We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice to be nice”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gunjur, West Coast Division

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
uli_iPunk...
Erfurt, Germany
1 review
“Nice to be nice”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I couldn´t imagine a better place to stay in the Gambia than the NEMA KUTA GARDEN CAMP. Here, "nice to be nice" is not just a saying but a way of living and a way of treating you kindly. Wether it is the cook who is preparing the best food ever (with delicious homegrown fruits and vegetables, of course), or Alex who literally knows everything about the Gambia you wanna know (he is also a tour guide) or the rest of the staff who is showing you how to prepare Ataya.
The location is wonderful and lovely - it is a real garden in a peaceful surrounding with lots of trees and birds. The beach is about 15 minutes by walk away. And because there is no big touristic area in Gunjur you have it all to yourself.
The accommodations are simple but comfortable and cover all your needs.
I highly recommend NEMA KUTA GARDEN CAMP to everyone who is looking for a good alternative to big touristic hotels. Thank you guys for making our stay in Gunjur so special and for showing us why the Gambia is called the smiling cost of Africa.
uli

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you, we are Happy you enjoyed your stay at Nema Kuta. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.
Welcome back
Alex and the staf
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emirersah...
Jena, Germany
1 review
“NOW I KNOW”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

As i arrived to Nema Kuta in 2018 January, just by chance, first i had appreciated the wonderful location in Gunjur area and 10 Minuten beautiful walk to the Beach. In Nema Kuta the rooms were so safe and comfortable, that makes it the best spot to discover the Region, South Gambia and Cassamas/Senegal.
Nema Kuta was such a nice "Camp" which all fruit and vegtables grow there to snack and cook. There is a very small and friendly team, that makes life better. You can get any kind of support and inspiration from the team easily. The Manager Alex is an experienced Guide also, there is nothing he doesn't know...
He is also conductor of the "Nema Kuta Garden Band" which plays traditional drums. As a very big privillige, they show you how it works, if you want to learn about it!
And not just drums, also food, plants, rezepies, language, skills...
Honestly i spend a big amount of my time somehow in Nema Kuta and didn't travel that much as i planned! I enjoyed, learnd and experience the hole life and culture of the Region in just two weeks, thank to Nema Kuta, where you feel yourself like a local person and part of a big family.

I miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Thank you for staying at Nemakuta.
We are all happy you enjoyed your stay.
Welcome back.
Alex and the staf
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karikarhu...
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience out of hotel living”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nema Kuta Camp is really something special. Alex and his team really takes care of visitors with warm and friendly way. Many kind of fruits directly from the trees, cashew peanuts from the ground roasted fresch and warm, even drums players by the open fire... you just can't find that in the city hotel.

We had an opportunity to take well organized trips to Gambian sightseeing, Senegal and to local forest where we could see animals (it's better not to tell details, keep yourself calm!).

I really recommend to experience stay overnight at Nema Kuta Camp even though you had hotel accommodation somewhere else in the Gambia. Maybe next time Nema Kuta Camp is the place of accommodation for your entire vacation.

/Kari

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Thank you Kari for your review. Happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back. Alex and Hans
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine eco-lodge”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location of Nema Kuta feels pretty "off the grid". There are a few similar lodges in the area and some locals living in the vicinity, but other than that there isn't much else going on close-by. A nice beach is about a 10 minutes walk away, which you get pretty much to yourselves - no big commercial hotels or seas of sunbeds, though there are 2 wooden sunbeds standing close to the water. If you want to go to another beach with more people and some cafés with food and drinks etc, there is one a short drive away (which the people at Nema Kuta can help you find).

Nema Kuta itself is a cozy place with fruits and vegetables growing in the garden and handmade chairs being crafted in the backyard. There is also a spot to eat and socialize outdoors under a roof; it's the place you'll probably eat breakfast at and sit and talk at into the night. We slept in one of the round houses, which have two rooms: a bedroom with two double beds, and a bathroom. It's pretty simple but the beds are pretty comfortable and all your basic needs are covered. The toilet is not a water closet that you flush, but a composting toilet which is a part of Nema Kuta's ecological approach.

If you are looking for an all-inclusive experience with a pool and breakfast buffet, this is not the hotel for you. But if you on the other hand is looking for a place close to nature and far away from tourist traps, this might be a good alternative for you.
The people working at Nema Kuta are friendly and helpful, and can help arrange trips or drumming lessons etc. If you are interested in living at a secluded resort and getting a genuine Gambian experience and meeting some ordinary Gambians, I strongly recommend Nema Kuta.
/Luca

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review. Er are Happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irma403
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you Irma for your review. Welcome back. Regards Alex and Hans
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing