We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely 3 night stay!”
Review of Ngala Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngala Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

A well run hotel with lovely grounds, great food, spacious and comfortable suites and lovely staff. As an amateur bird watcher I particularly enjoyed lying on my sunbed with binoculars in hand spoting a great variety of birds including beautiful sunbird, senegal coucal, reb billed hornbill etc

My only niggle would be that dinner service could be quite slow, two and a half hours for 3 courses, but im sure this was due to the busy Christmas period. Some people enjoy long winded dinners and that is fine, im sadly not one of them.The food is superb and the chef Jonathon is a true perfectionist in presentation and standard.

Room Tip: We had suite number 4 which had a wonderful view of the sea and pool. The room was massive, very cle...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATWOMAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you for your review. It was fun to have you both here and we hope you come back for longer next time! Everyone here wishes you a fabulous 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Ngala Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Having worked in travel for over 34 years and visited many beautfiul hotels I can honestly say this has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The accommodation was outstanding, we had a suite with a private jacuzzi. The food was amazing and the chef Jonathan could not do enough for you. In fact all of the staff were lovely people, they simply could not do enough for you. For anyone that is looking for a relaxing, quiet hotel with first class service and first class food then go to this hotel. We will certainly be returning! Thank you to everyone for making our holiday one of the very best we have ever had!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you so much for your great review!! We certainly enjoyed having you stay and look forward to your return. All here at Ngala Lodge wish you a Very Happy 2013!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is going to sound repetitive so I will keep it brief !!
We stayed at Ngala for just 4 nights but had the best time. It is a very individual, very classy, very well run boutique hotel with just 18 very individual suites set in perfect surroundings. The staff are always smiley, polite and "interested" in the guests welfare and enjoyment. Big Mo behind the bar is a lovely man and it was great to sit over a G&T or a "weedkiller" cocktail and hear all about his upbringing and his village. Jenny, tell him the xmas box is on the way!
We had only booked B&B but ate twice at the Ngala restaurant where the food, service and general surroundings are every bit as good as others have said. We also ate out a few times, the Clay Oven was excellent but Luigi's was a bit impersonal and lacked atmosphere. If you go to Luigi's. don't rely on the credit card working!
If you want to get around the local taxi man called Habib is an absolute star, he is reliable, knowledgable and very well networked with anybody that is any body in the area. He took us up to Senegal to the game park where we walked with the lions which was a quite fantastic experience. Habib laid on everything, including the ferry crossing (how chaotic was that !), lunch, park entry, border crossing etc etc and was brilliant company. As was his brother !!
Great place, could even watch Arsenal and England rugby on the TV in the front garden guest lodge.
No complaints at all......except maybe a nice hammock overlooking the ocean ! Thank you Jenny and all the staff, we will see you again......

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Penthouse" (suite 6) which was excellent but wouldn't suit anyone wi...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schnozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you both here and I will see what I can do about a hammock before you come back! Thanks again and Merry Christmas from all of us here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I really can't say much more than all the other reviews of this superb small hotel.

We booked late and thus had to upgrade to an Atlantic suit with our own jacuzzi - well worth it, and the room was just huge. A real plus point is a huge library, even the individual library in your suite is larger than at most hotels. Also free internet and WiFi. And at this time of year, especially on the more windy Atlantic side, mosquitos were notable by their absence - I usually attract them in droves.

We dined in most nights, and the only slightly disappointing meal was the Domoda - the local chicken (or you an have fish) in peanut sauce, otherwise excellent all round. The downside of Gambia is having to travel with Monarch (with Thomas Cook the only direct alternative, unless you want to go via Brussels, Dakar, etc) - well worth while paying extra for extra leg room - 28 inches in Monarchis cramped and claustrophobic - OK for a couple of hours, but not 6. But it is £30 extra per person per leg

Fascinating trip to Senegal with the superb Habib, not much in the way of animals except going for a walk with the lion cubs (a morality question on how they have trained them?), but its the experience of getting there via the rickety ferry with cows etc on board, and what you see as you travel in France transposed into Africa that makes a long day worth while. Don't miss the colourful local fish and vegetable markets, either, and the superb little Museum by the Crocodile pool (where you can stroke one - allegedly they only eat fish!). A guide will grab you to show them off but its worth it.

A lovely, lovely holiday, and look where we have been before!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face the sea, although some have more of a clear view than others.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the 'Gambia/Senegal Experience' as much as you did and hope to welcome you back to Ngala lodge soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Having just returned from our third stay at N'Gala lodge what can I say that hasn't already been said.
The flight is the worse part of the holiday, for the first time I did get to book extra leg room seats for the outward journey, took six phone call to Thomas Cook though, and then a further eight phone calls to book seats together for the return trip, also on the way out only one toilet was working. Two tips for the Banjul airport, on arriving in Gambia use one of the many porters to get you through the system, it's worth the £1, and on leaving Gambia, if you are travelling with Gambia Experience, try and get to the airport before the Thomas Cook coaches, it can save you over 45 minutes trying to get through to the departure lounge.

N'Gala lodge is a very relaxed atmosphere, the staff are wonderfull, pleasant and very eager to help without being 'in your face'. There are plenty of sun loungers and you get your own space from the other guests whilst you are soaking up the sun. The little shaded areas are a delight just to cool off a bit with a cool drink.

Comments made, even by myself, previously about the Wifi, yes it can be a bit hit and miss, however I could get a signal most mornings and evenings on my suite balcony, just to check the emails and catch up on how bad the weather was in England and even, at times, got a good signal near the lady with the lamp in the garden.

As for the food, the wife and I keep saying we will eat out and try other restaurants, but with the food Jonathon prepares we always seem to say "maybe next time".

Thanks in particular to Dembo, Jamang, Malick and Yaya, but as I have already said all the staff deserve a big thank you for helping to provide a wonderful holiday. Two other groups of staff also deserve a big thank you, the gardeners for keeping the grounds immaculate and also the security staff, you are not often approached by bumsters on the decking or beach but if you are the security staff are quick to warn them off if that is what you wish.

One poor point though was on a couple of days it did take a long time for the breakfast order to be prepared and note if you fly from Manchester there is a restriction on which suites you can book.

The only other thing I would add is N'Gala or Gambia Experience should do a three for two special, book two holidays in a year with N'Gala lodge and get a third free.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reborn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you for your review. We are indeed fortunate in our staff who take pride in the work they do and pride in the Hotel. And we are proud of them!! I have passed on your kind words to them. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Very good service, friendly, quality food. Great daily specials.

Stayed in room 6 (the Penthouse). Two floors + roof terrace. Bedroom and bathroom were great and having our own roof terrace was fun with good view over the pool to the sea (albeit a bit further from the sea than some other rooms). Didn't really use the downstairs sitting room. NB, if you're getting on a bit, the room has a fairly steep spiral staircase.

For us the 'wow factor' for this place is the beach decking. Great place to read and sunbathe.

Overall a very good beach hotel in a good location (not hassled). Excellent staff service (even repaired my headphones!). Generally very good food. Good pool. Able to watch some sport in the reception lounge area. Pleasant gardens. No screaming kids. And the brilliant beach decking!

Thank you Jennie, Jabi, Mo, YaYa and everyone else.

Room Tip: Penthouse is great fun but you need to be happy with the steep staircase and being on 3 levels.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed the decking so much! And the staff are indeed multi talented - did you see the waiters dance?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Just come back from staying in the Ngala Lodge for two weeks. Although it was rather "hot" for us, there are plenty of shady areas, little gazebos with comfortable settees and cushions, extremely pretty gardens with plenty of sunbeds and parasols available. I would add that the sunbeds are extremely comfortable and the parasols are very good and of a substantial quality unlike those I saw at Coco Beach which appeared more flimsy. Everyone is extremely kind and willing to make your stay a pleasant one. Nothing is too much trouble and they aim to please.
People return on a regular basis so they must be doing something right. The Gambia itself is too third World for me and we only ventured out on one trip. Up until then I was fine but against my better judgement lunch was served on a boat excursion - !! or it could have been the heat.
I just have one little criticism for Jenny and Peter, it would have been helpful to us "old" folk -
and they get quite a few "oldies" to have a handrail down the centre of the steps into the swimming pool. I am quite able-bodied but felt nervous getting in and out in case of slipping on the tiles. The beach is secluded and any "bumsters" are quickly disposed of by the security guard. You are not hassled by the staff either to buy drinks, or for tips and our chappie remembered G & T's at 12.30 with a shared baguette. I would not stay anywhere else but possibly at the Mandina Lodge just for 4 days for the experience. PS, marvellously comfortable beds, I wish I knew whose they were.
Mrs Horgan

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominofananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngala_Lodge, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you, Rita, for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and we enjoyed celebrating your birthday with you! Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajara
3.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
842 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
3.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Lodge

Address: 64 Atlantic Boulevard | P.O. Box 4091, Fajara, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Fajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Price Range: £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1995, Ngala Lodge - an intimate, child free, boutique hotel of just 18 unique, magnificent suites, set in tropical gardens, overlooking the Atlantic is the perfect place for a romantic break. Recently voted the 4th most romantic hotel in Africa by TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Awards, with arguably the best restaurant in the Gambia, our guests find it hard to leave.Ngala Lodge - where romance isn't just for Valentines Day! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Hotel Fajara
Ngala Lodge Gambia/Fajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing