We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was just an overnight stay, as we were on our way 'up country', working with a charity.
It was the first time I had stayed at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms were adequate, as was the food. It was great to watch the fishermen launching their boats - you had a feel of the real Gambia, not just the tourist face.The best part was that there were less bumsters about on the beach - but they were the usual irritation the minute you stepped outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here over a period of 11 days on a bed and breakfast basis; I've previously stayed in larger hotels but I wanted to immerse myself in the 'real' Gambia as a solo female traveller, and on reflection this was the best place to do that. I stayed in a single room which contains 2 beds, en-suite bathroom, mosquito net and a fan, clean towels and sheets are provided for those that travel light. (African Village has it's own electricity generator so regular power outages do not impact on your stay).
I arrived late evening in the darkness with my luggage and was welcomed with a cheery smile and warmth, the genuinely helpful staff ensured my stay was safe and comfortable.
I really loved my stay here and if staying in Bakau will always stay at African Village...Abaraka ba ke!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isatou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our stay there was thoroughly enjoyed. The room was clean. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment and the relaxing atmosphere. Although the weather was very hot inland it was very comfortable there by the ocean. We have recommended this Hotel/Resort to several people. We hope to return again in 2014

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I like this Hotel, it is very close to the real life of The Gambia, the staff have always been very helpful. On the street nearby its cool, nice people, they don't have a lot so you will get a little pestered, go with a sun tan! It will help.
The rooms are simple too but it's The Gambia don't expect back home. I have been several times and always gravitate back to the same Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for AC or a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

As other contributors have said, this is a place to stay in Africa. If you want to pretend you are somewhere more affluent, then go to the bigger, plastic hotels. Here, there's a pool, shady and sunny areas to relax, a couple of bars, a private beach down the steps (and btw a really helpful batik producer who will also give classes). Get up and see the sunrise, and then go in for a great breakfast.
The food is more than fine, and certainly compares in quality, quantity and price with all but the swankiest restaurants out of the hotel complex. The staff are friendly, it's the most bug-free place I've stayed in the Gambia, close to the bank, very close to the taxis (private and bush taxis) - certainly a good place for those who want to explore the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I had an amazing week at the African village hotel!
I was there to teach in The Gambia, and felt like I was living a life of luxury compared to some other people outside the hotel, that live in poverty. Therefore with this in mind the service was great, the food was great and the staff were very friendly. The hotel was clean and the pool/bar area had a lovely chilled atmosphere.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone. For me, I was there for the experience not to stay in a fancy hotel and moan about every little thing. I was great full for a working shower and bed :) my whole experience in The Gambia was one I will never forget and the hotel contributed to this.

Room Tip: just enjoy the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lotz150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had a lovely trip here in April, rooms are basic but it is important to remember to compare this hotel to other African hotels, not European ones. Staff were SO friendly and lovely which made our time at this hotel even more enjoyable. Shared a room with two other people and found we had lots of space. Being a vegetarian I encountered no problems at this hotel. Beautiful country, with beautiful people, well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SophiaGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
762 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
4 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Serekunda
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
8.2 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bakau
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Village Hotel

Address: 98 Atlantic Boulevard, Bakau, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range: £37 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your African Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Village Bakau
Hotel African Village
African Village Hotel Gambia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing