK!

We experienced Gambian time lunches, but loved our meals when they did arrive. I would recommend Sunshine for its people and surrounding atmosphere. Ask for Daddy or BBKing - they will see you right.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nizx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“simple nice friendly beach restaurant”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

here you can eat a smal lunch with very friendly staff
Its nice sitting on the bench in the shadow !
we ate ther a tuna salade with french fries !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jef g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I read the reviews & sought this place out. Maybe I hit a bad day? There was 1 other paying customer. The beer wasn't too long in arriving but it took over an hour for the food to arrive. This only arrived then because after an hour, I asked for the bill twice & was prepared to walk. Then the order was wrong. Instead of garlic prawns & chips, I got 2 x plates of chips & garlic shrimp & battered prawns!! It wasn't even nice. I think the problem was that there were about 10 friends of the bar staff there & all the energy was put into mucking about & playing music & talking loudly on phones. So an extremely poor effort even if you are on Gambian time. There are many more places where you can get service & food & quality so I'd give this one a miss. They also were trying to flog us various trips with them - hmm, it is possible that the trips are more organised than the restaurant but they couldn't get 2 plates of food out in an empty restaurant in an hour so up to you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SUNSHINE Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Bakau, Banjul Division
Bakau, Banjul Division
 
Bakau, Banjul Division
Bakau, Banjul Division
 

Been to SUNSHINE Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing