We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We have been visiting the Gambia for the last 5 years sometimes twice a year and in that time stayed in both good and bad hotels this hotel we would class as a reasonable hotel.

On arrival at the hotel checkin was a smooth process, a porter showed us to our room and carried our heavy luggage up a flight of stairs, we tipped him £2.00 has he had 3 rather heavy cases to deal with (he later came back and said the coins were of no use could we change it for dalais which we did, having realised that most people tipped in euros or dalais in this hotel.)

We were given a standard room which had a small sitting room, with dining table and settee and chairs and a small kitchenette which contained a fridge and 2 electric rings just enough to satisfy our basic needs. Both rooms had ceiling fans and the bedroom had aircon which was included in our price. All rooms were very clean, the bathroom was on the small side but fully functional. The Balcony was furnished with a table and 2 chairs with clothes rack for drying washing. All in all we were very pleased with the room and its facilities the hotel was a good standard compared to some we have stayed in.

Breakfast was reasonable with a few choices of cereals, fruits, cheese, bread, eggs beans etc.

We don't really eat evening meals at the hotels as not only have we have found it to be cheaper to eat and drink in the local bars but it helps the local economy too. Drinks were expensive in The Cape Point Hotel a bottle of Julbrew 60 dalais (£1.20) and soft drinks about 45 dalais (£1.00) outside the hotel the few bars seemed to charge between 30-35 dalais. In the Senegambia area the average price for a beer is 25 dalais

We travel independent and had chosen 2 centre holiday having spent 7 nights in the Senegambia area where we are known by many Gambians, Senegambia is a much cheaper area for eating and drinking.

Although we found the hotel quite good, the area of Cape Point is not for us (dispite having a tan from the first part of our stay) we were pestered by everyone especially the local bumsters, a polite no did not work with most of them and remember we are used to the Gambia!!! Our last remaining days the army were posted into the area so we weren't pestered quite so much. The locals grumbled that not many tourist came out of the hotels, we told them that being pestered whilst on holiday is not good business practice it just makes us feel hassled, but unfortunately this is how they promote their business and that is what we tourists must accept.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Breezywestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I have been going to The Gambia for many years now and usually stay at the Sunbeach. Due to the ever increasing prices, we decided to try the Cape Point this time. We knew it was only a 2 star before booking so didn't expect luxury.
The hotel rooms are spacious, if basic, but have all you need for a comfortable stay. There is adequate wardrobe space and a fridge and the bathroom is clean. Ours was in need of a good refurbishment though. The air-conditioning works fine and the 300 dalasi per week (£7,50) charge for the safe in the room is well worth it for peace of mind although it is key operated rather than being electronic which I have been used to at the other hotels. The beds are comfortable enough and you get no noise from the street so you get a good nights sleep. There is a mini-market and gift shop in the hotel itself where you can get a good choice of goods and the prices are reasonable. The swimming pool is a good size and is kept clean as are the gardens but the hotel could do with a few more sun parasols. Having said that it was never full around the pool area so we could always find one..
The staff are helpful and polite and the hotel is run and owned by Gambians.
Breakfast is basic and repetitive but still ok, and i never went hungry, but don't bother with the porridge because it is very very salty.
We were on bed and breakfast but ate at the hotel a few nights. The set menu has only 2 choices per course but you can get a la carte if you pay a bit more and even then it is good value. The food is fine if not exceptional but there are plenty of places to eat if you want to venture out. There is entertainment for guests most nights, usually traditional African dance troups or musicians/singers. We were made to feel very welcome during our stay.
All in all, we had a lovely holiday and I would stay at the hotel again and would recommend the Cape Point to anyone who just needs a clean and comfortable base in which to stay.
One tip though, we booked our flight and hotel separately this time (usually book package with Gambia Experience or Thomas Cook). By booking directly with the hotel over the internet and finding a flight, which incidently was the same Thomas Cook flight that we would have been on with tour operater, we saved over £400 pounds on the cost of our holiday! So we really got a great value for money holiday

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisdenis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Very pleasant hotel, excellent food, good location if you like peace and quiet.
Good choice of eateries close by outside, the monkey park is worth a visit.
All in all its a great cheap winter break!!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NO1ADDICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appingedam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2008

Great Holiday. Cape Point is a good hotel, near the beach. Friendly staff. Fresh juice every day at the beach only 1,50 euro (50 dalassi).
Good dinner at Mr Bass. Only 50 euro for 4 persons including drinks.
Don't do tours through the touroperator. Too expensive. Book Saikou Sanneh. He's reliable, friendly, flexible and speaks very good english and german. You get to see much more of the country. We made an appointment through the mail with him. Futher details check [--] or email [--]

Tip: take some schoolstuff for the little children at the schools. A little effort provides a lot of gratitude.

  • Liked — near the beach
  • Disliked — the hustlers just outside the hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2007

Cape Point Hotel,Bakau,The Gambia is situated away from the more lively resort of Kololi which is easily reached for it`s night life by Bush/Tourist/Local taxis.Cape point hotel is a family run hotel the owner Mr.Ebrima Bojang with his wife & family run a efficient hotel,nothing is too much trouble & their recently opened new restaurant which can cater for conferences upstairs will be an added bonus for this hotel,the guests are adequately looked after by a dedicated team who advise where needed holiday makers with any problems that may arise,food is varied & a wide choice of dishes both Gambian & English are available,the bedrooms are slowly being upgraded at present though they are spacious with modern clean bathrooms that are cleaned every day again by staff who give the owner 110%.For a small hotel with larger ones close by, one is spoilt for choice but,if you are visiting The Gambia for the first time I, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Honesty of staff
  • Disliked — Pool a little on the small side
  • Tips/Secrets — Take sterling not travellers cheques
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank KOLOLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2007

Stayed here with my husband in December 2006 as part of a package to Gambia and Senegal. We first stayed for four days and then came back at the end of the holiday for a further three days.

The first room we were put in was appalling. It was in the main block above reception and was dingy with a grubby shower room. There was no over head fan and some of the electrics were hanging off the wall. The wardrobe was in a state of disrepair with shelves having collapsed. We left it a day until our rep came and as the room looked nothing like the brochure picture which I had taken with me. We also had been given a twin room rather than a double. When I spoke to the rep it was changed for me and we moved into a very nice room for the rest of the stay. However, when we returned to the hotel the same thing happened but I refused the room straight away and we were given the room we should have although the reception staff weren't very happy about it.

The rooms we should have were quite comfortable with overhead fan and television. You can pay extra for fridge and air con but it wasn't needed.

Breakfast in the hotel was quite good and although we didn't eat in the evening the lunch time snacks were good along with the ice cream. I do think that I was over charged at the bar a couple of times. The evening meals appeared to be good value.

There was entertainment most nights which was quite good. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby which serve a good mixture of food such as the Calypso Beach Bar, the Italian Connection - best pizzas, the Hungarian and Mr Bass at the corner of the street which serves good lady fish.

We found the beach good and we didn't have to pay for sun loungers from the hotel. The juice man and the fruit ladies offer a good service. The weather was fantastic. The pool area, although small is quite good for watching the world go by and for dipping in and out of the pool and having pool side drinks. We found other people in the hotel very friendly. Not all the staff were friendly but all in all we found the hotel comfortable and what we were expecting of a hotel of this rating.

  • Liked — Location - Cape Point is a good area.
  • Disliked — Attitude of staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get the room you want.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chessiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2006

we arrived at cape point hotel on the 24th off feb, our first impression when entered our room was not great, it was very dated and tired looking basic but clean, so we decided we are only here for a week so lets just enjoy, we hadnt booked a/c and it was well hot, we went to the reception and ordered a/c, a fridge and a tv, which cost for the week 800 dalasis appx 17 pounds not bad.this rurned out to be one off the nisest hotels we have ever stayed at, the food was beautifull try everything the staff were lovely,the beach is great,the locals use it after 6pm. see alex the juice presser on the beach lovely drinks.there is a guilde who sits outside the hotel called abraham he is an offical appointed by the hotel,use him for trips very nice young man saving up for his college course he survives only on want the tourist give as a tip some times as little as 50 dalasis (1 pound).if you do use him say hello from mark and emma in london. when we return to the gambia we will be shore to head straight back to cape point hotel

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
0.4 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
2.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 7 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: Kofi Anan Street, Bakau 2294s/k, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular and lively hotel, Cape Point Hotel is situated at the sandy beach of Cape Point with a brightly-coloured African setting. Its excellent amenities mean this hotel is ideal for either a relaxing or an active beach holiday. Although the facilities allow you to eat in if you wish, the hotel has an attractive restaurant offering a high standard of cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Point Hotel Gambia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing