We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palm Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$185
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
224
278
152
78
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
278
152
78
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaziz the bird manbeach barpancakeskunta kintehrooms are basicfresh towelsbird watchinggreat holidayc blockjohn raymondsabuko nature reservecleaned dailymosquito netentertainment every nightroots tourfelt very safethe main strip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed in the palm beach for 2 weeks in November 2011. Considering the price we paid for the holiday, we were not anticipating luxury and this place more or less was what we were expecting, however we'd booked a week's worth of tour with a reputable local guide in advance, so weren't expecting to spend too much time here. Hopefully this is a balanced review on that basis.
Good points
Excellent location, especially for bird watching types - perhaps a bit off the beaten track for those who like to walk to a variety of shops and restaurants, but taxi fares reasonable to Senegambia strip etc.
Very nice beach with free sunbeds
Kunta Kinteh's beach restaurant / bar (but check the bill carefully - about a third of ours were wrong - and not always wrong in their favour either!)
Maria the beauty therapist - excellent massage
Bad points
Rooms scruffy with many broken items - we had no hot water for 3 days while our friends had an overflowing geyser in their bathroom which rendered it like Niagara falls crossed with a sauna
Sheets too small for the bed so you end up sleeping on the dirty matress with a scrunched up sheet somewhere by your feet
The mystery of the towels - they are taken away at about 0930 and returned at about 1700, so if you want a shower in the middle of the day you are a bit stuck - we speculated that they only had one set for the whole hotel!
Service at the poolside restaurant - 1 hour for a sandwich to be delivered - go to KK's instead!
Curry fever - we tried to eat here as we had read the reviews and were looking forward to it - unfortunately we got so frustrated with the service we left and walked to KK's instead.
Breakfast. If you love your coffee / tea, then bring your own!
Bumsters. I'm sure you will have read about them elsewhere and the issue isn't restricted to this place.
Other
Try not to get a room overlooking the pool area if you are not a night owl or have young kids - it can be noisy as the entertainment stage is in this area
Hire a safe as soon as you get there as out of a whole room full, only about 10 work
Only pay your bar / food bill in the hotel on the production of a bill, they have had problems with random people pretending to be waiters and takng payment - there are notices to this effect in the pool bar area
Get out and about - there are good restauants within walking distance (Boss Lady, VeeJay's, Captain's table)
The hotel washing ladies will wash and iron clothes for you for a small consideration - find them at the back of the hotel at the rear of the swimming pool area, but be circumspect as their manager doesn't like it :-)

In short, if you are the sort of person who likes to spend quite a bit of time at your holiday hotel, or expect / need a bit of comfort to relax, you'd probably be happier elsewhere. If this is what you can afford and you aren't expecting the earth, or you are out all day travelling / birding/ sightseeing/on the beach and just using the place to sleep then you'll probably be OK.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Treens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Arrived after total travelling time of about 12 hours to find room not ready - last guests were late checking out. When finally shown room, plumber still had to attend to fix toilet. Had to call him again that evening to rectify fault again but never worked properly. Standard of furnishings was very poor and dangerous in some cases - there was a metal rod sticking up vertically in my mattress and bed ends (chipboard) were broken with very rough edges that could have caused serious cuts! Bare wires were visible in the wall where a cover plate was missing.

Changed rooms the following day, paying extra for air-conditioning. Had originally booked (and paid for) a room with air-conditioning but was told before I travelled that they were not available. Turns out they were available, but at an additional cost of £ 50 per week. The manager "checked out" my new room before I moved in, but found that lights in main room and balcony did not work (fixed later) and toilet seat was loose and could be dangerous to sit on.

The new room was very close to the pool area where evening "entertainment" was staged. This could be very loud and there was no sound insulation in the room. Other guests in the pool area could also be heard quite clearly talking - sometimes very loudly - until 2 a.m. making it very difficult to sleep at times, even with earplugs.

Staff were very friendly (as are all Gambians) but service was lousy. One evening I waited in vain for 35 minutes for someone to take my food order, so I went to a restaurant up the road. Always had to wait about 10 minutes to get the bill , and the same time to get my change (at both the poolside and beach bars). Just ordering a drink could prove very slow at times.

The location on the beach was superb and there were plenty of beach bars/restaurants to choose from, plus others locally away from the beach. I would highly recommend the area, but would advise travellers to choose another hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel, get away from the pool area and have a room with air-conditioning - fans are noisy and of little effect.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We booked this hotel earlier this year then read the reviews here and thought oh dear what have we done! We stayed for 2 weeks in November and throughly enjoyed it. Yes there were a couple of problems initially (sink leaked and our room wasnt ready on our arrival but contrary to what is written here we spoke to the manager Gary who was great and things were sorted no problem.If you want 5 star then please pay for it as this hotel is not luxury however it is as we expected for a three star hotel in the Gambia, please bear in mind that to the Gambian people this is luxury and not the grotty hotel described in a few of these reviews. One of the main problems here is the small minded mentality of some of the tourists, who see a mixed race couple and automatically assume there is some thing sexual going on.There were quite a number of mixed race married couples while we were staying and this was at times frowned upon by a few tourists. The hotel staff were great very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. The breakfast is basic but always good, eggs of every description daily, fruit, pancakes, cheese jams, bread, toast even porridge etc. The hotel food was good but please do expect to wait as service can and will be slow but please remember this is the gambia and could you rush in that heat. The rooms are basic but cleaned daily with clean towels and sheets changed twice weekly. We enjoyed it so much we are booking to return again in march As 3 sisters travelling together we felt safe at all times yes there will be banter with locals but please dont be afraid, we felt safer here than at home walking to and from the hotel even on an evening..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Wow we have just returned from a weeks holiday Nov 18-25th 2011 at Palm Beach hotel, I actually cried when I had to leave, myself and my finance' and our ten month old baby son Khafre booked a weeks holiday, which was not long enough. The customer service was excellent from start to finish, the friendly staff were always willing to please and accommodate our needs from heating baby food to providing mosquito nets, nothing was too much even catering to my fussy breakfast needs of omelettes with multiple fillings and sausages with onions and mushrooms all mixed up . The room was spacious with good AC and very comfortable beds and the room was very clean. The entertainment was brilliant especially when you have a young baby and travel around too much after 9pm. There was everything from Water-polo to traditional shows, dancing and music brilliant and a high standard real value for money the quiz nights and karaoke were really fun. The other guests were lovely too. I loved Palm Beach and I will miss Ibrahim the management Moses and Mr Entertainment and Internet guy all were really great. Wow!! The Gambia was great we loved all the excursions the fresh fruit and juices on the best Beach. Go for it if you are thinking about booking here you will really enjoy your stay it is a stone throw away from the beach and a five minute cab ride from the strip in Senegambia . I would definitely recommend it ..... Great value for money and great memories

Room Tip: A block is a great location close to the pool and reception and the restaurant.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Juliet1971London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

ill have to watch my words as I might upset some of the moaning *it’s who stay in a 3rd world country! we have just stayed at the palm beach hotel Gambia . ok its not 5star BUT you get wot you pay for . the rooms were cleaned well every day , the staff , your happyness is our pleasure ,there words not mine , well i am happy , a warm smile every time we meet them :) the beach was a dream :) fruit lady fatima , was just wot you needed ? a plate of fruit for £1.50 ish bargin . go bird watching with aziz , a tour worth much more then he wonts for it . if you dont have the balls to talk to the locals and ask for these plp then email me and ill txt them for you ! as for the food in the hotel , well i will eat there any time ? and i am fussy wot i eat . ill end this by saying the plp who wont to sell you stuff just say no "thank you" firmly and they go away ! or use the words we all know **** o** ! as for the plp who go for the "sex" laugh at them or feel sorry. but get a life and stop moaning about this hotel , bugger of to another one,and leave the staff alone ! ill end this now . oh I am going back feb 2012

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank truebrit321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews