We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff make the Palm beach special”
Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The staff make the Palm beach special”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Visited Palm beach for the second time right at the end of the season (April 2013). Once again the staff were the most important thing in making my stay great. Without them I would have had some complaints. From the waitresses to the security and cleaners everyone has a smile and a good word. The hotel does have it's problems. The electricity cuts off frequently (there is no point hiring a fridge) but it is Africa and it somehow adds to the feel. The area is outstanding for birdwatchers with Kotu creek and the Golf course the places to head for. I would definitely recommend Aziz, like many others. He is without doubt one of the Elite bird guides in Gambia and is often around the Palm beach. This time we went with him to the Abuko bird reserve. Aziz has his own vehicle and drives to your destination. Once there we enjoyed some fantastic birding clocking up dozens of species. A little local know-how brings great rewards and we also spotted Crocodile and Bushbuck antelope. I would also recommend a trip to Fathala in Senegal for an authentic safari experience which includes Rhino, Giraffe, Zebra and Lions. For this I used Arch tours as they have a trip advisor 5 star rating and the trip includes a good meal.
One word of warning you are not obliged to give anyone anything. It is a poor country and some 'bumsters' will say anything to get you to give them some money or buy tat. You must be firm. If you give money away early on your holiday then word gets around that you are a soft touch and you will have lots more trying it on. I do always help some people out and give some clothes away (old football shirts are especially appreciated) but you must restrict it to carefully selected people.
Overall the Palm beach is a great place to stay and I will be going back, it's not perfect but I would prefer the prices to stay low rather than it become more upmarket. Mustapha and the rest of the staff more than make up for the rough edges and the food from the in house restaurant is great.

Room Tip: Birder's should go upstairs in C block some nice views of the local birdlife can be had in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisRoughley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    264
    137
    71
    67
See reviews for
88
367
93
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
golborne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed at the Palm beach in march for the fourth time and its getting better everytime.Booked for 3 weeks in nov/dec.The Indian family who run it have realy made a difference over the last couple of years.The lads who work at the hotel will help with anything you ask ans always with a smile

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at Christmas and left a glowing report, We then revisited the Gambia over Easter and stayed at the Palm beach again, Sometimes you find the the second visit is not so great. (Not so) the staff remembered us and made us feel welcome, The management were again very attentive and nothing seemed too much trouble. The location allowed the best of all the local resorts (a taxi ride each night took us to restraunts we didnt even know about) and only cost a few quid. The beach is perfect and the beach sellers offered entertainment.(if you cant be bothered get sunbeds off the first row). The breakfast is good (better than some other hotels in the area), The rooms are basic but clean, all in all a good relaxing couple of weeks.Thanks J&K

Room Tip: Not a problem, Music stops at a sensable time and the windows close shutting out any bird noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel is certainly quieter than the others around which suited us, but it had a nice intimate feel and is very convenient for watching bird life from the viewing platform looking over the creek. Breakfast was fairly basic but ok with fresh bread rolls and what we took to be local made jams, which were very nice. We ate at a few places in the evening but eventually homed in on the Captain's Table which we thought very good value and a good menu. Sitting round the pool area was very pleasant and peaceful - no "activities".

We were very keen on seeing the bird life, and there are many bird guides touting their services at the Kotu Bridge so we ended up using a youngish guide AZIZ the bird man for an initial 2 hour tour from the bridge , where he pointed out a number of bird types for us, so we then booked him for a longer morning trip to Mandinaba beyond Brikama which he said was less visited but worth going to and we were not disappointed - We saw a wide variety of bird types including Lizard Buzzard, Hawks, Striped Kingfisher, Spotted Thicknee, Canary, and Snake Eagle among others. The driver Aziz used for the trip was also very good, and seemed sooo grateful when we gave him a tip which he didn't seem to be expecting.
Its a shame for the guides that the season starts to tail off in April and they would then have to go back to the family farm or whatever to scrape a living - such a shame..
All in all excellent holiday great hotel and great guide.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was my forth visit to The Gambia and my forth stay at Palm Beach. My holidays would just not be the same if I stayed anywhere else. I did out of curiousity look at a couple of other hotels whilst I was out there but none of them and I mean none of them came close to the welcome or pleasantness of Palm Beach. From the moment you walk through the doors or even the gates you are one of the family. Its position right on the beach is a massive plus and the restuarants/beach shacks along the stretch of beach are fab. John Raymonds, Kunta Kintes, Solomons Fish Bar to name but a few. A trip to the strip is a must and the Jewel of India, GTS, African Queen and JoJos are a must. Take a walk to the end of the path thats leads away from the hotel (turn right instead of left) this will take you to Luigies. A gem of a place and the food is fab. Have a cooked breakfast at Churchills and then stroll back along the beach!!! Gambia has something for everyone. I will be going back for more of the charm that is The Smiling Coast.

Room Tip: C block is right at the back and these are the quieter room. A block is a bit loud but it doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Undersiege
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks the weather was wonderful the Hotel was ok had no hot water for the first week. The entertainment was poor. Never ate at the Hotel

The hotel needs updating the pool needs a good clean the sunbed covers needs a good wash other than that I had a great time. If you want luxury don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Undersiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kotu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Our first visit to The Gambia and I recommend it to everyone. Palm Beach is a fantastic resort backing onto the beautiful Kotu beach. The hotel has it's own beach bar and private beach so that you can relax without being interrupted by the 'bumsters'. Rooms are quite basic but comfortable with everything you need and the housekeeping staff do a very good job.
What made this hotel (and our holiday) so great was the friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. T-boy assisted us from the moment we stepped off our coach right until moment we stepped back on it to go home home. He is a lovely man, polite courteous and knowledgeable about the area - if you go to Palm Beach make sure you find him! We also made friends with M.B who unfortunately had lost his job at the hotel due to a period of illness - I very much hope he is working there again next time we go as he was very kind and helpful, another asset to the hotel.
Breakfast was included in our rate and had a good selection - delicious pancakes! We ate in the hotel quite a few times and the food was very good and very reasonable with a variety of dishes including Indian, Chinese and Gambian.
The Gambia is an amazing country and there are amazing experiences to be had there - I cannot recommend this hotel enough, great location, fantastic staff and a lovely vibe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LydiaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.3 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Property: Hotel Palm Beach
Address: Serrekunda, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palm Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Kotu
Hotel Palm Beach Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing