We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven of tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Resort
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Dunes is a truly unique hotel in The Gambia, being set away from the 'main drag' it sits at the end of a quite road surrounding by fields, it is quite a distance from the other hotels in the area and you can feel that you are 'alone' even though it sits directly on the main beach area. Dunes is a very relaxed and tranquil place to be, being a small hotel, it doesn't have that 'mass produced' feel and makes the experience personal. The employees are all exceptionally friendly and helpful, all you need to do is ask and they will always do there best to assist. The manager Kabba, in particular will take particular care to ensure that whatever way he is able to help you he will. We found that all our requests were treated with attention and care. The hotel is safe, manned by security 24hrs. This hotel is great tranquil place to relax, we will definitely return to see the friendly people at Dunes and watch the sunsets on the beach - heaven!

Room Tip: Being a small hotel you can email and expect a quick reply on room availability or cancellations, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFerguson0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    24
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having read some previous comments we wondered if this was the same hotel where we had stayed before! and if we hadn't stayed there previously the comments would have been very off putting.

However no cause for concern Dunes was the friendly and welcoming hotel that we remembered. The management team - Onedina and Kabba - couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and any small problems were resolved immediately.

Both being light sleepers either my husband or I were up several times during the night and the security guys were always alert.

Dunes has a large generator and this was put on every time we had a power cut so we were never without electricity for more than 5 minutes. Internet connection was no problem and we were able to face-time from our balcony as well as communal areas.

Our room was great and cleaned daily, sheets and towels lovely and white. Nothing ever went missing from our room even though we did leave things laying about.

Staff were all pleasant and friendly at all times and couldn't do enough for us we only had to ask. Special thanks to Lisa who does massages, manicures, pedicures etc and Mohammed the pool boy who was always busy and always had a smile.

Many thanks Onedina and Kabba and all your team we cant wait to come back

James and Jane
UK

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydaze99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed there last week for a Couple of days with my husband and have no complaints whatsoever.the staff were amazing and really went out of their way to make sure we felt at home.considering they have only been open a month I think they doin quite well.can't recommend it enough.Big thanks to the manager ondina,the assistant Kabba and Ya Fatou the crazy funny receptionist for making my stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lou1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I was shunted here when my original hotel booking was full. Not very happy when I arrived and was expecting the worst.
But, much to my surprise, Dunes hotel has much to commend it.
The staff are all helpful but not pushy . They blend perfectly into the calm and relaxing mood which this hotel tries to create.
Rooms are clean and spacious and everything works.
I don't like to give 5 stars when reviewing. Usually I can find something wrong. But on this occasion, there is nothing to moan about at all.
Perhaps on my next visit, I will find a fault!!!
But Dunes.....I had a great stay and thanks a million.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

we have stayed at the dunes 3 times it would have been 4 but it was closed in November 2013 we stayed at the sunswing which was nice but nowhere near as good as the dunes I certainly do not believe the manager was caught trying to steal suitcases, when we were there in 2012 my husband had an accident and cut his head open kabba took us to the medical centre in his own car ( no charge ) 4 times and the hotel paid the medical bill which was down to kabba. I have left all my belongings ( camera, kindle and iphone ) on my sunbed most days and went for walks on the beach nothing was ever stolen as for the food the breakfast was always very good ordered when you walked through and served when you were ready for it I would certainly recommend it, we will be going back this year probably twice B K

Room Tip: we found the bathrooms on the ground floor were better as they had a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at this hotel on Christmas day 2013 last minute as the apartment we were due to take had been double booked. We were shown a series of rooms and settled on the room S5 a large but quite strangely laid out suite. That evening we spotted that the window was insecure and reported it to the management. They took no action and we for what ever reason never checked whether it had been fixed and by the next morning we had been robbed taking a number of electronic items, cameras, phones plus cash which all added up to quite a lot of money. Luckily the majority of out things were in the safe. We were in bed a sleep when this happened so are lucky nothing more serious occurred.
This kind of thing can happen anywhere and that's why good security is crucial!! ......however it was the attitude of the management who weren't interested that was most shocking. In the meantime the Director and manager Kabba informed us they would not pay any compensation........not even knock anything off the bill!!......So beware any kind of loss or accident in this place and you will be treated as a inconvenience. Minimum I would expect from a hotel is that they keep their guests secure Watch out as well they are on 2 different places on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Terrible experience.. we were robbed. The manager accused us of doing it ourselves??? The window was broken we asked them to fix it and they didnt... Secutity were drunk on shift and asleep.. Chef had no food could only cook limited meals, no menu to choose from..The photos advertised are nothing like what it is like since it was sold and new owners took over...No internet.. When we had a power cut we were given a torch they had no generator!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 797bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.8 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 7 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smartline Palma Rima
Smartline Palma Rima
#5 of 8 in Kololi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Resort

Property: Dunes Resort
Address: Kotu Beach Point | PO Box 1003, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Kotu
Dunes Resort Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing