We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely pool, right on the beach and excellent breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Location - a few minutes walk from several local restaurants and right on the beach. Taxi ride away from the main tourist 'strip' for night life and more restaurants.

Rooms - not brand new/ five star but clean and confortable.

Grounds - nice setting, trees, flowers and pool area.

Breakfast - excellent choice, eggs made to order, waffles, bacon, fruit, pastries etc etc.

Staff - genuinely very helpful and friendly.

I would recommend not going for all inclusive as there are some great local places to eat - we tried Sunshine bar, Calypso, Mr Bass, Smiling Coast and Surf and Turf. All were excellent. Staying in hotel for a whole week eating a buffet wouldn't have been nearly as fun as getting out to eat in different places! Also, you may wish to avoid the evening entertainment at the hotel! There is a pizza oven pool side which is handy for a lunchtime snack.

You do get approached by the official guides who operate outside of the hotel every time you step out the door but this is part of the course in Gambia! There are all friendly and not intimidating but can be a bit annoying! We decided to use one guide to show us around Bakau and he did an excellent job. We were pleased we did as they really try to make sure you enjoy yourself and its nice to spend money outside of the hotel.

You don't get any hassle whilst using the hotels sunbeds on the beach as there are supervisors around to prevent this.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmMcDermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

the hotel ,can not be faulted ,this is our 2nd trip to the hotel food is lovely ,we had breakfast every day and lunch on a few occassions ,staff are all very helpful ,with regards to reviews of staff bein rude and unhelpful we never witnessed this at all (treat people the way you want to be treated) recommend getting out and about dont stay in hotel ,we used local guide falilu of which he is opposite the hotel ,not as many bumsters this yr and was a very relaxing stay,we went on a day trip out which we arranged through goal for gambia ,and also to a local nursery that they are helping and had a fantastic day ,and met our child that we sponsor to go to school this is the real gambia ,if you want to see the real gambia then contact me and ill put you intouch with the charity the hotel trips are rubbish and over priced ,one down side is the goverment tax that is put on all your food and drink in hotel this can work out very expensive

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraheltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and stayed at the Ocean Bay on October 2012 and we were not disappointed by our visit. The hotel was of a very high standard and our room was lovely, well air conditioned and cleaned each day. The pool and facilities were great, excellent sunbeds, happy hour and a gorgeous beach - you can even borrow books :0) The breakfast buffet was ok but personally I would not pay for any more than bed and breakfast as the lunch and dinner buffets looked as if they were quite similar and I think you would soon get bored and also compared to the price of eating out the cost is pretty high. Saying that the pizzas are excellent value and some of the other food is really lovely so we ate in a few times.

The staff were really friendly and if you go here make sure you say hello to Lowe who looks after the pool area, he is a lovely guy and will make sure you have a fantastic stay (If you do see him please say hello from Jo and Martin) the entertainment was fun and although Cape Point is a little quieter than some of the other resorts the beach is beautiful and if you find yourself a friendly taxi driver it really does not cost a lot to get anywhere.

Top tip when you are in the Gambia contact Sandy at www.goal4gambia.org she is amazing and she runs a small charity looking after some of the poorer schools in the area. She will arrange an amazing trip to a local school for you (just you and the children - miles away from the bustling tour operator trips) it is a very personal and wonderful experience and I reccomend if you have any room in your luggage to take along some goodies (anything but sweets) for the children as the joy they have in receiving even a pencil is truly overwhelming. Please stay away from the organised tours! They are expensive and do not benefit those in need instead please contact somehwere like Goal for Gambia or a smaller charity as they will make your day truly memorable

I highly reccomend this hotel and the Gambia in general, if you embarace Gambia and make some local friends you will have such an amazing time.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Josephine_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. We chose this place due to its location rather than the facilities. The hotel is fairly basic and the primary clientele is the package tour sun-seekers from Europe with all that entails. There is entertainment every night, which thankfully stops at 10pm sharp. The pool looked OK, and the gardens around the compund give the place a pleaseant ambience.

The food is just ok. The breakfast is acceptable, however as I stayed at the peak period for tourists, the service at breakfast was parlous. There were way too few staff to cope with the volume of guests. I would probably stay there again as I think the hotel is a reasonable standard for the Gambia.

Outside of the hotel is a different story - many bumsters offering tours, a chat and just about are wearing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed at Ocean Bay for 2 weeks in February and were allocated a premium room in block 4 on the ground floor. Despite many blogs recommending asking for a 1st floor room we were more than happy as we played cards on our veranda every evening and had many pleasant conversations with other guests and staff as they passed by.

The room itself was a bit tired,but kept very clean, and the a/c very efficient. The shower cubicles were rather small and the water tended to lose temperature at peak time in the evening,but still worked effectively. We were told about the refurb that will take place this year that will surely lift it back to 5* again. This is not European 5* however, but we found everything perfectly acceptable.

After checking trip adviser before we booked we decided on B & B and were very happy that we did as the local restaurants were all good standard and mostly very cheap - 2 courses + 2 drinks less than £20 incl tip. Mr Bass, Rising Sun, Smiling Coast and Fang Fang all excellent, particularly the fish dishes. Calypso next to the hotel has superb location overlooking a crocodile pool right on the beach, but the menu was a bit limited and cost was more than others.

As we left the hotel the first time to change our money at Mr Fixit, 52 Dalasai to the £ compared with 50 in the hotel, we were approached by one of the guides from opposite the hotel. He introduced himself as Sam and immediately made himself useful taking us to the money exchange and supermarket to stock up on essentials - beer, tonic, water and mozzy spray. It is a great help having your own guide as you will be approached every time you leave the hotel, but all we had to do was say " we,re with Sam" and we were left alone.

We would highly recommend Sam as we used him for a few trips and found him not only very pleasant, but very knowledgable, as well as being much cheaper than the trips organised by the hotel, We were lucky to arrange our first trip to the local crocodile pool at the same time as a lovely couple of ladies from Holland which meant that Sam had double payment for the trip, and we had extra company. When we returned from our morning trip, which also included visit to the local fishing beach, village and school, we asked Sam how much we owed him and he said to pay him what we felt was fair. 400 Dalasai per couple seemed to be acceptable.

Make sure that if you visit the school, and we would highly recommend that you should, you take with you a supply of pencils, writing books etc. but particularly sweets - lollipops seemed to be very popular.

The breakfast in the hotel had a good selection and was well cooked and presented. There was usually a wait for cups and coffee but you're on holiday so what's the rush ! The first week we went to the beach every day, plenty of beds and shades, but make sure you go down early to make sure you get where you want. Juice boys and fruit ladies provide good cheap food and drink but we found that having been 'adopted' by one of the fruit ladies she became too pushy, insisting my wife accepted bracelets she had made and trying to get us to go to her home for a meal. To avoid embarassment we then decided to spend our days by the pool, again plenty of beds and shades although again you need to get down there early to make sure you get what you want. We then had our lunches in the hotel, usually at the beach bar. The pizzas in particular were very good, but one between two people is plenty.

All in all a memorable holiday with perfect weather in a lovely location surrounded by happy smiling faces, what more can anyone wish for.

Room Tip: If you enjoy interacting with people, ground floor block 4 near the pathway is perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnlw8087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We returned once again to this hotel and once again noticed changes. Sun loungers around the pool had been replaced, no longer a hunt required for a non broken one. Umbrellas had been replaced but these were lighter and did have a tendency to fall over in the wind!!! Pool towels also new. Bedding had been changed in the rooms. We were more disappointed by changes in the breakfast menu no more pancakes or waffles and little variety at breakfast. Lunch by the pool was cheap and good. Drinks were very reasonable. Staff seem to try their best.
Eating out: The Italien- does not seem to change at all. Surf and turf very good, disappointed with smiling coast this time. Love Ngala lodge expensive for the gambia but seems reasonable to us. Concierge failed to book us in to La Scala without telling us so we ended up at Love2 and infact we thought we had the better meal, my husband having 3 lobsters for £15 he thought he was in heaven.
Love the Gambia for its winter sunshine and the affordability. Love the ocean bay as a clean safe base.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights, room was a good size and very clean. The shower was much to be desired, no power shower here and our toilet just didnt want to stop flushing despite asking for it to be looked at 2 or 3 times. In the end we got the knack of stopping it ourselves.The pool is a really good size and sunbeds are plentiful both by the pool and on the beach. The beach itself was lovely and no crowds here. The grounds of the hotel are pleasant and well maintained. What makes this hotel stand out though is the staff. They were great and just couldnt do enough for you. There was a good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast and although we only ate in the hotel one night the fish was lovely. There was entertainment every night by the pool but by 10.30pm it was all quiet and no one around. The Ocean Bay is being refurbished this year which the bathrooms certainly need but I woud definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank astokeontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
4.8 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,227 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
842 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Kofi Annan Street, Cape Point, Bakau, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range: £63 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Bay Hotel Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel And Resort
Ocean Bay Resort
Ocean Bay Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel Gambia
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort Gambia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing