We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory, if you like this sort of hotel!”
Review of Kombo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kombo Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Plus points: Woke up to a sea view. Fairly well appointed room (TV, fridge, hair dryer, A/C). Comfy bed, reasonable sized room. Pool OK, nice grounds, Bar/ restaurants fine. Veggie menu!!!

Minus points: Shabby room, poor fitting curtains, furniture very “tired”. Typical package holiday ‘resort’ hotel – with organised events. Very windy in the evening, which despite the time of year made it cold (glad I had my fleece!).

Other: Large hotel directly on the beach
Gambia is not cheap. For one night’s accommodation the hotel was OK.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

Just returned from our third visit to The Gambia. Only managed a week this time and stayed at Kombo Beach (allocated on arrival.) Accomodation was ok but bedrooms in need of refurbishment. Ample buffet breakfast , and free sunbeds on the beach go some way to compensate.
Once again made use of the bird guides at Kotu bridge. Alex and Ebrima Barry and Pa Jallow, and at Cape Point the young trainee bird guide Abdoulie Jallow. We made trips to new sites Turjerenj and Farasutu. The guides never disappoint in finding a variety of birds. They are having a hard time making a living this year as visitor numbers are down, so give them a try.

Thank MandHLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Fab location on the beach. Our third visit to kombo beach still recieved a warm Gambian welcome. The hotel is now in need of a serious makeover all tired and worn. Very expensive this year to eat drink in the hotel although if you choose to do so food very good. Took our teenage daughter who had a wonderful time she was treated like a princess.
Did'nt find the pressure to buy or visit locals fruit stalls or juice bars quite as bad this year but outside the front of the hotel local lads could become quite trying when they pester you everytime you stand outside the gate.
had some wonderful days out this year with a Gambian friend and his family saw the real Gambia ot what the tour companies think you shouls see. Ask Lamin at the pool about Bebe he will take you on some fab excersions for a quater of the price the tour companies charge eg safari with tour companies £45 per person Bebe £65 for as many as will fit into the jeep!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maisieWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I think the Kombo is a great hotel and the staff are friendly, the entertainment good, etc. However, I don't think it's fair for anyone visiting Gambia and writing a review to complain about (quote) "bumsters" as tourists need to remember that Gambia is a third world country and as such has a fair amount of poverty. Gambians are basically doing whatever they can to make money and the tourist industry is, unfortunately, one of the few industries that the country has. Yes, there are people that will hassle you in order to sell you something almost everywhere you go. As far as I can see the Kombo does as much as it can to keep away real 'undesirables' being having security guards and allowing in only a handful of genuine guys trying to make a living in the only way they can.

Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
1  Thank LondonSuzie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

My wife and I are both in our seventies but found that the Kombo suits all ages. The rooms were well appointed, we had one overlooking the beach. The beach is clean and no real hassle from traders. The food was good but maybe a touch on the expensive side. Alcoholic drinks are cheap in the local supermarkets and there is no objection to having them in your room. Entertainment is fine if you like drums.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Advantages:
- right at the seaside
- free beach right in front of the hotel
- decious food
- very decent rooms
- friendly staff
- mixed of families, couples and young people

Disadvantages:
- it is huge, hence - lots of guests
- it is 10 min taxi ride from the centre
(dinner in Kombo - £8, in the town - £3!)

I would not hesitate to book it!

Stayed: February 2009
4  Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I read so many varying reviews about Gambia hotels before booking with The Gambia Experience that it was confusing and impossible to make a sensible judgement - so we decided to let fate take a hand and book "allocation on arrival" and was sent to the Kombo Beach. All in all we enjoyed an excellent beach/pool/sun break for a week. If you can ignore the well publicised negative aspects of the country - the poverty, rubbish, continual shmoozing for money and so on - it is possible to enjoy an excellent hotel-based holiday in The Gambia. Our room on the 2nd floor was basic, spacious, cool enough without a/c and was efficiently maintained each day. Bed very comfortable. Hot water at vital times of day, and a delightful view of beach gardens and sea. The pool area was excellent, the beach outside the hotel clean and maintained and although there is the continual and persistent attention from jewellery, fruit and restaurant sales people, it is essentially good natured and non- threatening - just annoying. We chose a half-board option, ate at the Kumbala restaurant and found the food quality and selection very satisfactory. Excellent music and dance groups each evening. We did no trips - which were expensive no doubt due the collapsing Pound - so cannot comment on the other 99.999999% of the country .................... but we loved the Kombo Beach.
Whole organisation with The Gambia Experience was seamless and smooth. Monarch flight excellent in most respects but they seem to be attempting a new world record for how many people can be shoehorned into a Boeing 757 - I have never experienced such little room in an aircraft.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lymingtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Serekunda
1,290 reviews
2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
869 reviews
3 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Kololi
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kombo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kombo Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 694, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range: £65 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kombo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beautiful wide sandy beach of Kotu is Kombo Beach Hotel, a popular and lively hotel with a desirable range of facilities, excellent cuisine, entertainment and true Gambian hospitality. Offering 5 different room types: standard, superior, premium, studio and suites, all with excellent amenities which makes this hotel also the perfect choice for the business traveler. During 2011 and 2012 the standard & premium rooms, studios and suites were refurbished. With a choice of facilities like pool with separate children's pool, gym, internet cafe, mini market, massage & beauty saloon, laundry service, daytime and evening entertainment, clinic, lush tropical gardens, beach front setting and friendly staff this is an ideal hotel for either a relaxing or an active holiday. On site there are 3 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kombo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kombo Beach
Kombo Beach Banjul
Kombo Beach Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing