We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kombo beach Hotel kotu The Gambia”
Review of Kombo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kombo Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

stayed at this hotel for Easter, have been to The Gambia over 40 times since 1991 but never stayed in this hotel. We chose this hotel as it was late deal , would recommend travelling with The Gambia Experience as we have been travelling with them on and off for over 20 years and cannot fault there service. The rep for them at the hotel was most helpful and very friendly.
We travelled with two children under 12.
Would recommend a suite as they are more spacious even if only two of you are travelling , would also recommend a top floor as we had beautiful sea views.
Cannot fault cleanliness of room as it was kept spotless, first night I was really cold in bed, which I mentioned to the room guy next day after he asked how our first night was and when I got back from beach an extra blanket had been put out for me.
Grounds were kept lovely
Pool area did get rather busy and I felt like everyone was on top of each other round pool area, and you had to get up early to get those towels down otherwise you wouldn't get a spot but that can be said for many hotels and it was Easter so maybe hotel was busier.
Nice children's pool
Breakfast was ok, but bit disappointing would have liked more variety of fresh fruit, as everyday seemed the same, tinned pineapple which I thought wasn't good considering you could buy fresh pineapple in the markets , tinned mixed fruit and tinned peaches. The only fresh fruit we ever saw in the time we were there was melon, banana for breakfast. Not a big variety of cereals if that's your thing, I noticed a lot of the elderly people took there own to breakfast , most were repeat visitors. Bacon every other day couple of days we went to breakfast half an hour before breakfast finished and i noticed things were not refilled and if you asked you were told it had finished and there was no more so don't get there too late.All in was ok but could have been so much better. We never ate dinner at the hotel as we like to venture out , as there are some great places to eat in gambia and are extremely reasonably priced, but the buffets looked nice.
Couldnt fault the Staff as they were happy and friendly and always willing to help .

Great beach views from the hotel
All I can say finally is the only things i can fault is breakfast, just needs more variety other than that was a nice hotel for its rating
Hotel in a great spot , but would not stay there again, would probably stay at kairaiba.

Room Tip: Book a suite it's worth the extra for the space and views block two top floor as great views. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

I love this country, my husband however didn't like the poverty side of it. We went out with a local taxi driver (named postman), would recommend using him, his mini bus is of a far better standard than the green taxi we used. While out we went to a local school, donation will be hinted at, and Serrekunda market... now that's an experience... if you did want to buy anything there (we didn't) take small change as well as notes.
I wanted to go on the trip to Senegal but Thomas cook wouldn't take us because of the unrest there, you can go with a local driver, a few of the bar men know someone who will take you.
The beach can be very dangerous..a few people died while we were there.. the undercurrent knocks you off your feet even in 2 foot of water!!
There are people called bumsters, they will hassle you if you give them any hint you are interested in their wares, stories basically anything, a firm no thank you and keep walking does the trick, they will try absolutely anything to get you to go to their compound.(we've been told they had just married, he was a guy from the security team in hotel, its all to make you feel comfortable so you will go with them) Once there you will be blessed with some water!! and then told how they live and the orphans they look after then taken to a shop to buy a bag of rice... about £40.00!!
But they are not all like that, everyone who works at the hotel are lovely, and if you tips them you get 5* service! 100 dalasi folded passed by a hand shake was appreciated, think they have to share the tips so if you have a favourite just tip them.
About the area, as you go on to the beach, look right and about 5 min walk there's a restaurant called Destiny, beautiful food, wonderful services and immaculate. When you leave the hotel by the main exit, there are 2 shops, to your left, we always used the one opposite, mainly because it always seemed to have lighting and the lady there was so helpful. Opposite the shop is where you can exchange you money, 44 dalasi in England, we got 52 but got 53 from a local guy, and there is a gated area by the side with 2 eating places, an Indian (lovely) and Ali Baba's, once again brilliant food, you eat outside but weren't pestered.
There are a couple of other eating places but were never tried these.
If you like Indian food, try the Clay Oven, fantastic in every way, you have to get a taxi there, its 400-700 return and the driver waits for you.
There's a hotel next to the shop called Bakau (think that right) have a wander through their grounds, they have a massive tortoise, monkey's all of which are wild, so care must be taken, and a platform to see some spectacular birds.
We go a sim card from the local shop to call home, cheaper than using the hotel, also there's free wifi but you need the code from the bar staff.
Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Excellent week in the sun, very relaxing as planned ,
we have been to Gambia previously and found the Kombo the best so far lovely staff all round who liked to help at all times,
I contacted the hotel before arriving and asked for a quite-ish area top floor with good sea views and that is exactly what we got in room 466 unhindered veiws right down the beach over the little river/outlet into the sea and about 10m from the beach with beautiful sunsets every evening from our balcony on both sides the complete length of living /bedroom area and not overlooked by anyone at all we did not draw the curtains the whole stay and slept with the balcony doors open to listen to the sea/waves throughout the night,
Hotel and grounds were kept very clean and tidy and our room boy was excellent (Baks...???spelling), We were only on B&B and must say the choice was just the best weve had in Gambia by far, regular low key entertainment at night , 2-1 cocktail deals were excellent from Victor in the LIV bar each evening,

NOTE; We used a recomended Taxi driver called "RATTI" (see pics) who was very honest and trustworthy with us and a few others we pointed in his direction ( he is the only trusted driver from outside the hotel that is allowed into the hotel to be used by holidaymakers which is very rare indeed) he will help you with money change always getting us a good rate and has a great knowledge of the area and anything going on locally you may be interested in, we also used him for our aiport transfer / trips to Senegambia strip / visits to recently visited hotel areas and he was always on time with a big smile (contact Ratti on 00220 7728895 or look out for him in around the LIV bar early evening time if your looking for a genuine trustworthy Driver whilst here),

All in all a great experience at Kombo and would definitely return again, many excellent walks along the beach in both directions sometimes helping the local fishermen drag their nets in and frequenting the many bars for beers and snacks especially the garlic king prawns (see pics) at Jaffrehs / John Raymonds (ask for "Doh" the waiter he can walk you back to hotel showing you some interesting sites along the way?),

we also used "the weatherman" for fresh squezed fruit juices, and the fruit lady "Kombeh" (see pics) for fresh fruit platters on the beach which were delicious she is a lovely lady happy to just have a chat and a laugh and not pushy like some i seen,

We used the restaurants outside the hotel locally and would say enjoyed Ninki Nankas the best closely followed by the Indian in the craft market area Sailors (see pics) and Dominoes which had excellent entertainment /beach parties etc , we tried the Captains table once and were not impressed at all,


Do not miss the cookery lessons done by a young girl whos name i cannot recall (see pics) and all cooked on a cars wheel rim ????....you can also help her out cooking and buy/try the cooked food for about £3 a helping which was delicious,

Ask Ratti to drive you down to "the strip" for drinks/meal he will let you know where to go for the best meal in town (and wait to take you back).

No complaints at all just remember where you are?

well done Kombo we will see you again,

Room Tip: 466 for quiteness and relaxation also the uninterupted beach sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jevr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in January, been to Gambia several times but first time staying at this hotel. Room was lovely, fridge, TV and air con included in the price and the view over the ocean was lovely. Great choice of food at breakfast, morning staff a bit miserable but everyone very friendly. As a single female staying here felt very safe with security staff in the grounds anytime of day and night. Great cleaner brought me a fresh flower every day and my room was spotless. The hotel is directly on the beach so if you dont want to face the hassle on the road outside the hotel you can chill out on the beach, where the staff keep the bumsters away from the sun loungers, so you eat there (slightly pricey) in peace and totally relax. Didnt spend many evenings in the hotel but noticed there was always a good choice of varied entertainment offered and a cinema evening. Only downside..internet facility highly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WishfulThinkinAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great hotel right on the beach. Genuine friendly staff, fantastic. Food good, hotel facilities good, weather great. Had standard room with aircon - basic but had tv for late evening, bath with shower over. Ate off site most evenings just because there are good places just a sort taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karyanne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very relaxing week staff are always happy to help with a smile, rooms are clean little bit dated and could do with a lick of paint and a general spruce up breakfast was a good done a few trips with the only taxi driver allowed in the complex (RATTY) He has fair prices and a car for trips in the evening and a 4x4 for safari, if you need to change money do it outside the hotel you get a better rate all in all a good cheap relaxing holiday

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Kombo Beach Hotel. This year we decided to upgrade to a premium room but on refelection preferred the superior room that we had last year.
This is a friendly hotel, it does need some refurbishing but it is clean and the staff are very helpful. We went half board last year and bed and breakfast only this year. We made the right decision as there are many good places nearby to go for dinner. Breakfast is a bit of an experience as if you need plenty of coffee you need to catch the waiter - this is such a shame as there are plenty of pots but you have to be served instead of helping yourself.
Do check out the chef who makes the omlettes, you can also have scrambled, fried, poached and pancakes but a fair few people did not realise this.
Be prepared for the odd power cut - had a few around 6pm which did cause the shower to stop working but it is part of being in West Africa!!!

Room Tip: Depends what you like - premium are ground floor which is good if you do not like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Serekunda
1,290 reviews
2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
869 reviews
3 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Kololi
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kombo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kombo Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 694, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kombo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beautiful wide sandy beach of Kotu is Kombo Beach Hotel, a popular and lively hotel with a desirable range of facilities, excellent cuisine, entertainment and true Gambian hospitality. Offering 5 different room types: standard, superior, premium, studio and suites, all with excellent amenities which makes this hotel also the perfect choice for the business traveler. During 2011 and 2012 the standard & premium rooms, studios and suites were refurbished. With a choice of facilities like pool with separate children's pool, gym, internet cafe, mini market, massage & beauty saloon, laundry service, daytime and evening entertainment, clinic, lush tropical gardens, beach front setting and friendly staff this is an ideal hotel for either a relaxing or an active holiday. On site there are 3 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kombo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kombo Beach
Kombo Beach Banjul
Kombo Beach Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing