We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“country of smile on”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kotu Beach

Kotu Beach
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“country of smile on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Check out the official local gambia tour guides Situated by the supermarket. Friendly, helpful. Individual bespoke trips cheaper t Han the tour operators.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    177
    32
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“mostly clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The part of the beach we used was manned by our hotel staff so it was clean, well serviced and safe. Other parts of the beach can be a little unkempt. The fruit and other vendors can be a bit irritating but they are trying to scratch a living so a bit of tolerance is needed. Take notice of the flags that tell you if it is safe to swim because the Ocean was be quite fierce and watch out for the jelly fish that you might find by the water edge. Like anywhere else really just use some common sense and all will be well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A piece of paradise! Yes, you have the bumsters, fruit ladies and juice people but a polite and firm no thank you will suffice. It does not ruin it in anyway as long as you make yourself clear. Tourism is a key industry in Gambia and as long as you remember this just sit back, relax, buy yourself a 60p beer and take in the beauty that is Kotu beach,

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naomi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Warm nature of the people. Have very little but they share what they do have. Poverty is unacceptable considering the wealth that was gained by slavery from England and none was ever given back. The ripple effect still continues for the Gambian people so give generously please.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank camara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bird watching-wort it 100%”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back 27/03/14 from my third visit to The Gambia,
Stayed at Kombo beach, as I always do, had wonderful time again.
There are always things to do .,so this time I decided to give it a go with Bird Watching in the morning, as recommended from I couple I met on the beach.
They recommended Alex Barry whom they knew for 12 years and they were right
Alex Barry it's very good bird watch guide
He has impressive knowledge about birds, also he took me around the river, few villages in the country. I wanted to visit Senegal , but I just didn't have enough time as I was just for a week this time .

If someone want to book in advance with Alex Barry his email is
alieualex@yahoo.com

I'm really looking forward to fly back there in November and May be do some charity work as a nurse

Elena F
Croydon

Helpful?
2 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kotu Beach also viewed

 
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Kotu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing