We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meals, beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Garden Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Safari Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent meals, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Another great meal at Safari Gardens Hotel and Restaurant! I've eaten here several times and have never been disappointed.

This night I had the Filet Steak with pepper sauce and chips - absolutely delicious. My friend always has the noodles and prawns (and she lives here, and is a regular). I highly recommend dinner here (I've also had breakfast and lunch, so really any meal is a good one).

They've refreshed the bar area with a new covered area, and seating is also available in the garden and by the pool. Staff are lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egavaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berks
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We had booked in for 11 nights but could only manage 3 due to only having about 1/2 of running water in the 3 days we were there so don't expect to be able to have a wash in the morning or flush the toilet. We have had lots of excuses now they tell us there is a leak!!! The covers on the lounges are really dirty there seems to be a lot of staff who are very friendly but as a lot of countries they are not self motivated & just stand around talking. The food was very good. Value for money after asking around its expensive. Was really hoping this was going to be somewhere special to celebrate my 60th. No. chance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 410daves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yelyah71, Volunteer Business Adviser at Safari Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi, we are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. As the staff explained during your time here there was a leak in the water pipes that did cause problems with the water supply in the rooms. I hope that our offer of a days reduction on accommodation costs and a complimentary meal went someway to compensating you. We are constantly making changes to improve our guests stay and although, as is usual in The Gambia, there can be issues with electric and water supply we try our best to overcome these and pride ourselves on offering our guests a friendly and genuine Gambian experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hi i am trying to book a holiday at this hotel, i have written to them a few times but can't get a reply. Can any one tell me how they managed to book it.
Is there anything around there of interest can anyone recommend any restaurants.
Or does anyone know of another hotel that's quiet.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 410daves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

While there maybe very little to recommend in the Banjul/Fajara area,at least the hotel was excellent! I loved having a pool, and both the service and food here are very good. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

It is complicated to write reviews for a broad audience. There are some really good high-end hotels in The Gambia, the Sheraton, the Coconut Garden are two of my favorites. But, while moderately priced by western standards, they are not cheap. When I visit The Gambia every year, I stay at the Safari Garden. It is a wonderful bargain. It is clean. The staff is conscientious. The owners are committed to training young Gambians in the hospitality trade. The food is quite good. And it is quiet, and within walking distance of both the beach and downtown Fajara. If you are fussy, pay up for a higher end place. But if you are looking for a home away from home, with the kind of charms and sometimes frustrations that come from being in a developing country, the Safari Garden is perfect. I stay there every year, for at least a week. So do many other people working for NGOs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here whilst volunteering in The Gambia for a month. It became a real home to me. The staff are outstanding in their warmth and helpfulness. Each day after a shared taxi and a walk in the heat through the thronging main roads, it was a delight to walk through the gates and immediately feel a cooling breeze and see the inviting cool pool and beer waiting. All the staff were welcoming, courteous and very friendly. The garden is well kept, watch out for falling mangos! huge bamboos rustle and crack, listen for the noise of children chattering. The beds were wide and comfortable and the rooms very clean, beds were changed daily which I suggested was unnessessary but was ignored! The food is very good and although not everything on the menu maybe available, there is always something tasty to try.
Do not come here expecting
luxury, TV's and room service, but this is The Gambia. Electricity is cut most days but a generator is used to power it during busy times and wifi is freely available, which is a bonus here! This is all very welcome compared to the busier tourist hotels in Senegambia where service and facilities may be more efficient but if you are looking for a quiet, more personal friendly place and can accept one or two minor inconveniences, then this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babs01884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

After arriving at Banjul Airport at Night, Safari Garden was the first place we stayed at. Not knowing what to expect, we were positively surprised. The room was basic, but clean and friendly. Daily housekeeping and a flower on the bed are appreciated :) There is a nice pool located in a lovely and well kept garden. The food was the best we had during our trip to the Gambia. Definitely try the Lady Fish with Shrip Sauce!

Also, Safari Garden is a great basis for trips to Banjul, Bijilo or the Crocodile Pool in Bakau. They have local guides that take you wherever you want to go and show you around (thanks, Lamin!!)

There is a nice beach in walking distance (takes you about 10 minutes to get there), which gets busy in the afternoon with locals playing soccer and working out. If you dont like company, a 20 minutes beach walk takes you to a more abandoned and beautiful spot.

Staff is very friendly, but sometimes at the restaurant not as attentive as they could be.

I would definitely pick Safari Garden again, if going back to Fajara.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansHuckebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajara
0.5 mi away
Leybato Hotel
Leybato Hotel
#2 of 5 in Fajara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 7 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Garden Hotel

Property: Safari Garden Hotel
Address: Kairaba Avenue, Kmsd Road | Off Atlantic Road, Fajara, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Fajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Garden Hotel is located just off the Main Road in Fajara, just 10 minutes walk to the beautiful beach. All of the rooms have ensuite bathrooms and private terrace, many with a view of the gardens and swimming pool. Flavours Bar & Restaurant serves food and drinks from 7.30Am until late and the friendly staff are always around to help. We are a locally run hotel that provides our guests with a genuine and friendly Gambian experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Safari Garden Hotel Gambia/Fajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing