We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff, leave your european expectations at home. Cant wait to return”
Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

When arriving i was aware it wasnt going to be EU standards and i wasnt wrong.. Dirty plugs, tv that worked sometimes, basic beds, so i kinda prepared myself. However after a couple of days the little things didnt really bother me. Tbh i was dreading going to gambia but i got convinced to go by a family member and now im absolutely hooked. The beach is just outside the hotel and from what i saw its the nicest stretch of the beach by far. When moving away from the immediate area of palm beach be prepared for hassle hassle hassle! It drove me nuts to the point i actually cried. So be prepared to say no firmly or walk with a local. Its not an intimidating hassle just not a minutes peace hassle an sometimes you just want to walk on your own. The security employed at the palm beach are very aware of the bumsters and will keep you in peace, and if you ask them will arrange for someone to walk with you. Food was ok.. Nothing spectacular but ok if you didnt feel like going out. Breakfast was good same everyday but i enjoyed it an was full up, if you are particular on your coffee though i would bring your own as i think its like happy shopper instant or something of similar quality. The staff at palm beach are exceptionally nice, i was concerned about taking my 12 year old son as wasnt sure if he would get bored with my main aim being relaxing on the beach but a staff member amadou was very good with him, he made a simple fishing rod and they caught 4 fish together, they went jogging on beach and played in the sea most days. My son said it was the best holiday hes been on.. Largely down to the friendly staff. Theres also vulture feeding at 5 pm most days which was nice to see. All in all i would recommend it but leave your EU standards at home and take it for what it is a basic hotel in the best stretch of beach with lovely people.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

just had other 3 weeks 6th march /27th march at the palm beach hotel and must say things have got better since when i was there in December with my daughter . A little cleaner and with more helping staff ,everyone will ask you the same questions 40 times over but it part of there way ,the hotel food is very nice if you like curry and curry and don't go and eat out side the hotel if not the staff get a little up set there is a lot in the area to do ,and i will tell you get out of the hotel there are so many nice cheap and better food to try have you gone all that way just to stay IN. if you want to waste you hoilday well carry on and be sad and remember you do that at home, GET OUT AND ENJOY THE GAMBIA ,I go to local schools and villages ask the taxi control Llaima what a nice guy he got taxi and place sorted out for the days i went out and the night life is so good every where you got you are welcomed with open arms and make to feel at home ,get out of this hotel and enjoy the local area. Back to my title well after being there just 2 days i went backto shower after breakfast because the heat in the breakfast area was to much ,after being in the shower a minute the maid came in for the towels at which point i told her i was in the shower and would need them ,ok she said and i thought that was ok and the next thing the maid walked in to the shower and offerd to help me wash ,this was a part of the service that i did not now was included in the thomas cook price but i hope they leave it in for next year ....over all great hotel but remember late showers in the morning and get out and explore

Room Tip: away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Was our 1st tine in gambia and loved it only problem was the hotel will never go back there.
I met up with my wife and family in there second week at the resort as couldnt get time off work for a two week break yes tue hotel is very very basic and did expect this after reading reviews on this site but wat they dont say is that the staff are just a bit to friendly my wife had loads of trouble with them asking if she would like to go out for drinks and wat they call jiggy jiggy even though they knew she was married and it didnt stop even wen i arrived did report it on more than one occassion but didnt stop them.
Yes the cups r chipped but thats not a problem did have a leaking toilet which we reported and they came to fix it but after 2 days started leaking again so had to be reported again and finally got it fixed think the 1st time they just mopped up the water to be honest.
Only had breakfast at hotel which was ok if u wanted beans eggs and pancakes toast fruit and cornflakes every morning, there was one cleaner who would do anything for u called abdula he was brilliant got us bumble cream cocoa butter fruit anything and would not take any money for it just ask if we was leaving anything behind to pass it onto him which was fair i thought.

Me and my wife will be returning to The Gambia but not to this hotel we have had a look around others and will be staying atvthe palma rimma which is right near the strip as the palm beach was a bit out of the way for us there is more space to move around and u dont feel as though u are on top of each other plus it looks cleaner and the pool is a lit bigger.

So to put it in a nut shell DON'T STAY AT THE PALM BEACH LOOK AROUND AND TAKE UR TIME PICKING A HOTEL but do go to the gambia its a lovely place the locals are very friendly just be aware of the bumsters but unlike hotel staff wen u say no they do understand and leave u alone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iantut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

As many have already said don't let the negatives put you off... expect basic rooms, beautiful gardens, the most attentive service (absolutely everyone wants to know that you're having a good day/holiday/night's sleep) and unrivalled beach location. Far, far nicer than Kololi Beach. The staff are gorgeous - tip where and when you can. A little goes a long way here - wages are low, this hotel's season is short and these guys work hard for their money. If you don't like something tell reception - they'll do their best to put it right if they can!

Trips out - don't bother booking with tour ops, this is an expensive option and you will get better locally. Look out Mustapha Barry and Abdou Aziz. These guys will tailor make around your wants and needs and you won't have to share your experience other than with those you choose to.

Mustapha is very knowledgeable, charming and attentive. We had a day out with another tripper for 'birds & breakfast' boat tour through the mangroves by Lamin Lodge in a dugout canoe then walk birdspotting and tour of the gardens tending by Gambian women and the oyster collectors. Birdlife is incomparible and Mustapha's knowledge comprehensive. We then went on to Makasutu Cultural Forest for lunch, close encounters with baboons and walk through forest to see the 'sage' that lives there. Pretty unforgettable. Again tip where you can. Find him on facebook or email: tafbarry@yahoo.co.uk. Te: 22207165867. You'll find him outside the hotel too.

Abdou Aziz, again highly recommended. He's a qualified ornithologist and very charismatic. We went with Aziz to Kachichilly Crocodile Pool and the local Monkey Park. This man has eyes in the back of his head and doesn't miss a trick on nature walks. You'll have an awful lot of fun and insight into culture, history, wildlife etc. Find him on FB, email: afayinkeh@yahoo.co.uk or call: 00220 9930876. He also feeds the kites and vultures outside the hotel at 5pm every day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyPinkTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Well there were five of us from the age of 30-53 , price for holiday for two weeks Feb-March this year £500 with Thomas Cook. No leg room on plane, don't waste your money on the food on the plane, we were ill as a result. When you get off the plane you are greeted with the most happy smiling people you could ever wish to meet.
The people at the Hotel were great they just couldn't do enough for you. And they most surely make the Hotel.
The grounds are nice. My room was very basic wood on wardrobe stapled on, windows were screwed closed in that heat. The mosquito net for the window had rips in it and you couldn't open or close them.
The bed linen wasn't changed in the two weeks.
mugs in breakfast room all need replacing as they are chipped.
power cuts but that is too be expected in Gambia.
Good size wardrobe and shelves, shower, be careful gets red hot.
Colour TV in English.
Good pool
Bingo
Bands in the evening
Clean towls every day
Good food
Good breakfast and you can have as much as you want. All fresh. take English teabags.
The grounds are kept immaculate condition
so are the rooms.
But the owners do not spend the money on the sheets,mugs,windows that open and the window nets. That's is the only things that let it down.
The worker do everything they can as not one wants you to be unhappy while staying there.
Having said that I will be going back again but with my own sheets and mug.
Take a torch with you for power cuts.

Room Tip: Don't have a room by the pool if you want a quiet night as that is where the band play on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Well all the reviews are spot on. Yes the hotel is in need of lick of paint. Good idea to take ears plugs as air con noisy. Once you can get yr head around the power cuts and go with the flow .. the staff are lovely so friendly helpful and work very hard. Get out and about go see the crocodile pool and see life a little bit as it is. Look for Abdou Aziz he is fantastic, very polite helpful and great company and a very good driver. The taylor in the hotel will copy anything you want so take any favorite item you want copying with you. Try the massage Mariam is very good !! The arrival at the airport (friends were late meeting us) was an experience.. let the lads help you with yr luggage dont worry !!! These people are sooooo friendly, yes I am sure it is just the tip they are after but not once was anyone pushy or annoying. I was very nervous about going but necessity brought the trip about. Go ready with camera out at the airport the vultures are waiting for you lol !! Seriously the whole thing was an amazing experience. Abdou will do all the trips you want and take you anywhere you want to go. He has a fantastic telescope and will show you all the birds very knowledgable.
The Batik factory was interesting..... Went to Albert market in Banjul .. thats an experience !! go with a guide though the lady in the bag shop in the hotel will take you as will Abdou. Try the African queen restaurant in the senegambia strip. Just remember it is a third world country the people rely on tourists. What we consider to be a good tip will feed them a week and what they earn they rely on to get them through the non tourist period... so tip well they all work so hard it is not your normal package type holiday its better!!! I will be trying to go back thats for sure. PS if you go onto beach turn left go to the point and look across the bay if you can walk to that place Pocoloco beach bar very nice ! Had my 60th birthday party there ! look for the lads in wheelchairs tip them and they will guard yr car if you have one. Go with an open mind and an open heart and you will want to return as I do.

Room Tip: ask for room away from swimming pool as bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mazsheppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The staff at this hotel were great, very friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned well every day, as were the other areas of the hotel. Great location by the beach and good food. I think the bad reviews for this hotel are pretty harsh, yes it is a little tired, but every thing else more than makes up for that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 914karis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.3 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Serekunda
1,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
368 reviews
0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
1.6 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Address: Serrekunda, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range: £29 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palm Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Kotu
Hotel Palm Beach Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing