We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and great staff”
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I have just come back from Sunset Beach and I have to say it is by far the best hotel in the area, we had a walk around a few of the others nearby, Kombo beach and Bungalow Beach and Sunset is definitely the best. The staff couldn't do enough for you, especially Paul and Celia around the pool/bar area. There was a bit of a mix up when we arrived as there were no rooms but that wasn't their fault, they tried their hardest at reception to get us a room which they did finally 2 days later ...(travel republic's fault will not be using them again)... we got an upgrade to a seaview appartment and free aircon, not that that was needed as it was pretty cool in an evening which was lovely. A few tips for you, never say it is your first time in gambia as you will get hassled a lot, a few people on here have said if you firmly say no they will leave you alone, this is NOT true, whereever you go you get hassled to buy fruit or nuts or a bird guide or taxis, you are better off saying you have friends that live in Gambia that sort all your needs out. If you go to the monkey park you are told you will need a guide if you want to see any monkeys, this is also not true, there are plenty of monkeys to see and its a lovely 2 hour walk around the park. It is an eye opener. we met Lamin Manika at the hotel who did a lot for us so we went to his house to meet his family and neighbours and that is a true eye opener, we took sweets for the children, bought books pens etc and a large bag of rice which will feed the whole family for over a month. Overall an enjoyable holiday in beatiful settings but all of the hassle did take the edge off it for me. Visisted 28th Jan -8th Feb 2012.

Room Tip: rooms 211 to 218 give great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel in November last year for a week. Got to be honest we were pleasantly surprised by it.

The rooms were clean and bright and airy, yes they are a little bit dated in parts but I'd take that any day over something fancy and dirty.

The staff couldn't do enough for you and desperately wanted you to have a great time to go home and tell all your friends to come.

Breakfast was good, lovely omelettes and plenty of choice.

We didn't eat on an evening as we were just B&B but the drinks in the hotel were reasonably priced and some good restaurants near by.

Fresh fruit ladies on the beach do a great job.

Lovely hotel, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: The bungalows are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 17th - 24 January 2012. We stayed in one of the bungalows in the lovely well kept gardens. I wasn't expecting too much, as it is a poor country, but I was very surprised. The rooms were clean and well kept, the showers worked fine, not as good as at home, but much better than I had expected. Breakfast was great, with loads of juice, fruit, toast etc, not too mention the freshly cooked pancakes and omelettes, what a lovely setting too, with breakfast tables overlooking the stream. Very friendly hotel, not as big or busy at the Kombo Beach next door, but much more our style. We had an excellent stay at the Sunset Beach and would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful place to chill out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HEATHER030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

A great trip...our bungalow right on the white sandy beach. It was November and the weather was wonderful. Lovely hotel with great food and a friendly staff. Buy some fruit from the fruit sellers on the beach..its cheap and lovely. Eating and drinking away from the hotel is good value and interesting. The locals are very nice, and speak English. Anything you want they can find. Have a shirt made to measure in a day for about £5. Try the trip to the local school, it is an eye opener. Take some crayons and some sweets. The people are poor, but happy to see visitors and if you buy from them barter a little. The food at the hotel was great,and there was entertainment most nights. The hotels gardens were kept lovely. A really lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We had a bungalow by the beach, but there are apartments near the pool and vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mitchell213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Sunset Beach Hotel is a cosy clean quiet place, with nice garden, friendly staff, in a good location. You can choose where to swimm-in a pool or in an ocean. On the beach you can have very comfortable sunbeds, fruits and juice sellers will suggest tasty drinks, you can ride horses and feel like in a heaven:)
If you want to travel I highly recommend OUSMAN - FERRYMAN! He is absolutely trusty and is like a google: can answer in all your questions:) We traveled with him to Kunta Kinte, Lamin Lodge and everywhere around. It is interesting to go to the crocodile pool, to monkey park, to Serekunda, to find new places for a dinner.

Room Tip: I'd prefer E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaivaBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

this trip was amazing the people there are awfuly kind they some times can be a little bit in your face but mean well.The staff was exellent they were kind hepfull and very attentive. The gardens are beatifull and the maids put some of the flowers of the bushes on the beds. Next to the small market which is very usefull there is a massage place were you can have a massage a henna tatoo braids have your nails done and all things like that. The swimming pool was cold but when you get used to it its lovely. The food was tasty for breakfast there was a buffet were you could have crepe cerial porridge fruit bacon CHICKEN SAUSEGES YUM beans and more.

Room Tip: go to either co8 do8 pr 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We went 27 November for 14 days, our 4th visit to Gambia, staying at Sunset Beach every time. Have booked to go again in February. The hotel might not be the most luxurious. Furniture in the rooms are dated but the cleaners are in every day and bed linen changed every two days. We use the rooms only to sleep and shower in.
Staff are fantastic, and remember us from previous visits.
Breakfasts are good, and there is only a 50 yard stroll from the breakfast terrace to the beach, where we are well looked after by the beach attendant, Bacary.
We normally go out every night to bars and restaurants in Senegambia by taxi, but have stayed occasionally to eat in the Sunset Beach restaurant. BBQ night is my favourite.
Have learned to deal with the bumsters by now, and it gets easier every time we visit. Lunch is a bowl of fruit provided by Aisha, and juice from Omar Sharif, no hassles from other providers because we "belong" to them after using them once.
This is heaven on earth for us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sellonfudr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Serekunda
1,317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Serekunda
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
789 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Kololi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Address: Kotu Stream Road, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range: £45 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Hotel is set in the heart of the Gambia’s tourism district and positioned along the sandy beach of Kotu! The entire team strives to ensure superior customer satisfaction to all of our clients surrounded by everything from classic three-star elegance to modern-chic comfort. We have 97 rooms in total (81 standard and 16 apartments) that are set within our beautiful gardens. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, fitted with cable TV, mini fridges, telephones and laptop size safes. Take a walk down our very own sunset boulevard, where a variety of tropical plants and flowers will lead you past the rooms and on to our newly renovated and spacious sunset restaurant and lounge overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with breathtaking sunsets. Sipping on a cocktail tiptoeing in tanning pool or hanging over the infinity pool daydreaming away, this is More Than You Bargained for! NOTE: From 1st of November 2017 to the 30th of April 2018, Sunset Beach Hotel is Fully All Inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Kotu
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing