We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our purpose”
Review of Cape Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Point Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for our purpose”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at Cape Point for a week in a double room, breakfast included. The room was spacious, with a nice balcony with place to sit for two. If you are sensitive to sound, bring earplugs as the walls are thin, but this is not a noicy place, so I didn't find this a problem. Nice clean pool. The area between hotel buildings makes an excellent out-door seating in the shade.
The breakfast is buffe, with toast, marmelade and cheese. You will even find egg, bacon, pancakes, oatmeal ande meatballs. Fresh fruits everyday!

50 meters to a wide beach with sunbeds included. Not the cleanest beach in the morning, but spacious. quite large differences in tide. Fruits and newly pressed juice are served at the beach.

We found the personell very helpful with excellent service! We hope to be back soon!


The personell is very helpful, and we found the service excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SBMN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    18
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My Boyfriend and I have recently returned from a 2 week holiday to the Gambia, which was fantastic.
Unfortunately the Cape point hotel wasn't and we had to be transferred to a different hotel. The rooms were so dirty we didn't even want to shower, the bed sheets looked like they had never been washed and the towels were grey and torn and looked about 50 years old.
We weren't expecting much from the hotel and new it would be basic but it was so disgustingly dirty that we moved down the road to the Ocean Bay hotel - that was awesome.
Cape Point is very run down, the breakfast and restaurant area were also a disappointment! Breakfast consisted of stale bread and luke warm pancakes, eggs and beans. The hotel was very very quiet and I wouldn’t have wanted to spend 2 weeks there as I think only 4/5 rooms were occupied.
Outside of the Hotel we had a wonderful time. Our guide Sam – bsambujang@yahoo.com – was wonderful and a great help. If he wasn’t there due to family commitments he made sure someone else was! He took us to the crocodile park and the monkey park, both of which were fantastic. He also took us to a local school where we gave out some pens to the local kids (we also got roped into a donation which we kind of got tricked into but didn’t really mind), the fishing harbour and the local fruit and veg market. Sam walked us to our restaurant every night so we wouldn’t get pestered by the locals – who are completely harmless just very persistent! Sam also took us to his family home for lunch which was an experience! Definitely get one of these guys to be your guide – they are wonderful and can’t do enough for you. Sam answered every question we had and really helped us experience the country.
We also did two excursions with The Gambia Experience – both of which were really good but a little over priced. The Lazy Day Boat cruise is just that – you do nothing except go for a swim in the river, and eat. Be warned though – you only get one free drink so; although it isn’t expensive I’d take a bottle of water. The 4 wheel drive experience is a great day! Just so you know there is only one proper toilet stop and that is at lunch – I would avoid this at all costs however – I was nearly sick because of the smell and uncleanliness and I don’t know if it was the loo or the food but we both had Banjul Belly for a couple of days afterwards.
Over all I would recommend the Gambia for anyone- be open minded though and if you can take old clothes (kids and adults) and as much school stuff as you can. They appreciate this as much as money!
This is a fantastic and happy country and if you want to go somewhere to have an experience this is definitely the right place!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenRuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakau hotels

Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Just returned from a week at the Cape Point, end of the season so not all facilities available. 70 plus rooms but only three occupied because the season was effectively over. Hotel doesn't look much from outside but once in it has a cosy feel to it. Staff excellent, couldn't be more attentive and helpful. Breakfast acceptable but the same every day, cereal followed by eggs and frankfurter sausages, bacon sometimes. No lunch or dinner, no bar and even the hotel souvenir shop was closed. The pool is fairly small but the beach is big, plenty of sunbeds but insufficient shade in high season.
Small number of restaurants outside and all excellent, very good food and reasonable prices.
Biggest problem, and the reason we will never go back to Gambia is the bumsters outside the hotels. Its impossible to leave the hotel without one of these tagging along and they won't take no for an answer, as soon as you get rid of one, another takes his place. We were told that in season, local police and even the army try to keep them away but there was no sign of this while we were there. They make out that they are poverty stricken and certainly, a walk into Bakau shows a typical african shanty town but a closer look sees new clothes and jewellery. The bumsters are definitely not poor.
All in all a value for money break but we felt almost like prisoners in the hotel. Recommended eateries, Smiling Coast and the Calypso bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_and_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We have been visiting the Gambia for the last 5 years sometimes twice a year and in that time stayed in both good and bad hotels this hotel we would class as a reasonable hotel.

On arrival at the hotel checkin was a smooth process, a porter showed us to our room and carried our heavy luggage up a flight of stairs, we tipped him £2.00 has he had 3 rather heavy cases to deal with (he later came back and said the coins were of no use could we change it for dalais which we did, having realised that most people tipped in euros or dalais in this hotel.)

We were given a standard room which had a small sitting room, with dining table and settee and chairs and a small kitchenette which contained a fridge and 2 electric rings just enough to satisfy our basic needs. Both rooms had ceiling fans and the bedroom had aircon which was included in our price. All rooms were very clean, the bathroom was on the small side but fully functional. The Balcony was furnished with a table and 2 chairs with clothes rack for drying washing. All in all we were very pleased with the room and its facilities the hotel was a good standard compared to some we have stayed in.

Breakfast was reasonable with a few choices of cereals, fruits, cheese, bread, eggs beans etc.

We don't really eat evening meals at the hotels as not only have we have found it to be cheaper to eat and drink in the local bars but it helps the local economy too. Drinks were expensive in The Cape Point Hotel a bottle of Julbrew 60 dalais (£1.20) and soft drinks about 45 dalais (£1.00) outside the hotel the few bars seemed to charge between 30-35 dalais. In the Senegambia area the average price for a beer is 25 dalais

We travel independent and had chosen 2 centre holiday having spent 7 nights in the Senegambia area where we are known by many Gambians, Senegambia is a much cheaper area for eating and drinking.

Although we found the hotel quite good, the area of Cape Point is not for us (dispite having a tan from the first part of our stay) we were pestered by everyone especially the local bumsters, a polite no did not work with most of them and remember we are used to the Gambia!!! Our last remaining days the army were posted into the area so we weren't pestered quite so much. The locals grumbled that not many tourist came out of the hotels, we told them that being pestered whilst on holiday is not good business practice it just makes us feel hassled, but unfortunately this is how they promote their business and that is what we tourists must accept.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Breezywestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I have been going to The Gambia for many years now and usually stay at the Sunbeach. Due to the ever increasing prices, we decided to try the Cape Point this time. We knew it was only a 2 star before booking so didn't expect luxury.
The hotel rooms are spacious, if basic, but have all you need for a comfortable stay. There is adequate wardrobe space and a fridge and the bathroom is clean. Ours was in need of a good refurbishment though. The air-conditioning works fine and the 300 dalasi per week (£7,50) charge for the safe in the room is well worth it for peace of mind although it is key operated rather than being electronic which I have been used to at the other hotels. The beds are comfortable enough and you get no noise from the street so you get a good nights sleep. There is a mini-market and gift shop in the hotel itself where you can get a good choice of goods and the prices are reasonable. The swimming pool is a good size and is kept clean as are the gardens but the hotel could do with a few more sun parasols. Having said that it was never full around the pool area so we could always find one..
The staff are helpful and polite and the hotel is run and owned by Gambians.
Breakfast is basic and repetitive but still ok, and i never went hungry, but don't bother with the porridge because it is very very salty.
We were on bed and breakfast but ate at the hotel a few nights. The set menu has only 2 choices per course but you can get a la carte if you pay a bit more and even then it is good value. The food is fine if not exceptional but there are plenty of places to eat if you want to venture out. There is entertainment for guests most nights, usually traditional African dance troups or musicians/singers. We were made to feel very welcome during our stay.
All in all, we had a lovely holiday and I would stay at the hotel again and would recommend the Cape Point to anyone who just needs a clean and comfortable base in which to stay.
One tip though, we booked our flight and hotel separately this time (usually book package with Gambia Experience or Thomas Cook). By booking directly with the hotel over the internet and finding a flight, which incidently was the same Thomas Cook flight that we would have been on with tour operater, we saved over £400 pounds on the cost of our holiday! So we really got a great value for money holiday

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisdenis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Very pleasant hotel, excellent food, good location if you like peace and quiet.
Good choice of eateries close by outside, the monkey park is worth a visit.
All in all its a great cheap winter break!!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NO1ADDICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appingedam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Great Holiday. Cape Point is a good hotel, near the beach. Friendly staff. Fresh juice every day at the beach only 1,50 euro (50 dalassi).
Good dinner at Mr Bass. Only 50 euro for 4 persons including drinks.
Don't do tours through the touroperator. Too expensive. Book Saikou Sanneh. He's reliable, friendly, flexible and speaks very good english and german. You get to see much more of the country. We made an appointment through the mail with him. Futher details check [--] or email [--]

Tip: take some schoolstuff for the little children at the schools. A little effort provides a lot of gratitude.

  • Liked — near the beach
  • Disliked — the hustlers just outside the hotel
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
0.4 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
4.4 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Leybato Hotel
Leybato Hotel
#2 of 5 in Fajara
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
African Village Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Point Hotel

Property: Cape Point Hotel
Address: Kofi Anan Street, Bakau 2294s/k, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular and lively hotel, Cape Point Hotel is situated at the sandy beach of Cape Point with a brightly-coloured African setting. Its excellent amenities mean this hotel is ideal for either a relaxing or an active beach holiday. Although the facilities allow you to eat in if you wish, the hotel has an attractive restaurant offering a high standard of cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Point Hotel Gambia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing