We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than we expected”
Review of Ngala Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngala Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Like so many others, we chose Ngala largely on the reviews here.
Good as they were, they can't describe the ambiance, atmosphere and staff adequately. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and their smiles and greetings are infectious.
Falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves on the beach below and chirping insects, relaxing by the pool or on the lawns, fine dining and good wine, conversation with other happy residents ...
Christmas eve was a special day for us (ruby anniversary) and was topped off by the special dinner, extended into the early hours.
Yes, some of the fixtures and fittings were starting to show their age and the loss of the internet connection was a (minor) inconvenience.
How much did we enjoy our week? I've just booked two weeks for Christmas next year!

Room Tip: Each suite is different. We preferred the view from our upstairs veranda to having a ground level pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay as much as you did and we enjoyed having you here! You'd have thoroughly enjoyed last night too! We look forward to seeing you next year - don't forget to bring your dancing shoes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We went to Ngala purely on the reveiws from this site,and we were not disapointed.
Jenny gave us a great welcome after the usually rubbish flight with Monarch,the toilets backed up and stank the plane out,when will they get better planes.
However after waiting nearly an hour for our bags in hot and sweaty Banjul airport,we set off for Ngala,the private transfer was great,then a cool drink and a quick briefing by Jenny then off to Nimba suite 03.Fantastic views from the balcony of the gardens and pool and within 1hour had seen 10 different birds ( a bit of a twitcher i am).wandered arround to see what was about found the bar and dining area was greeted by all the friendly staff,gardeners and hotel services alike.
First evening meal was very good, we were H/B a mistake we found out as you tend not to go out for a chance to sample the other eaterys,we shifted our meal from evening to lunch one day to go to the Butchers shop for a change.Excellent meal there about 2500Ds needed, not as cheap as we thought.
The suites are very good and we looked into both the Manor and Atlantic suites including No10 which gets rave reviews (can`t think why).We reckon for views and comfort you cannot beat Nimba,who wants a Telly! and a seperate bedroom,and the Penthouse was very hot but great views but again those stairs not for us wrinklys.
Great artwork and quirky items abound in and out of suites,well maitained gardens and pool,everything is top notch and well looked after for guests comfort.Mo the barman was a great guy took a lot of ribbing about his measures and a teetotalist to boot.
All the waiters were excellent,but my favourite was Reemy,just because she was great to cuddle and took it with a great sense of humour,Pa was our regular guy for meals and the flowers were much appreciated.
would we return,Maybe, but not for 2 weeks and definatelly b&b next time.
The weather was great the first week 35/37c but the second week it dropped to 21/25 and windy told this was norm for december.
There are lots of reviews on this Hotel and they all mean what they say so i cannot add any more.
"Oh" one last tip take a universal plug for the sink with you and thank you again Jenny for the shower Mat much appreciated by us wrinklys.

Room Tip: rooms in the main building get traffic noise and the Army Happy clappers in the morning going to wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. If you don't know whether to choose HB or B&B you can, of course, opt to have only part of your stay as HB. We do find however that most guests end up eating in our restaurant every night. As to 'twitching' I have a Splendid Sunbird on the flower outside my office as I type! And rather splendid he/she is too! I look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at Ngala Lodge in November 2013. The boutique hotel is located above a small beach. The rooms are comfortable and clean. My wife is vegetarian and normally has difficulty in persuading Hotel kitchens to provide acceptable meals. However in this case, Jonathan, the head chef, spoke to my wife every evening advising what ingredients he had and the meal he proposed to cook for her. We stayed 14 nights and Jonathan prepared a different well prepared meal every night.
Jenny runs the hotel very efficiently and was always on hand to answer any queries. She and Jonathan have recruited a very professional and friendly staff many of whom have worked there for many years.
We stayed at the Coco Ocean in January 2013. Ngala lodge is far superior in every department and unlike Coco where we were burgled, the security at Ngala was excellent and at no time did we feel unsafe.
We will certainly return.
Well done Jenny, Jonathan and their wonderful staff.
Finally I would congratulate the travel agent, Gambia Experience, who provided an excellent service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Atlantic Wing but having seen several other rooms we would probably rebook the Atlantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGJMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I'm so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was aware of your concerns on arrival and was pleased to be able to allay your fears. As to the restaurant Jonathan prides himself on his ability to cater for every palate and enjoyed producing creative vegetarian meals for your wife. He says 'it was a pleasure to cook for guests as appreciative as you!' We look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic stay at Ngala Lodge having first visited in may.2011 and this is the forth time back .

We stayed in one of the beautiful Atlantic Suites which was huge room 18 and decorated with interesting sculptures and paintings, all of which are for sale if something takes your fancy. The suite had a king sized bed with mosquito nets, a dressing room, bathroom with monsoon shower, sofas and coffee tables. There is a mini bar, kettle and a safe.

We really enjoyed the hot tub in the suite.

The restaurant at Ngala is wonderful and we highly recommend a trip there for dinner even if you're not staying at the hotel. the food is fantastic quality and very well presented. The half board option is excellent value for money, we struggled to eat the enormous breakfast and three course dinners and came home several pounds heavier than we arrived! thanks Jonathan.

The hotel is small (18 rooms) but the grounds are large enough that the hotel never feels cramped or crowded. For sun worshippers you have the choice of the swimming pool with loungers and parasols or the stunning cliff top lawn with views across the Atlantic and a refreshing sea breeze. The hotel provides towels and a waiter service on the sun loungers DEMBO . The Manor Wing has its own garden with sun loungers and hot tubs for those staying in the Manor Suites. There are also several secluded seating areas hidden away in the gardens and terraces.

The service at Ngala is fantastic, personal and attentive but not too intrusive

The hotel is elegant but unpretentious, incredibly peaceful but with a fantastic atmosphere. If you're looking for cable tv, loud music and late nights at the bar then it's not the hotel for you, but if you're looking for a secluded and restful stay with great food and wines then we'd highly recommend Ngala Lodge.

To avoid being hassled ask at the hotel for advice on someone to guide you around. The local taxi man Habib doubles up as an excellent tour guide, you’re actually better off with him than one of the expensive organised tours .

thanks jenny and all your staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your great review! Its always a pleasure to see you both and we love having you stay! See you again - soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Thanks to all at Ngala for a wonderful holiday.

Our expectations were met 100% - this is a truly superlative hotel. Room, food, ambience, views, garden, beach all exquisite. We had room 11 in the Manor and it was perfect - fabulous views of the garden and sea and meticulously cleaned every day by our cleaner Umay, a big thank you to her.

All of the staff are an absolute credit to themselves, to the hotel and to their Country. Nothing is ever to much trouble and everything they do is carried with the biggest smiles that you can imagine. A special thank you from us must go to our friend Malik - he looked after us so well.

Jenny the Manager is a treasure, she runs the hotel perfectly but is also so approachable for information on what to do or where to go.

The food is perfect - good choice of menu with daily specials - well done to Chef Jonathon.

If you do visit talk to Jenny about visiting/sponsoring a local school - my wife and myself visited one and we were both uplifted - by the welcome and the pleasure on the children's faces - and saddened by the absolute lack of facilities that they have.

My wife and myself are fortunate enough take several holidays a year and we always say that no matter how good a hotel is we would not go back as there are so many places we have yet to visit - the biggest accolade I can give Ngala is that we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Manor which we loved but I do not believe there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is not for those who are looking for a lively crowd with only having 18 rooms. The place is beautiful, staff is top notch, food was excellent (good value too), and our stay was great. The room we had was good size, And very well maintained. We were treated to a clean room every day including . The views of the ocean and garden are awesome, not to mention the gorgeous sunsets. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was (unlike the bland buffets @ all-inclusives) A top restuarant on its own right with one of the best Chefs ( Johnathan) you could wish for .And very reasonably priced for the number one Hotel in the Gambia.You have to make sure you book early as rooms go quick and you can upgrade for larger rooms with hot tubs.
One of the best managers (Jenny :) very professional and good people person which makes your holiday.
All the staff are very good and go out the way to help you.
When we came i had a bad back for 3 weeks could not walk very far.And within 3 days of being here and the help from massage from Anna i was walking 2 miles very easy, Can not put price on this !!! Better then being on pain killers at home in cold and dark winter.
Now !!! Back at work batterys charged and full of life.
I will be back thanks Jenny and all her staff at Ngala Hotel :) :)
Joe & Carol

Room Tip: All rooms are great and plenty of room . Upgade for bigger room and hot tubs and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t99joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Joe and Carol - thank you for your wonderful words! It was good to meet you both, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. We are pleased to hear that Anna's massages worked so well for you too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for four nights here at the beginning of a week in The Gambia, before moving on to Mandina Lodges. It is a good hotel with on the whole nice staff, excellent accommodation and decent food. Gardens are immaculate and short distant to beach with decking is really nice.

That is apart from the jacuzzi outside the manor lodge. Went to use on second morning of stay at 8.30. Removed lid and found dirty looking cold water. It would not switch on either. We managed to find Dembo who drained and refilled for us and turn on about an hour later, but it never got above 30C which is cold. He made some excuse about it not being left on. Having used many jacuzzis around the world, we found this rather odd and have never previously had to ask for a jacuzzi to be cleaned or turned on. It is a facilty of the hotel, so should be available and in full working order for use at any time. We wanted to use later. so we asked Dembo to turn it on about an hour before we were going to use, but he said it would make no difference to the temp, so wouldn't turn it on. When we came to use eventually it was only 28C this time and we stayed in for about 10 minutes. Apparently nobody else knows how to turn the jacuzzi on either. Very disappointing!

The other annoyance was that it appears you favour repeat guests. We were informed that there was no need to book in the restaurant, but if you want outside, then you need to book at the beginning of your stay, otherwise the repeat guests have the best tables all week.

We will be back to The Gambia, but these annoyances may sway us towards another property for our beach experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderer080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us - I wish you had mentioned it to me, during your stay.

The jacuzzis have been turned off at the mains on safety grounds. As the constant power cuts and subsequent power fluctuations cause the heaters to come on which can result in the water overheating. It also causes a noise disturbance during the night. The Manor jacuzzi did in fact heat up to 65C at one stage, so on health and safety grounds we took the decision to turn them off until required. Dembo tells me he did try and explain that to you.
I also believe that Dembo advised you that the jacuzzi would take 90 minutes to heat to a reasonable temperature from cold. Once warmed it takes less time to heat - depending on the outside temperature of course.
I tested the jacuzzi this week and the water was heated to a reasonable temperature in 90 minutes.
We are working to solve the problem and hope that the current situation is only temporary but guest safety is paramount.

As to the dining terrace area we do indeed have only a limited amount of space. We can seat 20. It is probably the case that early diners are able to reserve a table there, rather than repeat guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajara
3.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
3.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Lodge

Address: 64 Atlantic Boulevard | P.O. Box 4091, Fajara, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Fajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Price Range: £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1995, Ngala Lodge - an intimate, child free, boutique hotel of just 18 unique, magnificent suites, set in tropical gardens, overlooking the Atlantic is the perfect place for a romantic break. Recently voted the 4th most romantic hotel in Africa by TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Awards, with arguably the best restaurant in the Gambia, our guests find it hard to leave.Ngala Lodge - where romance isn't just for Valentines Day! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Hotel Fajara
Ngala Lodge Gambia/Fajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing