We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here as a couple from 26 Feb to 12 March and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having travelled very widely over all the world's continents we never cease to be amazed at the nit-picking of some people.This is Africa, so you know 5* is really 3* to 4*, and if you want unadulterated luxury you choose a more upmarket operator, but then you have to be prepared to pay for it!We found this hotel clean, pleasant, with nicely-kept gardens and pool area, and our room[122] was spacious, light and had a lovely ocean view. The staff were most friendly, and yes, you did have a bit of a job getting a coffee at breakfast, but so what? The breakfast was excellent, but we can't comment on other meals as we were b and b which we thought was the right choice.We did have a superb 4 course dinner in the Red Croc restaurant one night and for a tenner it was brilliant!The bumsters don't bother you at all if you say you've been before, and are generally pretty friendly. We took the Roots trip, which was excellent, with Scantours just up the road, and it was £20 each less than Thomas Cook's.The restaurants around are great and cheap, with fillet steak for about £6, and we particularly loved the. New One for the Road.The beach is vast and empty- we found there were plenty of sunbeds both there and at the pool and if you couldn't find one they would go and get you one.We happened to mention it was our wedding anniversary and they brought us a card, a fruit basket and a beautifully decorated cake- where else would you get service like that?Yes, there were a few niggles, but that's all they were, nothing to spoil your holiday. The flight was cramped and too long to have no entertainment. Please don't change the name to the Red Croc, it sounds like a bar!All in all a most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Didn,t see the standard rooms but our deluxe one was very nice.Ocean views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyndaNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    440
    136
    36
    19
See reviews for
137
541
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north of england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have been returning to this hotel for the past 6 years. I will not say it is perfect but it ticks a lot of the boxes. Due to late booking we did not get a transfer included so I searched online for an airport transfer 1 quote was for £80 and another for £18 http://www.airporttransfer.gm/ I booked the latter, but hesitated as it was done through paypal, but thought if not at airport only lost £18, I needn't have worried, he was there to meet us in brand new white mercedes 6 seater, looked very swish and a very comfortable ride.
Check in fast with refreshing lemon grass tea.
Rooms no change although we had no hot water on first night this was quickly rectified when brought to the attention of front desk and cleaners.
Breakfast has gone downhill from previous years. Selection is more limited, no hot pancakes made, cold meats and cheeses very limited.
Pool was green when we arrived and not at all inviting. It was treated after a couple of days and returned to lovely blue colour although very cold. Slippy tiles around pool have been replaced with safer ones. Plenty of sun loungers but umbrellas more scarce and did have a tendency to blow over in the winds which picked up in the afternoon.
Lunches same as usual. Bit of a shock in the price increase of lemongrass tea, last year 50D this year 150D, only had the 1 after finding that increase, julbrew and coke cheaper!!!! We were on B+B so only ate in the new Red Croc restaurant once on a wednesday speacial which was good value for money and very tasty 2500D for 2 including wine.
Wi-Fi fairly good coverage, not advertised in room but we got it, had to switch to another router. Better wi fi then the few european hotels I have visited in the past year and free!!!!!
Changing money 62D in hotel 64D outside not the huge gap it used to be.
Had no problems from staff mentioned here about offering trips etc however a huge cull took place just before we arrived so perhaps on best behaviour, the only problem I had was on paying at reception a female receptionist did appear to keep 200D for herself until I asked for it to be recounted!!!!
Gripes: No one turned up for management cocktails which annoyed us as there were a lot of rumours flying around as to where the hotel was heading for next year and would like to know which were true. Since getting home I have tried to do a dummy booking for B+b and it was accepted.
Sheets too small for bed so came untucked had to ask for a second one to keep the bed in place.
It does appear that I have moaned about the hotel however I believe you have to accept it is in a third world country and perhaps some of our expectations are too high. I find it gives me clean friendly accommodation.at a time when it is cold and miserable in England.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I chose this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor. However I don't see the point for the good reviews.

Room and quality: The hotel room is in really bad condition (standard). The bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned for months. The toilet seat was broken and the toilet did not flush. I got a wound from the broken toilet seat. Taking a warm shower was not possible. The sleep quality is same as in any hostel. Our room 617 had the "best views" for standard room, but there was a connecting door. So there was no any sound isolation. We could hear the talk and a man snoring from our next door neighbour. A/C was very loud, thought we fixed it by ourselves with a band aid.

Guides: DO NOT TAKE GUIDE FROM FRONT OF THE HOTEL. When you arrive, hotel guides glue to you. It is impossible to get rid of them unless you know what you are doing. There is also other exit which leads to Red Croc, better to take it if you want to avoid the hassle from the guides front of the hotel. We did a mistake and took the guide from front of the hotel. He was not interested in anymore than getting his pockets filled with money and getting some items to be bought by us. He did not explain much and I could not understand his English. There are much better guides near Cape Point or front of Red Croc who have blue uniform and sign OTG (Official Tourist Guide). They are the first guides in Gambia and they were honest. We changed our guide to a guide front of Red Croc. This caused a little hassle next time we met our guide from front of the hotel, because he thought he "owns us". Our guide name was Red who could speak fluent English and was friendly to show around. He was also very honest and helpful and not like the guides front of the hotel. I heard from a dutch woman who stayed at the hotel that she did a excursion with the the guides front of the hotel, and she was asked for more money during the excursion and her lunch and dinner were not paid as promised.

Staff: The hotel staff were mainly unfriendly, but I understand it, because they get paid too less (about 30 € / month) for 12 hours works. There were some friendly ones. Reception staff was very aggressive when we tried to request some information or ask for a room change. I felt like I was bothering their day. They always said "come back in 2 hours" and after that they seemed not to know the original question.

However the hotel facilities: beach, breakfast and a beach bar was very nice. However you could not swim in the ocean due strong currents. There was always a sunbed available. I think the hotel Red Croc (when it will be opened) will be much better than the rundown Ocean Bay. If the Gambians would not be so helpful and so cheerful, this would be the worst holiday ever. However Gambians made us to smile everyday and we liked to have a little chat with them. It was a dream holiday, but the hotel was a big disappointment. It is more closer to 2-3 stars. I would not complain if I had reserved 2- or 3-star hotel, but now I didn't get what I paid for.

Room Tip: Ask a room without a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We travelled to Ocean Bay for two weeks in late February 2014, with an 18mth old and nearly 4 yr old. We all had a great time!
The flight was ok, we took plenty of play doh, sticker books, wrapped some new toys etc. The transfer was about 20mins so not too long.
We had a family suite which was good as it had a separate bedroom, so we put the children in there (they provided a cot for 18mth old), and my husband and I slept on the sofa bed in the living room.
We took our own mosquito nets and the children weren't bitten all holiday. The bedroom had thick blackout curtains and air con so they slept well - hooray!
We went B&B, the breakfast was good - cereal, porridge, bacon, eggs, pastries, toast etc. We crushed the children's anti-malarials and mixed in to yogurt and jam and they took them ok. They had high chairs and it was nice sitting out by the pool.
The rest of the time we ate out at local restaurants, e.g. The hungarian, rising sun, calypso, one for the road. There was a good variety of food, we didn't get any stomach bugs, and there was always something for the kids to eat. The food is much cheaper at the restaurants than in the hotel and I'd recommend B&B.
The pool was nice, not massive but big enough, with plenty of loungers and a little shallow children's area. The beach was beautiful, plenty of shells to collect! There weren't many toys in the playroom which was a shame.
We went on several excursions with our great guide Samba, from outside the hotel in purple tie die shirts. We walked to the crocodile pool and got a tuk tuk back which was good, also went to abuko, lamin on a boat trip, the "monkey park", bakau fish market, banjul, and to see the vulture feeding.
All in all a really great holiday, the staff were friendly, facilities simple but adequate, wonderful weather and a really interesting holiday for everyone. The children loved it and didn't want to come home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosalind W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worsley manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

we visited this hotel from 19/02/14 to 05/03/14 we got a taxi from the airport only cos £15 for 2 couples and we arrived at the hotel a good hour before the bus our check in was a bit slow they had given us rooms at oposit ends of the complex although we were all one booking form it was eventualy sorted rooms were good size and quite clean not the best our first meal in the hotel was breakfast next day we had chosen b&b (good choice) no warm plates in fact not very much warm food we complained and new burners were brought out and lit under the pans the waiters were totaly oblivious to us getting a cup of coffee was hopeless it was easier to go for your own and it did not get any better for the whole 2 weeks the only people that smiled were the pool guys and the bell boys .After 5 days we noticed the water in the pool was getting lower and the day after the pumps stopped running we complained they said engineers were working onthe pumps and the water went dirty green we complained again they were not listening and it got worse you could not see below the 1st step in the deep end we complained to TCs rep who could not believe it he took photos and went to see the manager but the manager refused to speak to him we don`t do beaches so our holiday was totaly ruined apart from the bars in the town go to the Hungarian cheapest beer in town 40 dalasis a pint at happy 4 to 6pm also great food and mine hosts Frank And Bella are realy nice needles to say we will not be going back to this hotel at any price I think its back to the Atlantic in banjul

Room Tip: insist on a room on the second floor you get pestered if you sit on your ground floor terrace and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sesiebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

In general we are very happy after 2 weeks spent in the Gambia where we stayed at Ocean Bay (soon rebranding into Red Croc Hotel). Its location is very fortunate, at the long beach (they planted tens of new palms on it). There are many plants in the area so you feel like in the garden. Rooms are clean and big enough with very friendly service staff. Towels were changed every day! Sometimes no hot water and blackouts - but in The Gambia it is not a surprise. We had AlI incl. package, but be aware, that you will be able to have only 4 alcohol drinks/day and only house wine or a local beer. After some days food became monotonous, especially very scarce fruit and limited range of cakes. But every day was fish what we appreciated. Sometimes it took time to be serviced with drinks so you’d better order them as only as you sit at the table to get them before end of a meal. But honestly the staff was very friendly and did their best. The number of sunbeds at the swimming pool area was limited (less then demanded) so be prepared for an early booking one for you. The same happened on the beach. A very good massage in the hotel SPA - especially after a long flight! Bankomat is just opposite the hotel but you can change money also in one of many places just behind the corner. There are many things to see not far from the hotel. Recommended is a walk to the Bakau harbour or the Crocodile Sanctuary. For longer trips we took a local guide Musa Manneh we contacted in advance via mail and agreed tour details. Very reliable and flexible. He is an experienced birdwatcher showing us plenty of birds in Abuko and Brufut. We also had a day trip to Senegal with him to Fathala National Park. A great safari! When crossing the Gambia river - take a local boat to have more excitement.

Room Tip: avoid roms 108-112 if you do not like a wall view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was my family's first trip to The Gambia and it was a great experience, we went for 2 weeks from the 21st Feb. We took two young children (3 year old and 18 months) and they had a great time. Don't bother paying for the all inclusive deals just get bed and breakfast and you will save a ton of cash. The restaurants just outside the hotel are as good if not better than the food you get in there. Although the pizzas are good value if you want to grab something quickly, which we sometimes did especially after a day out at the crocodile pool or monkey park.
Get a guide from just across the road from the hotel the ealiest you can and they'll show you all the good sites and they're all accredited by the government, safe and knowledgable. Ours was called 'Samba Darbo' and he was a good bloke all round. You need to tip them at the end but really the amount depends on the use you've had from them and the service you've received. We gave him about £100, which to them is a lot of money but not that much for 14 days work if you ask me.
You should also try and take the time to go and see the capital city and markets which are a real eye opener, a visit to a local school can also make you appreciate what we have over here!
We tipped the staff when we left as they were generally good to the kids all holiday, not a great deal each time but enough to say thanks.
A special mention for the Calyso Beach Bar, 100m down the beach, which my eldest loved, due to the fact it's got real crocs in a pool next to the bar! Another bar worth mentioning is Bella's Hungarian, left 100m out of the hotel front door. Great value and lovely cats :)
If I had to add areas for improvement I would say that the hotel is not what westerners expect as 5 star accomodation more 3 / 4 star. The bathroom was in need of an update to say the least and the advertised wi-fi was a bit on the rubbish side. A bonus of this was I could ignore all those work emails that follow you around the globe now!
Don't worry about the power cuts, you're in Africa and there's a back up generator that kicks in after a few seconds, you hardly notice them.
Another point that caused great amusement amongst the brits was the occaisional MC at the pool side who did a strange human voice box echo at the end of his sentences.....
Oh and one final thing, the gym is a bit poor as well if your the type of person who needs a workout when on holiday. They could do with installing some bars for chin ups / dips etc as a cheap alternative.

Room Tip: Don't get one near the pool if you want a quiet time, the entertainment goes on until 11.00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSWrightson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
3.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
4.8 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Kofi Annan Street, Cape Point, Bakau, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Bay Hotel Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel And Resort
Ocean Bay Resort
Ocean Bay Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel Gambia
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort Gambia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing