We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB SETTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth uk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“SUPERB SETTING”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday to The Gambia, staying at The Sunset Beach, in Kotu. [12th April ]

We had superb journey with Thomas cook, everything was on time, the hotel was superb, our room [313] had great view across the pool and onto the beach and sea.
The room was cleaned every day, the food in the restaurant was good, this was our fourth holiday in Gambia, so this holiday, we just lay by the pool, doing nothing at all.

We went B & B, and the breakfast was great, we had eggs cooked exactly as we wanted, lots of fresh fruit, as much toast, and cereal as we wanted.
We had porridge everyday, which tho' a bit watery, still tasted good.

From the breakfast terrace, we watched Kingfishers,Herons, huge vultures, Kites and Crows.
No need to go further away to see the natural wildlife.

We had a small corner at the back of the hotel, where we spent our days, as soon as we lay down, we were supplied with mattresses and parasol, all free of charge.

One downside,{ which I accept, is probably just us ], we didn't like the music played during the day.
We like to read and listen to our own music on our ipods, and of course listen and watch the birds, not something you can do when their birdsong is drowned out by loud music.

Right outside is Kotu creek, which filled up regularly with the tide, it was great sport to watch the boat men ferrying people across, which on occasions, was quite rough tides.
We made friends with Essa, one of the fruit sellers, who brought the fresh fruit to us.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, one coming to us to ask for aspirin, we liked them all

We ate in Sailors twice and had excellent meals, the other times, we just ate in the restaurant.

The wifi connection was very slow witted, and we did go next door to Kombo to use their internet connection, in order to check emails etc.

I found it impossible to send any pictures using Sunset's internet. [ no big deal ].

I would thoroughly reccomend Sunset, and indeed, we are planning a return next year

Room Tip: try to get room on the second floor 310 - 315 and have a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    122
    64
    10
    6
See reviews for
49
159
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley Uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here for two weeks recently, and really enjoyed the hotel. We stayed in one of the bungalow rooms C10, the room was fairly large, it was not luxurious but it was clean and more than adequate for us, the shower room was ok, looking a bit tired but again no problem. The windows have mossie screens so you can leave the windows open to keep the room cool at night, it does have aircon but you have to pay for it.
Breakfast was good with eggs cooked to order and all the usual buffet breakfast items available, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food is ok, we mostly ate outside the hotel and found that most places we used were cheaper and of higher quality, but it was still a decent place to eat.
There was nightly entertainment, and activities through the day if you wanted to participate, and the hotel is right on the beach for a lazy walk.
Please use the Fruit ladies and Juice boys on the beach if you go, they may bombard you at first but they are only trying to make a living and the fruit was superb.
All in all a very nice hotel with lovely gardens and a great location, we enjoyed it and would use again if we went back to the gambia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lostandfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livestronger
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We found Sunset Beach to be a great base to chill out and relax in Kotu.As previous comments suggest, the staff honestly cannot do enough for you. Stayed B&B the breakfast is delightful and plenty of toast, coffee & fruit in abundance with fresh pancakes & omelettes cooked to order. From your room you can just about fall out of bed onto the beach or to the bar which ever you fancy!
The grounds of the hotel were well looked after by a team of gardeners. Our room was good, nicely cleaned every day with towels replaced every other

Eat at several restaurants in Kotu, all were pretty decent with Captains Table and Tandoor Indian being the best. The local lager Julbrew or Julbrew export is around £1 a bottle and worth every penny, Export in particular is much better than most UK lager!

The Gambian people in general are very pleasant and warming, as far as hassle is concerned I can honestly say I've had far more in places like Egypt, Goa, Kerala than we ever experienced here. Everyone wants to strike up a friendly conversation with you with the intention of selling something or being your guide, but a respectful no thank you will suffice and good day sir usually follows. I did read someone saying that the Kotu/Kololi area is how Goa used to be several years ago and having experienced both places I see many similarities and judge this to be a fair reflection.

Some may see the Hotel as a little tired in places but you have to remember that this is Africa and this hotel lives up to it's 3 star rating.If your after a chilled out, excellent value holiday in a friendly location this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livestronger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

This was my husband and I's first trip to Gambia and to Sunset Beach Hotel and went with mixed emotions and came back wanting to go back again. The hotel is in a fabulous location on the beach, next to the river and to sit and eat breakfast enjoying this view is very special. The rooms were adequate and the beautiful gardens were spectacular . What made it so special were the staff, who all went out of their way to make sure you were having a good holiday , from Ida our wonderful cleaner who left flowers and petals on the bed each day, to Harrison and all the gardeners, Toni and all reception staff who were fantastic and all the waiters and porters and staff on the beach. The beach was fabulous and recommend juice from Santa Claus(top man) and Ned. Best beach bars were Dominoes and Sailor( turn right) , Kunte Kinte was good too (left) . Bought some beautiful baskets on the beach from Mohammed the basket man and really enjoyed watching the boys from the nearby stables riding their beautiful horses on the beach. The sea s a little dangerous at times so be careful and heed the colour of the flags - blue is good, red is not. Busters were not a problem and I was genuinely knocked out at how friendly the Gambians were. Restaurant wise, in Kotu we loved Captains Table and the Indian Restaurant, Ali Babas was not bad either. Most nights we took a shrt taxi ride into Senegambia where there are lots of restaurants and heaps of atmosphere. In particular would recommend African Queen for African food and atmosphere, Green Mamba in lovely gardens, Scala for beautiful Italian food and lovely boss lady, Jojos for fab steak and Paradiso for top pizzas. Was never bitten by anything or ill throughout holiday but though the days are very hot and sunny, the evenings are very breezy and cool/cold and always take a cardigan or wrap out with you as I promise you will wear it. Minor issues - I think trips are quite dear for what they are and the basic hotel rooms are not provided with a kettle but apart from that we had the best holiday, mainly due to the staff at hotel and people of Gambia

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fish8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was our 6th visit to the Gambia and every time we have stayed at Sunset Beach. From the minute you step into Reception it is like being amongst friends, Anthony, Musa, and Binta remembered us from previous trips, Arisa the gardener put fresh flowers outside our room every few days, the room was very clean and tidy and the beds and towels were changed regularly. The restaurant/bar staff were very attentive and welcoming (Sulayman, Paul, Lamin and Cecilia). If you want to go on a trip check out Ousman "Ferryman" on the beach just outside the hotel, his knowledge is amazing and he will devise a trip especially for you and he is cheaper than the tour operators. We had fresh fruit and juice almost every day from the guys on the beach, it is best to use the same ones every time and Aladin (Juice Seller) and Isha (Fruit seller)were the ones we used and they knew what juice and fruit we both liked without having to ask!!! The restaurants around the hotel are good and vary in price (Boss Lady, Captains Table), It is also worth a short taxi ride to the Clay Oven in Fajara for one of the best indian meals ever. Everyone at Sunset Beach is really friendly and helpful. We are going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letchworth herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just got back from 10 days at sunset,and after reading the reviews,have got to agree with them.this is a great LITTLE hotel.I say little as we walked round other hotels and for my liking they were too big.Everything from the bungalow rooms to the lovely gardens(hats off to harrison,one of the gardeners,great bloke)right on the beech.having breakfast with a view to die for.All the staff really seemed to give that little bit extra to make our stay 1st class.This was our first time,and was a bit concerned about a few things ,one being the mozzies,(they have always loved me the past)but if you take the essential precautions,(jabs cream ect ect)it was no problem,but this was in march.They say its very different in the rainy season.the other thing was the bummsters,now its true as soon as you walk out of the hotel they try there luck,but after a few days i learned,that if you have a joke with them and just say NO,they leave you alone.in fact i looked forward to seeing them every night just to see how i could wind them up.they really have got a great sense of humour.As far as the trips go .all i can say is haggel.if you bear in mind that the average wage £50 to £70 a month(found out the police get £60 a month ,but get more with the corruption)on our first trip i paid 4000 dalasis which included the monkey park (this was at 9 o'clock,which was a waist of time as we saw 3 high up in the trees,so don't go before 11 as there all out in the towns getting brekee)boat trip down the mangroves, and a road trip through villagers and a school.now don't get me wrong i don't begrudge them a fair days pay but a months pay for half a day seemed to much.One more thing which i haven't seen on TA ,is the tide,be careful it is very strong.in our 10 days there we witnessed 3 incidents 2 of witch had fatalities.we left note on the questionnaire at the airport that the government should have some sort of lifeboat in place.Ive said a few times that i will go back to previous holidays but never have.But the Gambia has changed that ,i will definitely be back next year.in fact im looking to see if i can get away in december.and to the best hotel in kotu.

Room Tip: cant really say i was in c3 which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soulboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned after spending 2 weeks at Sunset what a great hotel.Having stayed in Kololi previosly (Senegambia and HBC) this hotel was absolutely wonderful.
We had a bungalow room which was more than adequate for our stay, our cleaner Ellen was lovely, towels and sheets are changed regularly. Our beds were nice and comfy and we had no problems sleeping , although this may have been helped with the Julbrew
There are plenty of sunbeds both on the beach and around the pool, we preferred the beach and Jam the beach boy really looked after us.
All the staff at the hotel are all really good people from reception TONY to bar,waiters and catering staff, all are really friendly taking time to get to know you.
We had our own juice man on the beach his name was NED, we gave him a hat(a safari type hat) and an old pair of trainers when we left and he was over the moon with these. It is best to give your custom to 1 juice man and 1 fruit lady while there, if you are happy with their service.
Food in the hotel was good, breakfast had plenty of choice ie cereals, fruit, eggs etc. the bread was always lovely and fresh.Meals were about the same price as outside the hotel.
We also saw some good entertainment at the hotel, the fashion show on Sat night was absolutely brill, James the entertainment guy was great at hosting he was a good laugh.
Eating out, you must try JD's sports bar and restaurant turn right out of the hotel,it is next to Badala Park, the food was lovely and they had a really good band on a Thursday. Ali Baba's in the craft market is really nice too. Boss lady is not too good my husband was dissappointed with the meal and service, Captain's table was nice although a bit expensive.
You must have a massage while there they are really good.
Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
742 reviews
1.7 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kotu
411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Property: Sunset Beach Hotel
Address: Kotu Stream Road, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to The Sunset Beach Hotel! Situated right on the beachfront, guests can take in the colorful sunrises and experience breathtaking sunsets over the ocean during their stay with us. Both management & staff are keen to ensure superior customer satisfaction to all of our clients and offer everything from classic three-star elegance to modern-chic comfort. The Sunset Beach Hotel - More Than You Bargained For! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Kotu
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing