We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Badala Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Badala Park
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at badala park in jan 2014 , i was a bit worried at first when i read the reviews on trip advisor but on arrival everyone was so helpful and kind , i asked to move rooms after the first night due to the birds woke me up at the crack of dawn( birds nesting in roof ) the management could not be more helpful straight away they moved all my belongings to another room .
I had a fantastic stay every one of the staff went out of their way to help with what ever i needed ,simple things IE: i forgot my iPod charger the staff soon rallied round and found one and they kept it charged up all holiday , extra pillows no problem they could not do enough .
Around senagambia You do see older men and women mainly women i might add ! with Gambians a bit younger than them selfs but hay everyone to their own .
Gambia is an amazing place the people make the place ,you do get hassled by the bumsters but a polite NO THANK YOU does the trick .
Like i say badala park is every thing i needed for my holiday good location great staff and management , that reminds me its the first hotel i ve stayed in while at the bar the manager brought me a beer ! thank you Jarga !
Thanks again to all staff and a big thanks to LIA the owner for everything .
See you all soon i just booked up for christmas .

Room Tip: B block or C block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dude001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    87
    91
    33
    67
See reviews for
60
133
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

my son and I stayed here for 3 weeks we enjoyed it particularly the staff.
The hotel is basic but has a good pool
Food is basic and rooms are too, if you have a problem in your room the maintenance guys are very quick to sort it out.
Great location as next door to JDS
stayed in B block and had great view.
Staff engage with children and make them feel special.

Room Tip: upstairs is better I liked B block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggs164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you just want a clean place to sleep a reasonable breakfast and reasonable staff at a budget price, then this is the place to stay. Welcome to Africa :-) No holds Barred. Best rooms are blocks A,B & C. We have stayed in the same room twice, they are always more than willing to move you with NO problem. Maintenance staff need training and proper tools to do the job. Pool needs a bit of TLC, some of the staff had been changed to unpaid trainees (Tips only so give generously!) - But then I am not surprised as Tour Operators give an absolute pittance per room - how the hell do they expect these people to refurb with what they pay them. Only downfall this time was that they had put entertainment on EVERY night - and it always involved the djembes which is fine if it was three nights a week but every night and you could not hear yourself talk let alone think! But all in all thanks for another FAB holiday Badala :-)

Room Tip: Best Rooms in blocks a,b & c - stay at the front if you want a quieter room in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McGowanHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just got back from here was the best holiday i have had, the staff were the most friendliest and kindest people i have ever met.
The children really enjoyed it as well, great memory's and will be going back in November.
Thanks to all staff for making it a perfect holiday
Dave, Sharon Libby and leah

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djamesaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I've stayed at badala park in previous years,so I knew what to expect.However on arriving this year I was pleased to see many improvements alround.We were first located in B block but wernt happy there as it was much to quiet!!Although there were no complaints with the room.Next morning the staff bought me a key to the room in C block opposite the bar and the pool which my family loved!!There is always activitys centered around the pool that the whole family can join in with whilst listening to the tones of reggae music.Po Po the pool man is a lovely genuine person who always went out of his way to make everyone comfortable and happy.We were all pleased to see he was still working there.Musa the watchman over c block is a softly spoken humble man who was a pleasure to talk to.Infact all the staff were great.The manager jagar was always on hand if need be.Palm beach is the sister hotel a two minute walk away,your welcome to use all there facility's also,it has a beautiful beach in front of it with sunbeds,horse rides,quad bikes,fishing trips.The choice is endless.Ive heard people complain about this hotel being too "basic"!!Its a 2*!!Its clean and ran efficiently!!If you want room bar,phone in ur room,TV ect,ect book the Senegambia and pay 80%more for the privilege!!Gambia is a developing country.Its beautiful and it's not called the smiling coast for nothing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Missmoniquepradeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

There must be better rooms on this hotel. We had a very basic room - to a very bacic price, check the room before you pay. The hotelstaff is very friendly, but the pepole in the reception need to be more serviceminded. If you use the "taxi-service", just outside the hotel, be prepeard on very heavy bargening. A ok hotel, not far from the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Take a look on the room before you decide to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arendal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The 'Oh dear!' relates to our first night. We've been using this hotel for about ten years and have stayed there about 15 times. The room we were given when we arrived late on the first night was appalling. It was in 'E' block, on the first floor. There was a broken window next to the balcony door complete with jagged blades of glass. There was difficult access to the toilet. There were neither towels nor toilet paper. There was no soap. The door was difficult to lock. We were very upset! It was impossible to re-locate us, or so the desk staff said. We had brought toilet paper and a towel with us so we managed a very uncomfortable night. Next morning a member of the ground staff came to our rescue. He located an empty room in 'C' block and transported our cases to this room, which was excellent.
My wife had to stay behind to ensure that the transfer went smoothly while I went about the business of the charity. As we were in The Gambia for just one week this was an irritating loss of working time.
The rest of our stay ran smoothly; the staff are, generally, superb. But the fact that management had failed to take proper care of elderly, regular customers, spoiled our long held belief that Badala was the best place to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timidimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badala Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badala Park

Property: Badala Park
Address: Kotu Stream, Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Badala Park 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 10 years of ownership and 30 years of management experience, the recently refurbished Badala Park Hotel is renowned throughout the Gambia, as well as Africa, Europe, USA and by travelers worldwide.Less than thirty minutes transfer time from the Gambian Yundum International Airport and you will always be greeted in our large cool reception and lounge area after your travels, on arrival at the friendly Badala Park Hotel with the friendliest staff in the Gambia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Badala Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badala Park Kotu
Badala Park Hotel Kotu
Badala Park Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing