We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value”
Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Palm Beach has a great location right on the beach, plenty of sun beds both on the beach and around the pool.
Rooms are a little basic but cleaned regularly and have everything we needed.
Food was ok, breakfast a bit repetitive but plenty of it. Hotel restaurant fairly cheap but still a good standard.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank rach482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

If your looking for a very very very basic hotel with hardly no entertainment here is the place to be. My stay in this hotel was okay not great. Rooms are basic, Plain and old looking when I first got taken to my room I nearly cried (No Joke) the shower was leaking the rooms are very small beds are uncomfortable bathroom was nasty I had to go and buy bleach and scrubbers to clean the whole room!! Tv never worked! The electricity was an absolute Joke! It took forever to turn back on I complained to the receptionist and Told him I needed to shower as when the electric goes the hot water goes aswell he told me I had to wait it will come back on LATER! The receptionist was very rude! He is not gambian has no respect and never took any notice of customers or complaints!! The best thing about this hotel is the Gambian staff shrieff and lamin are two amazing people who made my holiday to the gambia amazing without them I would of cried the whole time! The pancake man was great and also all the waiters and cleaners. Also there is a young boy called micheal you will find him on the beach he takes you out to see the dolphins on his speed boat he spent alot of time with me and my family and also made my holiday a great experience. The breakfast is nice and simple. Its always egg and beans with tomatoes or mushroom and onions toast also they have pancakes that are made fresh which are amazing and a mixture of hot and cold drinks fruit aswell. Pool area is okay looks good but the staff put too much chlorine inside the pools my eye lids were burning for days my nephews legs were all cut from the chlorine and they were screaming. I stayed up one night waiting for the man to pour the chlorine in to check the amount and I was shocked he put a crazy amount I complained to the owner and showed the owner my nephews legs and he clearly saw my eyes I had to stay out of the pool for the whole holiday! Also there is a baby pool for the children which has this centre piece that cuts up all the childrens skin my nephews actually looked like they had been through war when they left the hotel. The bar is nice and food is nice a cheap. The lounge area is the nicest part of the hotel spent alot of time in the lounge as the wifi was only in that one room which was a joke also as you had to pay for not even a day and it would cut out like 15 times a day. Overall I didnt like it would never stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Palm Beach For eleven nights from Feb 10th 2014 to Feb 21st 2014 .
Rooms were very basic and very cold at that time of year especially when you had a 2nd floor apartment .
Location of this hotel was Fantastic - two mins to the beach . Staff were great and very friendly .
Pool area and bar area were spotless. Entertainment most nights with the dreaded bingo .
Having stayed in Gambia previously at the Palm Grove hotel ( now closed ) we knew to book trips with a local guide who saved us loads of money off the price of holiday companies tours.
Eddie tailor made our trips to suit us . His details are ediboy@live.com .
The breakfast at the hotel was unappealing so we always ate out . John Raymonds , Ali baba ,Africa Queen to name a few . .
We would stay at this hotel again because of its location but will also try others as Gambia is such a lovely , welcoming place . The smiling coast . Indeed

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryoneone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Since January 2012 I have been going to Gambia. I always stay a Palm Beach. Why????? Well it is simple. The owners and staff. This trip was my 7th since first going in Jan 2012. Would I stay anywhere else? Absolutely no chance. The staff are welcoming, always cheerful, always willing to help but never intrusive this takes some doing. The rooms are cleaned everyday and I have fresh flowers put on my bed every day by my cleaning lady Fatou who is an absolute diamond. And of course fresh towels. The bar staff work damned hard from early morning to late at night but never complain. The pool guys always greet you with a cheerful smile and a good morning. Are quick to get you settle on your sun bed and make sure that your every need is met. Sheriff is the life and sole of the pool side as is Mohammed and Almany well what be said of Almany apart from he keeps everyone entertained from the morning til night (well hopefully more so next season). Bingo has never been so much fun and the quiz is always good for a giggle. There are improvements every time I go and the owners are updating/renewing and mending all the time. If you have a problem or an issue go to reception they will endeavour to sort it as quickly as possible. Conti you are a true gentleman and one in a million and lastly Bhavin thankyou so much for your truely amazing hotel and inspriational staff you never cease to amaze me with your ability to keep your staff the same each year. See you in December 2014. xxx

Room Tip: Block A - Ability to see and hear everything Block B - Bearly able to hear the music from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our stay at this hotel was really made special by our bird watching experiences with Aziz the resident guide. He is a very personable, genuine, no hassle guide who really knows his stuff. We went out in the Kotu area and then on a 2 day excursion to Temba Lodge. The lodge is very basic but the early morning trip in the mangrove creeks was amazing and we saw some fabulous birds. Aziz made lots of additional stops enroute. His prices were
Very reasonable and there was no awkward haggling.We would thoroughly recommend
him. Sue and Nick

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

You will like this place. The atmosphere is very nice. Entertainment nightly by the pool. Free breakfast. Very inexpensive. The food was really good. I am not the type to spend a lot of money for a hotel, but I felt guilty that they charged so little for what they give you. I even saw the NFL playoff game on their big screen TV in the lobby. The beach is right there. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I went to the Gambia for the very first time for Xmas last year. I had an amazing time. I returned at the end of March this year and although it was quite a different experience second time around overall it was still enjoyable...
I will review the Palm beach hotel properly in another review but this one is to give a special 'Shout out' to Kelly,who was my tour rep on the second holiday.
I first met Kelly when I travelled to The Gambia over the Christmas period 2013. Although, she was not my Rep, as I was travelling via another holiday company, I met her in a social setting through friends, at the Palm Beach Hotel, where I was staying.
Immediately, I was struck my her friendly nature; her openness and the warmth of her personality. Not to mention, her great sense of humour. Throughout that holiday I saw the way she dealt with her Olympic customers and was impressed with her easy manner; her down to earth and gentle approach and her willingness to help. It seemed she was able to communicate effortlessly with people of all ages and cultures and from all walks of Life. The perfect attributes for a Tour Rep to possess.
Fast forward three months later, due to having a fantastic holiday the first time round I decided to venture back to The Gambia, again staying at Palm Beach. This time, I chose to travel with Olympic Holidays. Although, it was coming to the end of her season in The Gambia, Kelly was there to greet us all off the plane and it was lovely to see her familiar face again. Once again, I observed Kelly's skills at dealing with the customers with a relaxed but always professional style.
Kelly is reliable, punctual, and above all honest. Her healthy and empathic appreciation of the Gambian local people is inspiring. Plus she's fun to be around.
However, it was when a personal difficulty arose while I was on holiday, that Kelly's special qualities became apparent. This is when I realised she is a woman of integrity; compassionate and trustworthy. She far surpassed my expectations of a holiday Rep.
Kelly is an asset to the Olympic Holidays team and a credit to her profession.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Olympic Holidays as a tour company and the Palm Beach Hotel as a place to stay.
Enjoy your holiday in Gambia. It can be challenging but always rewarding and forever beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lozza65London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.3 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Serekunda
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
368 reviews
0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
1.6 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Address: Serrekunda, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range: £29 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palm Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Kotu
Hotel Palm Beach Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing