We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Badala Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Badala Park
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We book this hotel as a package deal with a flight few weeks before the trip and so was happy to be able to go on holidays with such a short notice. However there was a price to pay for it.

Pluses :
- close to the beach (5min walking), close to the money exchange point
- rooms cleaned everyday
- nice/funny hotel staff
- little store at the site - helps avoiding being stalked by couple of bumsters when going to the supermarket; hotel store can also be open at request

Minuses:
- away from Serekunda (main street with night life) which with the bumsters makes it a must to get a taxi every time you want to go for a dinner which means you have to negotiate the price with the driver (from 700 to 250 Dalasis).
- bumsters (beach boys) are waiting right in front of the hotel doors and so there is no way to avoid them
- quality/ hygiene of breakfest is very low or would say it's at the camping level (e.g. eggs shells are being thrown on the ground once the egg is on the frying pen- eggs are made in front of you
- the local cesspool is just accross the street of the hotel (50m)
- no moskito net provided (luckily we had our own)
- expensive and slow internet in the hotel (the internet quota that was supposed to last 24h when it lasted for 2hs of reading articles online)
- heard woman screeming and running out of one of the hotel rooms at night

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    87
    91
    33
    67
See reviews for
60
133
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews on this site prior to flying out with Thomas Cook I must say I feared the worst and was very apprehensive. My fears however were totally unfounded as although this is a 2 star hotel I have found the room to be functional and satisfactory bearing in mind the price I paid for the holiday.

For those who have booked to come to this hotel I would say that if you don't let little things bother you all will be fine and you'll have a fantastic holiday as I am having.
If you're expecting The Sheraton you'll be both disappointed and unrealistic.

As for Bumsters, they're not a problem in this hotel or on the walk to the beach via Park Hotel.



Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisStubbs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I spent seven days in Badala in November 2013. service very friendly and helpful. close to the beach, but on the way several tricksters. room large and very clean. bathroom and doors require repairs. no internet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gab r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is a great place if you are on a budget. I was disappointed with how dark the room was for such a sunny place.However they are cleaned daily to a good standard. The food is ok but just ok.

The staff are friendly and helpful but this is pretty standard for the Gambia.

The location is a 10 minute walk from a really nice beach and local super markets

Room Tip: We stayed in j block, recently renovated but a little walk from the reception- was glad of this as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

By the second day at Badala Park, we were on our third room which we would still say was not up to standard as the workmanship and décor finishing were poor and we dread to think how bad it was before the 'recent improvements.' By that time we knew about 1/2 the staff who introduced themselves as being very useful for arranging trips out for guests using their 'brothers nice car!'
The 'tradesmen' and gardeners were all at it, do they not get paid a salary and get told that some guests want a little peace and quiet? We just decided to spend all day out of the hotel and had a long walk south down the beach and found the Monkey Park ourselves and by the 4th day we found the rep and told her that we were leaving and asked her to find us somewhere else and she replied a few days later that our 3 waiting days at Badala and the costs at a 3star hotel for our second week were a lot more than we could have paid for the full 2 weeks at Kombo Beach. No way!
After 7 days, spent mainly at the lovely Palm Beach area by the sea on loungers and eating and staying away rom the hotel in the evenings the Bumsters, (sorry Maintenance staff) knew we were not into being their best friends, which I suppose some couples do like and they moved on to new prey. You expect to get pestered outside the hotel which you do all the time but that is by unemployed youngsters but when it happens all day by the pool, when you are walking to get the breakfasts, which were absolutely chaotic! or when you are siting to have a cold beer, its too much. I should point out that the security staff, cooks and waiters/waitresses are exempt from this but some of those are unpaid trainees. There was a Xmas Eve Gala Meal free so we decided to continue with our beach holiday and have the meal because at least it was free, bad decision as it was awful, cold and an uninspired menu and we ate very little but it was too late to go anywhere else so we stayed and watched at midnight as a drunken 'member of staff' nearly drowned in the pool. It was absolutely awful to watch him being revived mainly by the guests!
So we saw out the remainder of our few days on the beach and going out to eat and drink most evenings! Do not get me wrong we did meet some nice people on the staff and will keep in contact with a few but the management chain at the hotel is wrongly set up and staff bumsters should be sorted out speedily to stop the hotel getting a bad name, it has a terrible reputation in the local area. Gambia lovely (and cheap) Hotel build quality and décor-awful, Staff 50% great, 50% a nightmare! Would we go back, yes but to a better hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldham33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarga10, General Manager at Badala Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us i wished i knew about this when you were here.
Firstly the guy who almost drown was a guest who paid for his meal and not a member of staff. We sometimes have black guests too. I was there giving him first aid myself maybe you did not see me. The reason i let the tourist treat him is because those guests are doctors! always makes sense to let them handle those situation. When we have a medical emergency its always common sense to let doctors handle it even if they are guests and they were happy to help the poor lad. with regards to staff asking for money, heads will have to roll. Because my staff are all paid and in fact they all got a pay rise last month. What they did to you was utterly unacceptable. I take your criticisms very seriously and will address the matters you raised immediately. Thank you for the review and wish you a wonderful 2014!
Regards,
Jarga Mboge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kotu hotels

Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I spent two weeks in december 2013 in Badala Park Hotel together with my wife. According to classification, it's 2½ star .... my opinion is that this hotel should be rated higher! If you pay for 2-3 stars, you shall not expect 5 star service, of course. Our room was quite big, very clean, and the bathroom was also in good shape. The staff was very friendly and nice; you got the feeling that they really care. We used he massage and pedicure place at the pool area, we were also satisfied with the quality and price of that service. The hotel has a number of blocks, with a lot of palms and other green stuff around - it looks really nice. The hotel is a calm place where you get a good sleep, and if you some day feel for heavy night life, the Senegambia area isn't far away. The security of the hotel area is good - it was quite difficult to get some local Gambian friends in there to share a beer -:)

Badala Park includes breakfast in the the room price, unlike many other hotels. It's quite simple - juice, coffee, bread, some cheese or sausage, eggs and omelettes, porridge and some fruits. For us that was completely enough for getting then engine running in the morning.

The management of the place (the father owns the place and his son came in as manager this year) is most of the time available around the pool area making contacts with their guests - very friendly and nice people both of them! BTW, the owner speaks fluently Swedish, he has got his hotel management education in Sweden and the US!

The evening programmes around the pool (BBQ, African evening, etc) is a good value.

We liked Gambia very much, and we will probably soon go back there. I will try to get my room at Badala Park next time also. I liked the room, service and atmosphere there.

Mikael
Helsinki, Finland

Room Tip: Not all rooms are similar, some people like more to be close to the reception while other likes to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent 10 days here in November 2013 and cannot wait to go back. Room was basic and bathroom a bit tatty but everything worked. Had a few trips to see the river and the monkey park but mostly just sat around the pool and relaxed. Staff were great, pool was clean and food was good. We were only bed and breakfast so had to pay for other meals and drink but not overly expensive. I would have preferred all-inclusive but I am not sure what quality it would be if they did that. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badala Park

Property: Badala Park
Address: Kotu Stream, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Badala Park 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 10 years of ownership and 30 years of management experience, the recently refurbished Badala Park Hotel is renowned throughout the Gambia, as well as Africa, Europe, USA and by travelers worldwide.Less than thirty minutes transfer time from the Gambian Yundum International Airport and you will always be greeted in our large cool reception and lounge area after your travels, on arrival at the friendly Badala Park Hotel with the friendliest staff in the Gambia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Badala Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badala Park Kotu
Badala Park Hotel Kotu
Badala Park Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing