We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait go back”
Review of Kombo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kombo Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cant wait go back”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we have just come back from our xmas holiday in gambia kombo hotel and what can i say ...we had a lovely time had a standed room but was very clean every day staff cleaned room staff are very friendly and allways had smile for you .the entertainment every night was brillant we met many friends ....the beach was on door step .we went on few tours visted villagers and children if you want a relaxing holiday with entertaing every nite friendly staff this is the hotel by far i could not fault it only this xmas we are going for two weeks and get a stoudio flat

Room Tip: if you suffer with bad knees or can not walk stairs very well then the first or ground floor is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    471
    139
    37
    21
See reviews for
156
545
54
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Begur
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our first visit to the Gambia which we absolutely loved. After a very busy season working in the tourist sector we were ready for a relaxing holiday in the winter sun. This was a perfect fit for us and an excellent location. It is not our first visit to an African or third world country so we were not expecting the 4 star African rating to be equivalent to a 4 star European rating. We have always had a very easy going attitude to travel and lower expectations in poorer countries. However there are some things we are happy to pay for and expect. 1. a clean and comfortable bed, 2 clean bathroom, 3 decent breakfast, after that you really expect to 'get what you pay for'. I would agree wholeheartedly that the staff were very friendly and in the main charming at the Kombo beach hotel. My experience was that their training was sadly lacking. The management of this hotel does not seem to be customer service driven. Breakfast service to say the least is chaotic with not enough crockery/cutlery to cater for the number of people seated. This was a problem every day with a constant battle for cups, plates, etc., The mattress on our bed was so bad that we asked firstly for an upgrade (which we were happy to pay for) and secondly for a change of room. Neither unfortunately available. After three nights of not sleeping and having bad backache and asking politely at reception, eventually the mattress was replaced. We felt that having to hire a dongle for Wifi access was incredibly expensive. Hiring a safe also seemed an 'added extra' which should have been included. We paid the full rack rate for this hotel and were in fact paying almost double what people on packages were paying for the same rooms. We will definately go back to Kotu but not to this hotel. We discovered another option about 50m along the beach which included suites with Wifi, safe, satelite tv, cooking facilities, walk in wardrobes, comfortable beds, sea views in their deluxe rooms with lovely big terraces for 2/3rds the price. Guess where we will be going next time?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CBCBegur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms a little tired cannot fault any staff allways a smile and allways very helpful beach a must did not find sellers or bumsters a problem outside same applies long as you are polite fine stayed only bb status a little busy at times but fine certainly on are list to stay again next year

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Third stay at kombo beach n stayed in a suite this time well worth the upgrade ,staff absolutely 100% food as nice as ever .pool much better in fact it gets better every time we go .have stayed in other hotels but kombo is so relaxing you literally walk straight onto the beach n don't have to move all day if you don't want to, because the waiters come to you on the beach for food and drink orders,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is our 3rd visit to The Gambia this calendar year and once again it didn't fail to put a smile on our faces. We were at the Kombo Beach for the New Year and had the most fabulous time. The second time we stayed at Kunta Kinteh Restaurant apartments which are located left up the beach about a 300 metre stroll right on the beach.
We have been on many of the trips but have always had young Malang (Tito) to take us. he is one of the best and most trusty tour guides in the area and his prices are excellent compared to all the other guides. His attention to detail and caring approach to your enjoyment is second to none and we have now struck up a lifelong friendship with his beautiful family. The recent trip involved us staying at the Kombo Beach for 11 nights and the holiday was excellent once again. Do not be put off by any "horror stories" that you may read on here as theres are often posted by very shy people with little sense of adventure. The best advice I could give anybody is to leave your watch at the airport and go with the gambian flow. Bear in mind though, this is a 3rd world country with some of the most genuine people you could ever hope to meet.
Don't forget to pop up and see Malang Tito up at Kunta Kinteh's even if you just want to use their free sunbeds all day because they will make sure you get brilliant, smiling service all day long from the staff. It makes a nice break some days from the excellant Kombo Beach. :-)

Room Tip: Like one of the other reviewers we stayed in 248 which was near the Barracuda Bar on the top floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

we visited for 3 weeks this time instead of the usual 2, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves again. We opted for a suite this time instead of a standard room and the extra space was much better. As always the staff are fantastic, welcoming us and remembering us from previous years. We also met a lot of tourists we have seen on previous visits, so it was nice to catch up.
The gardens are beautiful, the beach is lovely. I ignore the fruit sellers and bumsters, a polite and firm No Thankyou usually does the trick. Gambians are incredibly friendly but can be overwhelming if your not prepared for them! The hotel has updated some of its facilities over last summer, the pool toilets are all new and very nice. The main bar needs redecorated now and the rooms, although comfortable and clean (which is the main thing) need an overhaul to keep up with the competition.
We took a trip to South Gambia this time. We travelled in a huge fantastic jeep into the jungle which was very exciting. We visited a hospital and a reptile farm which was really good. We then travelled aboard a traditional boat down river on the border with Senegal and stopped for lunch at a small eco lodge. Lunch was fish and traditional veg and salad followed by fruit. We had a great day and were dropped off at 5pm back at the hotel.
We always go creek fishing on a Friday, leaving Denton Bridge on a traditional craft and travelling up the Gambia river with Janes Boats. Food is simple and tasty, plenty drinks available and a very relaxing day. Highly recommended.
If you want high class hotels the Kombo is not for you. If you want conversation, a nice beach, friendly staff and a relaxing holiday its perfect. The pool and sunbeds are excellent.
Livs bar on site has plenty screens and beams in all major sport venues. Football, rugby etc and the barman Victor makes a cracking cocktail.
We ate at The Clay Oven indian, the best curry house in the world. The food is tremendous. You need to take a taxi as its in Fajara/Bakau. Come out of the Kombo onto the beach and turn right. Walk up the beach to the Ninki Nanki restarant, its a huge glass domed building on the beach serving lunch and dinner. The food is delicious and very reasonable. We ate here 4 times. If you go past it there is also Paradise bar and Sailors bar also serving nice food.
We will be returning next winter as always, its home from home and we love it.
There is a spa/hairdressers on site. Its expensive and not to my liking. Ive tried it 3x and am still not impressed. The staff don't converse they speak wolof to each other (their own language) and god knows what they are saying about you. I am always uncomfortable. They were 15 minutes late, no apologies and I had very little privacy for my massage. Go over the road to the Bakotu hotel, their spa is on the main street beside their supermarket and its fab. The staff (only 4 of them) are lovely and the room is tiny but all curtained off for absolute privacy. We had manicures, pedicures and massages. Its also cheaper then the Kombo and a lot more comfortable.

Room Tip: !st block near the pool can be noisy till 12pm when the entertainment finishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaz049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week starting 22nd November 2013. We paid the extra for a suite on the top floor. Fantastic views of the sunset over the sea in the evening, and it was great to have the extra room to chill in, and spread out. We found the hotel very clean, and all the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. The pool was a little small, but the gardens were lovely, cool and relaxing. The fixtures and fittings are all a bit old fashioned and rough around the edges by European standards, but perfectly adequate.
We spent most of our time on the beautiful beach, and once we established who we would buy fruit, fruit juice and market trades from we were left pretty un hassled. The sea could be a bit rough at times, but fine to swim in so long as you kept to just waist deep. You do get approached by lots of people trying to sell you stuff, but it is always good natured. The Gambia is a VERY poor country, and they are only trying to get by, finding any sales niche they can. It is great to see that they are actively trying to sell stuff, rather than begging. We found the Gambian people incredibly friendly and happy, and often really DO just want to chat (it can be a bit of a pain when you just want a bit of peace and quiet though).

Do not be afraid to venture out of the hotel. It is a very safe country with a lower crime rate than the UK. We used ARCH tours in Kololi - look them up on line - they were absolutely brilliant, under cut Gambia Experience by at least a third, and gave a quality service. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.
We had breakfast at the hotel, which was pretty good and varied, but we ate out at other restaurants every evening, to give the local population a share of the trade. Lunch at the hotel has a wide menu, and is competitively priced compared to the beach cafes.

Room Tip: Top floor has the views, bottom floor easy access and better sunbathing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yummymummyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kombo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kombo Beach Hotel

Property: Kombo Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 694, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kombo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beautiful wide sandy beach of Kotu is Kombo Beach Hotel, a popular and lively hotel with a desirable range of facilities, excellent cuisine, entertainment and true Gambian hospitality. Offering 5 different room types: standard, superior, premium, studio and suites, all with excellent amenities which makes this hotel also the perfect choice for the business traveler. During 2011 and 2012 the standard & premium rooms, studios and suites were refurbished. With a choice of facilities like pool with separate children's pool, gym, internet cafe, mini market, massage & beauty saloon, laundry service, daytime and evening entertainment, clinic, lush tropical gardens, beach front setting and friendly staff this is an ideal hotel for either a relaxing or an active holiday. On site there are 3 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kombo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kombo Beach
Kombo Beach Banjul
Kombo Beach Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing