We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you need?”
Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What more could you need?”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our first visit to The Gambia,we had researched hotels and as we didn't want a large impersonal hotel but to be amongst nature, settled on Palm Beach which was perfect for us.The grounds are beautiful,peaceful,full of exotic plants and wildlife with the ever helpful gardeners on hand to find particular individuals,the monitor and giant tortoise as well as the monkeys and birds.My favorite were the fruit bats.We visited all the other local hotels which served to prove what a good choice we had made.The breakfast was perfectly adequate for us and we enjoyed our drinks in the bar before heading out in the evenings for dinner and returning for night walks around the hotel with the night guards to spot nocturnal residents!

We used Aziz the bird man for major trips to Roots, Lamin Lodge Crocodile Pool and Monkey Park.He was lovely, hard to pay,a complete delight,can be found around the hotel.Tip to booked Aziz is afayinkeh@yahoo.co.uk .The local restaurants are good,we liked Kunta Kinteh on the beach , Tandoor good, Ali Babbas ok.The beach is beautiful,an afternoon at Kotu point beach bar is recommended,the walk along the beach is an experience in itself,we ended up pulling the fishing nets in en route!Special mention goes to Abdoulie the cleaner at the hotel,what a personality,you cannot help but smile in her presence ,He is a huge asset to The Palm Beach.We would love to return to Palm Beach as we felt it was very special.Gambia is definitely what you are willing to put into it, the local beach boys were befriended by a family we met at the hotel and some of our lasting memories will be the day they shopped at the market and cooked for us on the beach, organizing entertainment, these are the chaps most tourists try their best to avoid,what a revelation,we found all the boys extremely trustworthy and will do our best to stay in contact.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    264
    137
    71
    67
See reviews for
88
368
93
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay there for 3 days last December. The room was very basic but clean. The food was good and the entertainment in the evening was excellent. It's a very good place to relax. When we return to The Gambia we would like to stay there as the price is very reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Muriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Anne's
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The rooms are very basic and dated BUT this is a very poor country. The rooms are cleaned daily. The staff were friendly and always smiling. Breakfast same every day. Take your own cup so you don't have to ask for one everyday. The bumsters are a bit of a nuisance sometime but they are just trying to make a few quid. I took some bits os toys, footballs and football tops for the kids there who are just beautiful. Moses was a great help and m y husband loved the fishing there. We baked the butter fish he caught and it tasted amazing. Would definitely go ageing. Probs feb 2014. They don't call it the smiling coast for nothing!!!!
If your expecting 4 or 5 star and a luxury holiday then go somewhere else.....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kath888_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleetwood
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

the staff love to call this hotel your home from home and they go out of there way to do this, we have just booked again for next feb for 3 weeks, this will be our 5th time at this hotel. hopefully the hotel will have free wi fi next season and that is my only gripe from last time and it was only to keep in touch with the football (sad), the food at curry fever on the beach was exelent and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank petercossey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from two wonderful weeks at this hotel. It was our first visit to Gambia and it was more than we expected. Our room was lovely and cleaned daily by a lovely woman called Ramatoulie. One of the grounds people even brought us some comfy wicker chairs to sit outside our room in the afternoon, We went to Beach bar right opposite the hotel for meals and also had a meal at Senegambia strip and Kunta Kinteh at the beach.This was also a fantastic place to be by the beach during the day. Everybody was really friendly and we didn't feel intimidated at any one time. We booked our trips with AZIZ the birdman cheaper than the tour operators and he do a fantastic job. All in all we can't complain about anything and are very much looking forward to coming back to this hotel and country.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have stopped at several hotels in the Kotu region of Gambia before and we thought we would try the Palm Beach Hotel for a change. We are keen on birdwatching and wildlife and this hotel had it all within the grounds. We had a room down near the sea view and were watching a variety of birds, monkeys and lizards from our room.
We used a guide called AZIZ the bird man who is a member of the Bird Guide Association that can be found by the Bridge at Kotu Creek.But he is mainly found around the hotel. He was excellent and we recommend him and his excellent walks and trips. We saw over 100 species of birds in a few trips and other wildlife as well.
The hotel was quiet and the restaurant served lovely food but did run out of wine at the end of the week! we eat at kunta kinteh,Ali baba at senegambia and jojos. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly and we would return to this hotel in future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulsmith202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I will give an honest straight forward opinion of my stay here.Straight forward easy checkin.paid for a safe box about £28 for two weeks.The room was bad the wardrobe doors were hanging off all the draw handles were hanging off,filthy cups,mirror,tiles etc.The bed was comfortable however the bed bugs that bit my back were not,i sprayed the sheets with insect repellent,job sorted!The shower curtain was held up by a 4"nail the wiring was cobbled together and taped up with insulating tape,the toilet leaked at the base,faulty plug socket on the wall.we asked 3 times for the fan in our room to be fixed after the 2nd time we asked they changed the fan,that didnt work so they changed it the next day that didnt work either so we gave up.I didnt expect much with the price i paid,but simple things like the door handles being fixed,hinges working etc is a simple easy fix,and you get one chance to make a 1st impression

The room and groundstaff were very friendly and happy,however the breakfast staff were very miserable,unhelpfull,didnt lift the lids off when we were trying to get breakfast.They were more bothered about their mobile phones.the breakfast was edible with mouldy bread on one occasion.

The reception staff were very rude and unhelpfull,just couldnt be bothered serious attitude problem,it might be the end of thier season but thats no excuse its thier livliehood!
I tried to bring my guide into the hotel one afternoon to help with some fishing gear,but they would not let him as he didnt have his id card,fair enough yet on a night if you bribed the security and paid the hotel they allowed prostitutes to stay the night with guests!!! i dont have a problem with what goes on its the double standards of the hotel that sickens me.One morning we got up and there was used condoms on the path along with the packet.We told reception about this and they cleared away the condoms but left the packet on the pathway,like i said i dont have a problem with what people get up to its thier private life,but the staff must of seen the condoms on the floor yet just couldnt be bothered to clear them up!

We didnt eat in the hotel,judging by the hotels breakfast standards we didnt try anything else,although seeing what was presented didnt look too clever.
The location of the hotel is great,right by the beach we used the pool a few times which was fine.The hotel isnt too far from the Senagambia strip approx 5mins by taxi and approx 15 mins walk to Kotu which had soome lovely typical African carvings etcYou could change your currency there we got 53 dalassi to the pound as opposed to 43 from Thomas cook.There were plenty of eateries,not enough African ones unfortunatly as they mainly catered for the tourist palet!
The country is lovely with amazing wildlife to see.The people are very friendly and we found it safe to walk anywhere.You get loads of hassle from everyone trying to sell you trips,etc but thats the norm!Everyone is just trying to make a living,i would say keep your whits about you,dont be taken in,everyone is trying to make an easy buck from you.We took our time finding a good guide who you could trust and would say once you have a guide you dont get pestered!

I will definatly be going to Gambia again and i would use the hotel again as a place to sleep and wash etc.you get what you paid for and i dont think £620 each for a fortnight b+b is bad at all.Yeah there is loads of poverty,not as bad as other countrys i have visited,there are good,bad,lazy and people who expect something for nothing everywhere.If you bare that in mind you will have a great holiday.Like i said this is a true honest opinion of my stay at Palm beach and The Gambia.If you want any info about trips or the fishing etc,please dont hesitate to ask.Regards ian

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank weldman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kotu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.3 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Property: Hotel Palm Beach
Address: Serrekunda, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palm Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Kotu
Hotel Palm Beach Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing