We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another crack at Ngala”
Review of Ngala Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngala Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Every year my family returns to The Gambia for our annual sun filled holiday. We make a point of every time heading out to Ngala for an evening meal as we consider it to be one of the finest restaurants in The Gambia. This year was certainly no dissapointment. We met a new general manager called Jenny who was a highly fascinating woman who has led a colourful life in the diplomatic service for many years and has now decided to take a new challenge on. Well she is doing a great job as the atmosphere was very relaxed as her staff were looking after you. The music was effortless and the food was absolutely lovely. Once again came away feeling we had a special night and we were looked after very well. I thought the cocktails were lovely and the overall price of the food was fantastic as I expected it to be more from the quality. Well done jenny. We will be back next February. Hope you will be there

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Nikkiandparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review! You made me blush! I don't know about being fascinating but my job is made all the more easier by having such nice guests! All at Ngala work hard to make sure that our guests have the best possible experience and we really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you next year! I certainly plan to be here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

It's been a while since we stayed here (we also stayed earlier in 2011), each time for 1 week. We enjoyed it immensely. Remember, this is Africa and things don't always work according to plan, be prepared for the power to be cut. Be patient and the hotels generator will soon fire up to restore light & power.
The gardens are tranquil, the staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms very comfortable and the food is lovely.......
If Malick is still there look him up, he is very helpful and an all round nice guy.
Would we go again? Yes, a bit pricey but worth it...

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room in the Manor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThatNiceCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review. It can be a challenging environment but we do our best! I look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala lodge - soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Family return visit to this delightful boutique hotel, first time for two family members. An evening here never disappoints. Excellent meal and service in stunning setting, enhanced by wonderful music from a funky jazz duo. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you, Barbara for your kind words! It was lovely to meet you and your family and I look forward to seeing you again at Ngala Lodge! (Its always fun to get people dancing in the restaurant!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago and it was everything the other reviews said it was. Beautiful well maintained gardens, friendly and efficient staff and 1st class accommodation. We were lucky enough to have room 18 (Agnes Suite), which has a very large balcony with jacuzzi and sun lounges. You can book spa treatments in your room, which you can also have on the balcony. Aromatherapy for one hour is only £12!

The jacuzzi would trip when the power went off, which was a minor irritation as this happened most days but the power was immediately replaced with the hotels own power.

We had dinner in the restaurant a few times which I really enjoyed, although my husband wasn't bowled over by them. There are quite a few nice restaurants which are not too far away, which are worth a try. We got a tuk tuk to the Butchers Shop and walked back and felt quite safe.

Habib organised a trip into Banjul for us but think you can get the same taxi's service cheaper down the road opposite the African village. That way you can choose the car you want and bargain to get a good deal, rather than having a more expensive set price. We organised our transport to the airport this way and payed 800 Delasi. If I was going again I would just get one of the taxi's from outside the airport and either pay in sterling or change some money at reception.

The flight from Manchester with Thomas Cook was very cramped and we had to refuel in Las Palmas on our return journey adding time onto the journey, so it may be worth going to Gatwick to get extra leg room seats if it bothers you.
If I was going again I would get one of the taxi's from the airport and just change some money at reception to pay.

As Gambia Experience have the monopoly on this hotel we had to book with them, but we were not impressed with the rep at the hotel and didn't find them very efficient.

Something we did not realise when planning our trip was that although you can use a credit card to pay, the government will first change the Delasi into American Dollars then a 5% fee added for Visa and 6.8% added for MasterCard. Fortunately Jenny, the manager, alerted us to this when we checked in so we were able to make other arrangements.

This is a hotel I would love to return to in the future, if I can get a better flight. Thank you Jenny and your assistant (forgot her name) for your excellent management and a great team.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank holidaysnandsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You can indeed get taxis from the airport but we don't recommend it because the vehicle maintenance is not always as good as it could be, the drivers might not speak good English and they may not even know how to get to Ngala Lodge!! (We had a guest recently who's taxi ran out of petrol on the way from the airport! They had to give him Dalasi to pay for fuel. Fortunately they had some local money with them!) An airport pickup return, booked through us, with Habib, is GBP 40 return. Slightly more expensive but he knows where we are! As to the credit card payments it is the banks that impose the surcharges. Not the government. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and i eat there on 12th feb, i can honestly say the food was just some of the best we had, Her are chefs who can really cook , as it was all amazing , and the lobster just the best ever .

You go in our top ten restaurants at number 2
Dorchester park lane London is still 1 but only just Ngala lodge was just amazing

My only concern was that there would only take cash told phone not working oh!!


But great time

thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exmouthdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!! Our chefs work hard to bring our guests the very best food and it is wonderful to see your appreciation!! Please come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to return to Ngala Lodge in February for our second 7 night stay. To put it simply we just love it and pretty much everything about it. This time around we stayed in the Manor Suite 12 and it was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lounge area was ideal for a late afternoon aperitif....very necessary after a day lazing in the Gambian sunshine. It had a great view down to the ocean and even though the day time temperatures were in the mid 30's it remained cool with the air con never being needed. Unless you are a jacuzzi person and want your own personal tub (in which case book an Atlantic Suite) the Manor is ideal.

The gardens are beautiful and dotted with sun beds, which even when the hotel is full as it was when we were there, were plentiful and surrounded by plenty of personal space.

The restaurant delivers good quality food in delightful surroundings and offers the option of exterior or indoor dining. Whatever you decide you will be looked after by friendly, attentive people who take every care to ensure that you enjoy your holiday.

Ngala Lodge management and staff deliver a superior holiday experience for sure. If you are looking for relaxation, a stress free break, great weather, no time difference and a reasonably short travel time then this is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alistair46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words! It was good to have you stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year! (If not, sooner!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

was recommended this hotel for dinner.
Food was excellent but a bit pricey - as was expected for this hotel.
Lovely grounds leading to a secluded beach.
Been there once for dinner - wont go back next time - too many other choices of restaurants in the area. OK for romantic special meal

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are indeed an ideal destination for special occasions. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajara
1.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
3.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Serekunda
1,263 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Kololi
158 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Lodge

Address: 64 Atlantic Boulevard | P.O. Box 4091, Fajara, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Fajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Price Range: £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1995, Ngala Lodge - an intimate, child free, boutique hotel of just 18 unique, magnificent suites, set in tropical gardens, overlooking the Atlantic is the perfect place for a romantic break. Recently voted the 4th most romantic hotel in Africa by TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Awards, with arguably the best restaurant in the Gambia, our guests find it hard to leave.Ngala Lodge - where romance isn't just for Valentines Day! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Hotel Fajara
Ngala Lodge Gambia/Fajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing