We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wavecrest Hotel Gambia
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I Was in Gambia on the business trip with Banjul Breweries for 2 months and i stayed at the wavecrest hotel.
Wavecrest is in the center of everything namely airport, senegambia and all the amazing places you will want to visit whiles in The Gambia.
The staff, facility and the products was above every where else i ever stayed in.
The staff are very friendly and go above and beyond the call of duty. During my stay everything was pleasant and it was above my expectation i will advis anyone who wants to visit Gambia to please stay at the WAVECREST HOTEL.
Special thank you to Michelle, Abdoulaye, Anna and Awa and a very special thank you to the general manager Mr. Eliman Njie.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njaayoumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed at the Wavecrest for the 3rd time. As usual I was picked up at the Airport by the Hotel Staff who was waiting for me at the Airport. A service which is needed after a long flight.

I stayed in an apartment on the first floor. The apartment was very clean and spacious. The Living room had everything I neded. Flat screen TV, DVD, a stereo system which also played my Ipod, as well as a dining area with dining table. In the bedroom was a Superking size bed, another flat screen tv and a very large fitted wardrobe. It was a home away from home.

The Staff were extremely helpful and catered for my every need including the chef who catered for my my dietary requirements..

Meal times were fabulous, especially breakfast on the Roof terrace with the sun shining a great start to the day.

I had a few repair issues which were quickly dealt with. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to visit the pool.But more than made up for it with a trip to the beach which is a 10-15minute walk.

I have stayed at other Hotels in the Gambia but Wavecrest is by far the most friendliest and homely as well as being modern in appearance and decor.

If you want to stay somewhere which is value for money, friendly, modern and has excellent service. The Wavecrest is the place to be

Room Tip: The penthouse is definitely the best apartment. But the other apartments are very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed at the Wavecrest in February 2012 after a hectic December so needed to re-focus. I found my pick-up from the airport and arrival to the hotel to be so efficient and welcoming. The staff was very accommodating and willing to please. I stayed at the penthouse suite with friends. We visited the attractions eg. Monkey Island, went to the market, beach, the gym and had clothes made to measure. The roof garden bar and restaurant was a place we frequented for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was so tasty we didn't need to look no further. The location of the Wavecrest was close enough to many of the places we needed to go to so taxi fare wasn't expensive.

I found the accommodation very comfortable, modern and extremely clean and the staff was on top it, as I suffer from a dust allergy, this is very important for me.

I would recommend the Wavecrest and will be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Had wonderful time at Wavecrest in June 2012. Staff was so welcoming and invited my friend's neighbourhood children to come to the pool. Rooms are excellent. Love the rooftop dining area. Will definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GambialoverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at the Wavecrest with a group of friends in November 2012. Four of us shared the Penthouse.The accomodation is large spacious and airey. I have wonderful memories of waking early and sitting outside on the large balcony, sipping coffee and taking in the wonderful tranquility as the sun rose.

Another favourite of mine was dining in the rooftop restaurant, where staff catered to our every need. It is just a brilliant spot for dining anytime of the day. Mentioning the staff at the Wavecrest, they are second to none, happy to assist with great customer service skills. The food was great too with good size portions.

The Wavecrest provided great information on where to go during our stay, and organised the airport pick up and drop off. Where ever we wanted to go the hotel staff would organise a taxi to pick us up right outside the main gate.

There is also a private pool where we lounged for many hours. We found the pool to be clean and a good size, just right for our needs. The pool area attracts the sun all day long. Again the staff happily took our orders and met our needs as we sun bathed.

I have been to the Gambia before and stayed in a couple of other hotels. I found the Wavecrest to be incomparable to the other hotels I had previously stayed at, If you like contemporary, clean, spacious accomodation with great staff I would recommend the Wavecrest

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I travelled to Gambia in August 2012 with my wife, sister-in-law and 4 children. We had a great stay in the Wavecrest and felt very at home. The rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. The quiet and peacful nights in the Wavecrest was one of the highlights of our trip to Gambia and we'd highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at the Wavecrest when we attended a family wedding in The Gambia Jan 2012. I would have loved to go back this January but it was fully booked for our dates. We arrived at the airport and was picked up by the hotel staff. We enjoyed a cool welcome drink when we reached the hotel. During our stay we enjoyed every luxury of a home away from home. With fully equipped apartments style with full kitchen and all the amenities we needed to complete the holiday and make it perfect.

The staff were extremely helpful and professional. Nothing was too much for them to do for us. From laundry to calling taxis. Our stay was the best ever.

The roof restaurant was incredible for breakfast in the morning and the views from this beautiful location was truly amazing. We enjoyed delicious dishes both local and continental menu. Which were sometimes served on our private terrace.

The pool was beautiful and clean actually gleaming. I've booked to go back Feb 2014 for my brothers 50th birthday.

Room Tip: All all are beautiful. We viewed 3 different ones Ground floor has garden and pool view. We stayed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
0.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ocean Villa Heights
Ocean Villa Heights
#3 of 4 in Brufut
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Hotel Gambia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Hotel Gambia

Property: Wavecrest Hotel Gambia
Address: Kota West, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wavecrest Hotel Gambia 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern block of air conditioned, luxurious self contained apartments run and serviced to the high level of a hotel service. The property consists of six generously sized, 1 bedroom apartments which sleep up to 3 guests and one 4 bedroom which sleeps up to 8 guests, arranged over 3 floors. Furnished with super king beds and luxurious Italian furniture, our apartments are of the highest standard offered within The Gambia. The 2 penthouse apartments (1 four bed and 1 one bed ) have triple aspect views of the area and some sea views in the distance. They also have their own large private dining and sun terrace. The 4 bed penthouse further has a roof terrace where one could enjoy private dining, sunbathing or jacuzzi spa bathing within arms length of the 'Waves' roof Restaurant and Bar for immediate service. The gleaming pool is kept in pristine condition and the rooms are serviced daily. All apartments have FREE WiFi access and we can also provide guests with mobile phones with local SIM cards to keep you connected. We offer an airport transfer service, breakfast, half or full board packages also starter food packages. We can arrange local tours, currency changing, in fact nothing is too small or to much for us to arrange for our guests. We are 10 minutes walk from the local beach, a call from a taxi rank and 30 seconds from a local amenity shop providing every amenity for your holiday or business visit to The Gambia. Please call us for any current special offers or in case of an extended visit rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wavecrest Hotel Gambia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Hotel Gambia Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing