We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butcher's Shop

Butcher's Shop
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Fajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Quality international restaurant open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and catering services, with a classic contemporary menu drawing flavors from all around the world. Come and enjoy our renowned food, accompanied by a relaxed, charming and sensual ambiance. GCCI 2011 RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR WINNER.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A fantastic restaurant - to my mind, the best in the Gambia. Prices are reasonable (expensive for the Gambia but very cheap by western standards) and the food and setting are really excellent. The steaks are particularly good, but there are all sorts of subtle and lovely dishes - with service and wine to match.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rf263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    55
    14
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tanji, Gambia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good value, nice ambience and surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Visited on a Friday evening towards the end of the tourist season. There were other diners present and others came in after us. It was not a cold evening but not that warm either so we asked for the fan to be turned off above our heads which it was, immediately.
We ordered Carpaccio and Brie in jackets to start which was delicious. We then ordered Tiger Prawns and Tournedos as mains which we enjoyed immensely.
The waiter was attentive and polite and the owner came out to ask if we were enjoying our meal.
If we wanted to be picky then it would just be to say that I was not offered a steak knife with my main course and one of the desserts was baked pear but we only had a spoon to eat this with which was a little difficult.
The restaurant is on the road side, a little set back but there is some traffic noise.
A word of advice: there is greenery all around and, sadly, this meant Mosquito heaven so we were bitten a few times so make sure you apply an anti insect product before you go..
We enjoyed our food very much and the price worked out to 3000 Dalasi including 3 courses, all drinks and tip and that is just over £20 per head. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in The Gambia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a wonderful and unexpected place. We have a home in rural Gambia and our weekly treat is to come here. The charming owner, Driss Bensouda, is an advocate of high quality organic food, and the menu reflects his knowledge and interest in different cuisines. You can pop in for coffee and delicious cakes all day long. Lunch can stretch way into the afternoon as you catch up on your emails or relax and enjoy the good music and good company. At night it is peaceful and romantic, and the lovely staff look after their customers beautifully. The wine menu here is excellent too - also unusual in The Gambia. I recommend the lunchtime specials, Sunday brunch and the delicious pork, which of course is hard to find in this country. And all this for a fraction of the price one would pay in Europe. The Butcher's Shop is a hugely enjoyable restaurant and I can't recommend it too highly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackumBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denholme uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We as a family have eaten here before last Xmas , we had to return for the excellent food . Especially the organic food that Drissi is so passionate about hence the quality of all his food and fantastic cooking skills.The Tapas menu is so good & fish & meat dishes also especially my osso buco the best ever !!! The staff are very friendly therefore this lovely eating house restaurant is a must whilst in The Gambia we will be back very soon thank you Drissi

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziechadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakau, Gambia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a tasty meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We got a yellow taxi the place is clean and looks good but we where disappointed by the bland taste of the meat I never enjoyed the meal perhaps I should have eaten chicken.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodFoodFajara, Owner at Butcher's Shop, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Eddie, sorry to hear about your disappointment. Generally, that is not the case at The Butchers Shop. What sort of meat and which dish did you order ? If you are still in Bakau, please call me at 4495069 and I will prepare you another dish of the same. i will do so to your taste requirements. Waiting to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher's Shop also viewed

 
Fajara, Banjul Division
 

Been to Butcher's Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing