We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As a veggie I was disappointed at the tiny choice but the quality was good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Kotu
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As a veggie I was disappointed at the tiny choice but the quality was good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very friendly and efficient service. Lovely surroundings, The Bakotu is a lovely place to stay and visit. Make sure a monkey does not steal you meal!. Unlikely after dark.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    111
    46
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We visited Captains Table a couple of times during our week long stay. The food both times was excellent and the food alone gets 5 stars. The only reason I have given it 4 stars is because the wait for the food can be considerable and the owners of the restaurant seem to think its ok to have cats circling the tables and staring at you while you are trying to eat your meal. This became very annoying especially when one of them tried to jump up onto the table when I was eating fish. The staff apologised and shushed the cats away when they noted our annoyance but the cats were present both times we visited the restaurant. The Gambian people do appear charitable and everyone looks after stray cats and dogs, the animals certainly look well fed but paying tourists do not want them round the meal table.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having discovered this place in 2012 we were glad to find it still serving the same great food.
Good value for money

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank buffalomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Ate here once during our stay. We both had the barracuda as we hadn't tried it before and it appears that the locals consider it the best fish in the sea. Have to say it was very good. Staff attentive

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kristineg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Ate here twice during my stay, food was nice but the service was extremely slow. I know you are on holiday to relax but this was extremely slow. I would return but with a view to wait for my meal,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry_HoundEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

 
Kotu, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing