We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No frills hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set in the most beautiful location on Kotu beach. The hotel is clean, the rooms comfortable. I stayed in room C32 which was great for me. The upstairs rooms have their own staircase for each room, so I felt very safe being in the room on my own. The breakfast buffet was great - cereal, toast, bread, cheese, fruit, eggs, porridge, beans and pancakes. The only problem I encountered with this hotel was some staff members hassling us to go on trips with them but a quiet word with our Thomas Cook rep sorted that out. We did get a fair amount of hassle outside of the hotel from men wanting to come back for a "drink" and were told that the hotel has a reputation for bumsters. All that being said, I would stay here again. I thought it was great value for money and the beach was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jolakeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    263
    136
    71
    67
See reviews for
88
366
91
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The staff at The Palm Beach hotel were very friendly. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed daily, and there was air conditioning in the room. The bar was good, but a bit pricey, and the food in the evening was decent. Breakfast was good - pancakes, fruit, cereal and beans on toast, however fresh juice would have improved it. All in all, a great stay in The Gambia.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Injase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

ok so i know this hotel is supposed to be basic,but that do'es not mean that they cannot be cleaned.so lets start from the begining our first room had loads of hot water unfortunatley it was brown in colour,so changed rooms(next door) .....brown water.......this now needed a new water tank,and fair play it was changed quickly and problem resolved.BUT this work had disturbed colin the cockroach and it took another hour untill he collided with my right trainer(with my right foot in it).
on the bathroom walls were blood splats from mossey kills,these were still there at the endof the holiday and i was able to write "clean me"on the top of the t.v.
ok it was a shame about the room as the rest of the hotel was very good.the breakfasts were ok plenty of choice and always enough to go round.the bar staff were always on the ball and there was a good selection of entertainment in the evening.the hotel is in a great location being right on the beach but far enough away from the town.look out for the birdman feeding the vultures every evening .if the room issue could be resolved i would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel

Room Tip: ask for seaview room (these have been upgraded)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairsyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

just got back from palm beach this morning in my party was me and a friend two vunerable ladies hotel was much better than expected as we usualy go to sunset down the road so was not expecting much but on arrival we were greated by staff shown to our room which was just right shower and toilet good beds big and comfy clean towles every day and beds made would be nice to have fridge in room but can hire for week for 1200 dalasi grounds are great and beach from hotel is beautiful all the staff and security staff are fantastic we had our own gaurds sitting down in the cornerunder our room sun bed boys great they sort out your beds each morning ,coconut man is lovely he feeds the birds everyday at five a nice place to eat just round the corner is jd sports bar fantastic food and on a wed and sat live band its great try alli barbas in the town and escarlas and combo has great food some sellers can be pushy if not intrested just say no thanks dont be rude as may turn nasty pop to markets and barter with them overall i had fantastic holiday and will be back next year met some really nice people oh nearly forgot food and bar staff is out of this world please take tourch as not lit up very well thanks for reading

Room Tip: ask for a corner or end apartment higher floor as out the way but very secure as security staff alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraine681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was my first time staying at Palm Beach hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived as I wasn't expecting much. The rooms although basic are very spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and always ready to offer assistance. I was a bit disappointed with the menu as there wasn't much variety and the food wasa bit pricey. However there are several restaurants and bars nearby serving various cuisines and dishes and are much cheaper. Didn't spend much time in the hotel during the day as I was visiting friends who live in the Gambia. However I thought the evening entertainment was superb. There were various live bands performing every night and I loved the music !!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keelanah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

we have just got back and i thought i would put a word in for this hotel. although rooms were basic they were clean.the staff are what make this hotel special always smiling and eager to make your holiday go well nothing is to much trouble for you them.food was good , you will not starve as the portions are huge.we would love to go back.thanks to them all.

Room Tip: c and b blocks. dont think see vew is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

The service , the staff in new uniforms, the service and the cleanliness standards are much improved from my visit in Jan 2012, im so glad i took the time to visit the hotel during my holiday this year 2013 i could see how much effort has gone into improving the service in Palm Beach in the last year. I would be happy to stay there in future. Well done to the Management and staff keep up the good work.

Maggie

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.3 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Property: Hotel Palm Beach
Address: Serrekunda, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palm Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Kotu
Hotel Palm Beach Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing