We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ngala Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fajara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngala Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you're looking for a blissful restful hotel to come back to after seeing, tasting and hearing all the wonders that Gambia has to offer then Ngala Lodge is the one for you.
It is a bird watchers paradise, even out of season the gardens are vibrant in sight & sound as soon as you wake up. Everybody that works at Ngala is so friendly & nothing is too much trouble to make your holiday truly special. The smiling coast indeed.
Habib who comes highly recommended was our personal guide and made the week nothing short of brilliant! You won't be disappointed if you want to see "the real Gambia" . We hope to return as there is still so much more to discover
The Boss Ladies

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny F, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you ladies, for your wonderful review.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    61
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
343
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

i went so many times here, and every time i enjoyed so much. the staff is all very kind. the rooms are perfectly clean too. i love it here. besides, i know the owner too, 'cause he comes to you, and just starts talking with you. please, take a look. it's perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caylani Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is always a pleasure to see you here and I look forward to welcoming you again, soon! Peter also says thank you for your kind words and sends his love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Abbotts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Peaceful relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and very good food. A great base for exploring The Gambia.
We stayed in room 1 which was fine.
We were 'out of season' but this suited us - the excursions we went on were relatively tourist free.
We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and the staff made a special effort on the day that we much appreciated.

Room Tip: We much preferred room 1 to room 7 in which we stayed for the first night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChronicleEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the Anniversary celebrations went well! We hope to see you again at Ngala Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just spent a luxurious week in the beautiful surrounds of Ngala Lodge. The boutique property boasts beautiful gardens with a view out to the sea with multiple spots for relaxing in the sun. The rooms are superb, large and spacious with a very comfy and huge bed! The restaurant is fantastic (see separate review) and Chef Jonathan was more than happy to accommodate my girlfriends specific food allergies throughout the week. But the jewel in the crown for Ngala is definitely the staff. Friendly and attentive without being intrusive, nothing was too much for the staff. From the manager Jenny to the maid that cleaned our room (spotlessly) each day it was a real pleasure to spend a week in their company. The bar staff were great (Mallick and Mo in particular) running back and forth to the bar for me when the World Cup football was on so I didn't have to miss any of it!

We would certainly consider returning to Gambia and if we did, Ngala would be our first and only choice of accommodation!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishstew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and Jonathan enjoyed the challenge! Our staff our greatest asset. I look forward to welcoming you back to Ngala Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of June, it was fantastic. Our room (suite 3) was massive and the balcony and view were amazing – the balcony was big enough for us to both have full body massages at the same time! The staff were so friendly and quickly remembered your name and what drinks you liked. The food was amazing too, I must say Jonathan the head chef was incredibly friendly and helpful with tips for things to do outside the hotel. We didn’t hold back with drinking and eating and the bill at the end was a shock with how cheap it was, part of the charm of The Gambia wherever you go. We went out most days for a wonder to different bars and restaurants for lunch/dinner and highly recommend Calypso and Butchers Shop to eat. We would definitely recommend going to La Mer to watch the fishermen come in, I would get there for 3pm. Habib took us out one day to the capital and walked us around the market, then we went on a trip to the mangroves, we felt this was money well spent. Ngala Lodge are currently creating 6 new rooms so it will be great to see what they look like when they are complete.

We like to travel so we tend to not go back to the same place twice, but we will definitely come back here when we want to recharge our batteries, I haven’t felt as relaxed and happy as I did during our week at Nagal Lodge. I would highly recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family – Superb!

Room Tip: Dont use the aircon. Open your windows, let the sea breeze come in and fall asleep to the sound to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. You certainly made the most of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back! Perhaps to the new Macondo suites?! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

They say it is the staff that makes all the differance ,well that is very true when it comes to our wonderful experiance in Ngala Lodge on 6-6-2014. I .would probable loose the plot trying to express our joy and delight at meeting and interacting with the staff here they were the most friendly and happy and polite nation of people we ever met I would just like to mention HABIB who was our local Ngala lodge guide he brought the whole Gambia trip to life thank you Habib from den and virginija The suite we stayed in was pure luxury .The food was flawless ,well done Chef We rarely go back to the same place twice but we are planing our next trip there already Thank you all at the Ngala you were truly great DENNIS

Room Tip: Try to go for one of the suites you will be well pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenVirCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your great review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I'm delighted you enjoyed all your Gambian 'experiences'! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Have been visiting The Gambia since the mid1980's. We love The Gambia but it's not for everyone. We had always previously been to Ngala Lodge for their excellent restaurant but as some of the hotels we have stayed at are looking slightly "tired" we decided to stay at Ngala Lodge.

Our room was large and airy, if slightly quirky, not keen on the bathroom, found it very basic. Have lived in Africa so do have experience of the standards in the hotels. Think this could have been better. The grounds of Ngala Lodge are beautiful but be aware that there is hardly any beach which is exposed at low tide.

The restaurant is excellent with a good variety of food. Found the hotel slightly claustrophic as it is quite isolated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NgalaLodgeGM, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajara
1.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
3.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
6.1 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Lodge

Property: Ngala Lodge
Address: 64 Atlantic Boulevard | P.O. Box 4091, Fajara, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Fajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Fajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1995, Ngala Lodge - an intimate, child free, boutique hotel of just 18 unique, magnificent suites, set in tropical gardens, overlooking the Atlantic is the perfect place for a romantic break. Recently voted the 4th most romantic hotel in Africa by TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Awards, with arguably the best restaurant in the Gambia, our guests find it hard to leave.Ngala Lodge - where romance isn't just for Valentines Day! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Hotel Fajara
Ngala Lodge Gambia/Fajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing