We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont forget your in africa”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kombo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kombo Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
cheshunt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dont forget your in africa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have just got back from a 2 week holiday in the kombo beach .We paid for dine around but we stayed in the hotel every night as the food was good,entertainment good only one problem the beds where dirty soiled,thats the only problem I had.The beach was good .Yes the rooms are basic but your in africa .Paid to go into the lounge upstairs in the airport much better had a couple of drinks that cost £15 each .

Room Tip: Go for a premium room dont go cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    470
    139
    37
    21
See reviews for
155
542
55
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was our first time in The Gambia and we had a great time at Kombo Beach. The room was very basic and the shower flooded the bathroom. With no ventilation in there it smelt very damp but was manageable. From talking to other people I think we just got a bad room as didn’t hear any other major problems. It’s clean and comfortable which was just fine. If you want all the mod cons then you are in the wrong place.
We went bed and breakfast which I would recommend. The main evening restaurant ‘Kudula’ where people who are full board dine is a self service buffet which is pretty average and a bit too boring in its food selection. One night was even billed as ‘English Buffet’ which is not why we came abroad! With a handful of excellent restaurants (Captain’s Table, Boss Lady’s and Ali Baba’s) spitting distance from the hotel entrance dining out is certainly the way forward. The food was excellent with some great Gambian food at a fraction of the price in the hotel. Lots more excellent restaurants accessible on the Senegambia strip which is a short taxi journey (400 DS return) or a walk along the beach. Breakfast at the hotel is standard buffet fare with a good selection and the snack bar/restaurant is also good and reasonably priced for a hotel.
Entertainment facilities are good with a variety of activities in both the day and night. Whilst the pool is pretty small the sea is very big and is only a stone’s throw away. Although daily aqua aerobics adds a wave machine functionality to the pool! The brochure states that Kombo beach is a lively hotel but its more Saga than 18-30.
Locals and hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Bumsters were a problem initially but once you have got into the swing of being polite but firm and saying no they leave you alone. The main problem with the hotel (and sadly by the looks of things lots of the resorts) is the fellow holiday makers. Many people return here year after year and some appear to think this makes them some kind of royalty or local celebrities. Others are just rude idiots. Luckily they don’t have much imagination and don’t stray far from the complex so if you go out and about and off the beaten track you can leave them ruling their kingdom and enjoy the peace and beauty of The Gambia. Strongly recommend a trip across on the Banjul-Barra ferry and into Senegal as its quite an experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macgyver107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a pretty standard resort hotel, right on the beach on the Gambia's less busy strip of Kotu. It suited me very well because I was working in Banjul for a week and the room I had was nice and quiet, away from the swimming-pool area. The pool isn't great and it only opened at 8am - I wanted to swim before I went to work - but the breakfast was substantial and the other facilities were OK, though the bed didn't have a sprung mattress and I ended up sleeping on the sofa because it was more comfortable. The rooms were perfectly accetable and clean, and the bathroom had obviously been recently re-fitted.The staff were charming and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RideYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Decided the best way to do this was in a list.
JOURNEY : Flew with Monarch. Having read some previous reviews of other airlines, I`m glad we did. Food was good and crew attentive. Just the usual torture of travelling with my knees under my chin. Banjul airport efficient with the usual scramble of porters grabbing your cases. Actually witnessed some very rude behaviour from other Brits in shooing these chaps away. Please think !!!! What does it acually cost you to let these guys take your case to the bus for you ? 50 pence in sterling ? A quid ? Means nothing to you but a hell of a lot to them. Get over yourselves.
AREA : The area around the hotel is good with a few interesting places to eat. We loved Mama Boss which is bang opposite the hotel. You can sit and watch the world go by while you eat great Gambian food. Don`t be snooty about the dogs. They are the same pack that frequent the beach and are friendly and healthy. A British charity pays for the local cats and dogs to be neutered and wormed, proof of this is a small nick and tattoo in the ear. The dogs ears that is. They love a cuddle, please do not feed them, the hotel staff see to this.
ROOMS: Not what we were expecting or hoping for. Very basic, bed uncomfortable and mattress horribly stained. I understand some rooms are being refurbished , Should think so too. We don`t watch T.V. on holiday, but if it`s important to you don`t expect a giant flat screen, they are small old-fashioned portables. We had a superior room with a good view and nice balcony, there was a huge problem ( for me anyway ) but it was no-ones fault. The first morning I found what I thought was a dying cockroach on the floor. Given that to my certain knowledge, no British charity has neutered and de-wormed them I felt justified in screaming a little. The next night, a strange `clicking ` noise as soon as we put the lights out, and sure enough, another one. The problem seems to be, you cannot fully shut the balcony door when outside, there is no handle. So this was a major, major, deal-breaker for us as we love to sit on our balcony every evening after dinner, have a few drinks and marvel at the African sky whilst reflecting on the day`s events. We just didn`t fancy it for fear of sharing our room with more of the critters. On our last night, we braved it, and the next morning, I found one in our bed. I like to think it was on the floor and crawled up the sheets when we got up. I must emphasis that our room was kept spotlessly clean, as is the rest of the hotel. I have since been told that they were not cockcroaches, but harmless black crickets . I don`t care, they look like cockcroaches, they`re horrible and I can`t forget the sight of one running around my bed. This is no reflection at all on the hotel. The Gambia is famous for it`s bird life so there must be insects, I know that. I don`t fly about so I expect them to stay out of my room.
BEACH : Gorgeous . There is beach service, you just have to lift a weary hand for someone to come and get your order. The beach sellers are a pain in the backside, all that stuff about a polite `NO ` will get rid of them is rubbish. We made the mistake of odering a juice from one of the juice men and some fruit from one of the fruit ladies. HUGE ERROR !!!!! They were relentless, we couldn`t have a chat, read or relax as they were on at us all the time. It`s amzing how many people were born in the Roots village and still have family there, and of course, they would be only too willing to take you there and have a meal with their family. I heard some real horror stories about these trips. They take you a long way from the hotel, and you`re very vunerable, be careful. Don`t let any of that put you off, it`s a great beach with plenty of life going on, just try and keep a low profile.
STAFF : Lovely. A couple of the chaps try all the old chat about how you light up the breakfast room, you`re their favourite guest, etc. Sorry ladies, if you fall for that you`re mad. A lot of Gambian men will try it on and we saw some very sad individuals who fell for it. Keep your hand on your halfpenny girls and just laugh it off. Most of the staff are cheerful and very helpful, and I can quite understand why some people treat this hotel as a home from home. You just feel so looked after. The hotel`s biggest assest.
TRIPS : We only went on one as hubby was ill for a few days, ? cause. We went on the nature reserve trip which takes you across the river Gambia on a ferry to Senegal. You then have the option to ` walk with the lions ` for an extra 20 quid. The ferry is freezing !!!! It`s still dark when you board the ferry and you don`t stay in the coach so take a thick wooly and wear trousers. You`ll need lots of small money for tipping and possibly a massive bladder if you don`t fancy the loos at the Senegal dock. They are beyound revolting. Take plenty of wet wipes and alcohol hand rub with you. This trip is very expensive, and most people in our party thought it was daylight robbery. However, the walk with the two lion cubs was the stuff of dreams so I don`t care.
POOL AREA : Smallish, but again, very good pool service. No loud, over the top animation team, they entertained poeple without being all shouty. Loved them for that. Afternoon tea is served every day, lovely smoothies available to order and a great little bar.
FOOD : What you`d expect.
ENTERTAINMENT : Ah bless.
All in all, I can see why people return year after year. It`s not really for us as the rooms totally let the hotel down, but there aren`t really any major problems .

Room Tip: Get the best room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sushanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We have been coming to this hotel now on and off for the past twenty years!
The hotel really has not changed much in all that time!
The good thing about this hotel is it's great position right on Kotu beach.
This year we thought the staff did'nt seem quite as happy as in previous years, perhaps the Gambian ecconomy may have something to do with it!
The rooms are now getting a bit tired and could with a spruce up. Having said that our room was always kept spotless my our maid Rose, she put flowers on the bed every day, which we thought was a nice touch!
Would we come again? Of course we would!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the first block may be noisy from the entrtainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank das137ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. The beach is lovely and nature is great. The hotel itself is good, but some services could be better. From time to time electricity cuts occur. The water is - most of the time - not hot.
Dinner is very good and comes as a buffet. Breakfast is rather limited, especially the continental part of it.
Staf is extremely helpful and friendly. This is less the case at breakfast, maybe because they don't get that many tips ?

Room Tip: Rather book a suite, as they are a lot bigger and right near the sea. Start tipping the first day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

All in all, the Kombo Beach was of a very good standard and value-for-money.

The general facilities in the hotel - bars, pool area, sun loungers, cafe areas, etc. - were all of a very good standard. The food and drinks were reasonably priced and the staff were friendly and helpful (some were particularly nice and friendly; others - more so in establishments outside the hotel - were a bit on the sullen side).

The cleanliness was very good - the communal areas and the bedrooms. The room we were in was basic but clean. It had what you'd expect, but the decor was basic which perhaps made the room seem more downmarket, but that was just appearance - it was good really. Apparently there is some sprucing up going on anyway.

Restaurants - I wouldn't rave about the "Brasserie" in the hotel - it was good food but there are nicer places outside the hotel, at better value too. Had nice local food at Boss Lady over the road - there wasn't much choice on the menu but it was tasty and cheap. A lot of people seem to like the Captain's Table but we weren't fussed - there was nothing "wrong" with the food but the prices were higher than elsewhere, the portions were smaller and the meat a bit dry. Had a very nice steak at the place just down the beach that used to be a night club - big white building - and it was very cheap. Also at Sailor's further down, had very nice fish, very cheap.

Best meals we had were a taxi ride away - Al-Rouche lebanese at the Senegambia strip where we had a very warm welcome and delicious food very reasonably priced; and also the Clay Oven indian restaurant, which was well worth the cab ride (for a few quid we had the journey and the cabbie waited outside to take us back).

Warning - the breakfast at the hotel gets very busy between 9 and 10 - the usual long queues for pancakes, eggs, etc etc.

The hassle from the locals was a bit annoying but you just block it out after a while.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srkcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kombo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kombo Beach Hotel

Property: Kombo Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 694, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kombo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beautiful wide sandy beach of Kotu is Kombo Beach Hotel, a popular and lively hotel with a desirable range of facilities, excellent cuisine, entertainment and true Gambian hospitality. Offering 5 different room types: standard, superior, premium, studio and suites, all with excellent amenities which makes this hotel also the perfect choice for the business traveler. During 2011 and 2012 the standard & premium rooms, studios and suites were refurbished. With a choice of facilities like pool with separate children's pool, gym, internet cafe, mini market, massage & beauty saloon, laundry service, daytime and evening entertainment, clinic, lush tropical gardens, beach front setting and friendly staff this is an ideal hotel for either a relaxing or an active holiday. On site there are 3 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kombo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kombo Beach
Kombo Beach Banjul
Kombo Beach Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing