We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Kuba Lodge(Gunjur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
98
29
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
29
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisheco lodgedeserted beachfire pitorganise tripspalm treesno hot waterwonderful beachstaff were fantasticbar area isspending weeksmosquito netgreat holidayjuice bargreat funthe atlantic oceanprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Nemasu eco-log is in a beautiful location - with lovely gardens right by the beach. The local staff are wonderful and all very friendly and the owners welcoming. The food is good and the place is clean. We hired bikes and had a good day cycling about, walked for miles on the beach, swam and just chilled - bliss. Nemasu was the first place we stayed in Gambia and we loved it - after being to another lodge on the coast we realised just how very special it is

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

This eco lodge on the beach is wonderful. It has been carved into the jungle with genuine local type huts. It is an eco lodge NOT a 5 star hotel so those seeking 5 star please stay away in your plastic hotels! Water is recycled and solar heated? Electricity is all solar and wifi is run off solar as well. All local staff are wonderful and very friendly. Very clean and food is freshly prepared. Highly recommended for a chill-out holiday. The beach has very good surfing waves of over 1 metre at times and many juice bars. You can walk for miles along the wonderful beach almost alone save for birds and herds of cows cooling themselves down. Lots of activities should you choose to do these including bird watching, fishing, bike riding, swimming or local volunteering. Great fun!

Stayed: January 2016
3  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Very pleasant and laid back place. Great for relax. Friendly stuff and owners. Good food. Rooms are spacious and clean. The common areas are clean. Owners put a lot of effort that the hotel provides a good standard. Nice beach with only a few people. Would come back. The place is relatively pricey as for Gambia and this is the only major minus.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dawid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg H, Owner at Nemasu Eco-lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thanks so much Dawid. Prices range from £15 (single, outside bathroom) to £70 (family house). Average is £40 for our roundhouses with en-suite. All prices include breakfast. This is about average for Gambia. We're just a small place and somewhat remote; and the 'eco' moniker doesn't necessarily come cheaply. Further, we put most of our profit back into the community- in the form of keeping staff on all year, and paying for all their health care. We also fund a sea turtle program and program for putting kids into schools. SO- we may not be 'cheap'- but we're not expensive- and the 'extra' is put to good use. We look forward to seeing you back, and... bring your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I have travelled extensively and have had some fantastic experiences but Christmas at Nemasu Lodge will live long in the memory as one of the best. A great location, comfortable clean rooms, good food and drinks but it is the people who make this so special. Super friendly and helpful, never intrusive or pushy and always keen to share with you information about their country. Plus they're great fun with an energy and enthusiasm you rarely find. Greg and Hilary the owners are lovely welcoming hosts but leave the running of the lodge to their well trusted team and I think that adds to authenticity and warmth of the atmosphere. We met some great fellow travellers and had a fabulous trip. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Once again we spent a lovely 2 weeks in December at Nemasu Lodge. It was home from home. Seedy and the team were great and thanks Greg for all your help. This is the 4th time we have stayed there and it has never disappointed us. The food was excellent and the team are so friendly and helpful. The huts are basic but clean and are being upgraded as we speak (hot water!!) Everyone works so hard to make your stay as nice as possible. The lodge is surrounded by majestic palm trees with lots of bird life and the beach is beautiful (no bumpsters here). Thanks again and see you soon. Paul & Penny

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews