We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel on the way up”
Review of Badala Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Badala Park
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Reviewed 15 December 2013

have been back to Badala Park for 3 weeks again November 5 to 26 th . nice to see the hotel has change and seeing the staff where still the new bar staff and they are all willing to help you Everyone is so friendly and helpful, you will want to stay even longer. Breakfast is buffet style and there is food available poolside or Chinese. The rooms and pool, are kept clean and towels are changed daily.Going back in February for a friends wedding nice to see old friends and staff . This hotel has had some bad reviews in the past but the new manager (JARGA LAI MBOGE) and staff are there to listen and improve right away. The chef (ALIEU) is one nice guy he and his staff will help you start the day with a good breakfast and first class food all day .. See you all again in feb..many thanks for making this one enjoyable stay in The Gambia

Room Tip: B / BLOCK is a good block near to reception and breakfast area we where in B16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank demba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. If you are a looking for a friendly, fun, happy place to stay this the hotel for you. If you are looking for material luxury this isn't the place for you. Jagar, the new manager is happy to hear your views on the hotel and is making improvements, Alieu the Chef is also happy for feedback on the breakfast served and is keen improve what they have to offer. Please do give feedback, you are listened to...in the mean time thank you to all the staff at Badala Park. The daily water polo matches with Coco, paw paw, Carra Jimmy and the rest of the boys were great fun. We will be back again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bodiceajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My third visit to Badala Park. Got back on the 18th. Nov. and already booked to go back in Feb.
This hotel just gets better each visit since the change of management. All staff now have identity badges and the security staff make sure that the 'bumsters' don't get in to bother you. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, you will want to stay even longer. Breakfast is 'Al Fresco' buffet style and there is food available poolside or at the onsite Chinese. The rooms, like the pool, are kept beautifully clean and towels are changed daily. Visit once and you will go back again & again.
Hope to see all my friends again in Feb.

Room Tip: Always stay in 'B' block but don't think there is much to choose, just nearer breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned yesterday from yet another fantastic holiday at Badala Park (4.11.13 - 18.11.13) This is my 4th visit here. Hotel has been duly refurbished as promised - amazing what a coat of paint does! the Hotel Owner's son now is the duty manager and has made great changes. The staff welcome you back like a family member and the hotel is super safe and secure now due to the Chief of security and his team. Was delighted to see the kittens that were born on my trip in March are now thriving! My only negative is that you have trouble booking to go there!!! come on Olympic and Thomas Cook - get more rooms available for us Brits who adore this hotel!! We meet the same friends and other travellers who also love this hotel. Got engaged on this trip and the staff made my day super special. Will hopefully have the wedding there too next year!

Room Tip: I always have the same room in D block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catwoman690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

After going to the same hotel (Badal Park) for the 9th year in row. We have made so many friend's over there that we now class them as an extened family and I find it unjust to give this hotel a bad review. You could go to the more expensive hotel's but you would not get the same ambience. The staff know the regular people who go there time and time again and we find that for a third world country there are one of the most friend-least people there.

Room Tip: We alway's try to get B block for a more quieter part but we are now staying in the D block as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is our second stay at Badala and all the staff were delighted to see us back again. We stayed in G Block and our room was clean, clean towels every day and a good hot working shower. For the money we paid for this 2 weeks holiday I can honestly say there was nothing to complain about. Like a previous comment says all the staff now have ID cards no there are no locals wandering about like last year. All the staff are friendly and helpful and are so anxious to please. Will hopefully be back next year.

Room Tip: try to request a room in A,B OR C Block they are nearer to reception and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HelenHeckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpfull in all Questions we ask .Thanks alot to the Staff and the Owner he was also very friendly and helpfull had a very ,very nice Time,
Sending our Love to each and everyone .

ONE LOVE Bernadette and Iris

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reggaecorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
smartline Palma Rima
smartline Palma Rima
#5 of 9 in Kololi
353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badala Park

Address: Kotu Stream, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range: £23 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Badala Park 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 10 years of ownership and 30 years of management experience, the recently refurbished Badala Park Hotel is renowned throughout the Gambia, as well as Africa, Europe, USA and by travelers worldwide.Less than thirty minutes transfer time from the Gambian Yundum International Airport and you will always be greeted in our large cool reception and lounge area after your travels, on arrival at the friendly Badala Park Hotel with the friendliest staff in the Gambia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Badala Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badala Park Kotu
Badala Park Hotel Kotu
Badala Park Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing