We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To the last reviewer”
Review of Bakotu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bakotu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“To the last reviewer”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The last review is completely out of kilter with almost every review and is obviously written by a troll or an alternative hotel. And to the person who said that security was bad I have to disagree. Stayed here last Nov 2011 and they were very good about not letting in anyone who shouldn't have been there. Grounds staff were wandering about at night and I never once didn't feel safe. Brilliant chilled out place that was soooo helpful when I became ill, I cannot recommedn this place enough unless you want luxory in which case then prob not for you. Please excuse typos. I am educated but my lap to p is broken!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pepperx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    189
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
60
260
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Where do i start, the only good thing about this hotel is the staff, and thats when the witch of an owner does not decide to sac them!!! she pays them rubbish wages treats them like slaves, think she needs to understand that slave labour stopped many years ago..... she will easily dock there wage at the drop of the hat!! she puts prices up to match the 5 star hotel kombo beach across the road, however the hotel is dirty, flea infested, never had so many bites on my feet and legs and thats just from the rooms!!!

i just want as many people as possible not to stay there, there is better hotels or appartments in the area which are better value for money....

i feel the owner just wants to maximise her profits and line her own pocket rather than operating an up to date hotel with happy staff!!!

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank emmajt2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great hotel set in bungalos amongst the trees with birds, monkeys, bats and monitor lizards, best place for nature watching you could find, with nature walks all around, a golf course behind the hotel is a prime area for birding, best I have found, with the Kotu stream just yards away. The hotel has its own top birder in George who will book you trips out and show you the local area,
Comfortable, if not basic, with a good swimming pool.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are better for the bird watcher as nearer the wild life. We had C6, a good roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlienDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

If you get a cheap deal on this hotel, and are looking for a low key resort, with a flavour of Africa, try the Bakotu. Yes, the rooms are simple and a bit tired, but they are spacious and the lush tropical grounds full of exotic birds and monkeys more than make up for it. Who needs room service when the morning chorus is that good? There's a small pool area which can get a bit crowded but the beach is only a 2 minute walk away. There are several eating places a stones throw away - enough to keep up the interest on a week long holiday certainly and the prices will certainly keep reminding you that you're out of the eurozone! The breakfast is just fine for what you are paying for this hotel ( assuming you shopped around), you may want to bring your own kettle if quality coffee is an essential part of your holiday! Birding wise this is paradise, and it's very easily arranged once you arrive. Just walk down to the river bridge and you will be inundated with Gambian bird guides. Usually they can be persuaded to take you for a free sample walk and you can see if they are to your liking, and have good English. A two hour guided walk for 2 shouldn't cost more than a fiver. Or it's easy to arrange a more distant trip for another day if required, as some have access to vehicles. Alternatively you can use George at the hotel, who has comparatively good english. He's not as cheap as the guys on the bridge, but you get what you pay for. Don't be afraid to haggle, this is Africa after all, you should be paying at least half of what the tour operators charge for more touristy trips, if you use a more local guy. But don't expect the same quality of transport! Do go out and about, it will be worth it. I'd also recommend lunch from the fruit ladies on the beach just watching them prepare the fruit is an experience!

Room Tip: If you like birds, ask for one at the back, facing towards the river ( though don't expect river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

my husband and i stayed here for 11 nights from march 11th. this is a lovely hotel basic but clean and centrally located. the breakfast was more than adequate with the gambian pancakes being our fave! within a few minutes walk you have a selection of very reasonably priced restaurants and the beach. try paradise beach bar for free sunloungers and very cheap beer drinks and lunch with friendly service.Sailors bar reopened their restaurant at 11pm to serve us after we came back from a very long day trip and the service was very welcoming. try the reggae night at dominos on sunday night great buffet and good music. the food on senengambia strip was amazing especially JOJOS food and service outstanding for 11 pound per head inc a couple of drinks. soon after arrival choose 1 taxi driver and 1 bumster. we had JJ the best as our driver and he could not do enough for us recommended restaurants gave us history lesson and made sure we were not taken advantage of . we had bobby moore as our bumster which meant for the price of 1 soft drink a day we were left in peace and anything we wanted he got. we did look after him when we left but this was purely our choice with no pressure off him to do so.The Gambia is an amazing country where you can do as much or as little as you want.It is a very safe country where you are welcomed heartily.Bakotu hotel is an amazing base for your holiday with friendly staff peaceful surroundings and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dougal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Engaland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Returned 3 weeks ago from a 14 night stay in Bakotu Hotel. This was our first experience of Gambia and Africa and I can't wait to return. Although I agree it is quite basic; the hotel, its staff and the peaceful setting are fantastic. We were at the back overlooking the 'Golf Course' in room R8, we had our own large garden area and views across open land. We could sit listen to birds and watch the monkeys, wild boar, cows, lizards etc. passing by. The room staff were really good and although it took 2 days to get a fridge (order one before you go) they couldn't do enough for us. Or room was cleaned daily, the bedding changed and flowers scattered on the bed. The only warning is b careful what you leave outside, the monkey stole my husbands glasses, We were also ther during the break in and arrest, but the local people were so shocked we believe it was a on eoff and they did catch him and administer justice. We felt very safe.

We went on a couple of trips with George the resident Bird man, including an early morning birds and breakfast tour which included the Lamin Lodge and wildlife Park. We went on other trips out with Husan ( he can be found near Paradise daytime or outside Boss Lady early evening). We also went on the Roots tour with Ouseman: an experience not to be forgotten. The Roots experience is fantastic but very humbling, however we ended up on a broken down ferry for 2 hours with a coffin, live chickens, a goat and many people, it also got dark and there were no lights,...and then our land rover broke down and w had to push - but I would go again without hesitation - the real Gambian experience.
We tried most of the restaurants, eating mainly in Boss Lady and Ali Baba's and drinking Julbrew. We experienced beach party's and Reggae nights at Domino's but our favourite restaurant is Sailors, you can walk and although it is a dark road local guides will escort you
( or you get take a cab). We made many friends other guests, staff and the fruitladies Heidi and Fatima - It felt wrong at the end when they were giving us gifts they ha made.
This is a wonderful country with some of the friendliest warmest people I have met, despite it being one of the worlds poorest country. And the 'bumsters' are only earning a living, once you say no and have been there a couple days they leave you alone - not like the constant ringing of the phone when I returned with people trying to sell me electricity, PPI schemes and car insurance - the 10 nuisance calls on the day of my return put the chats with bumsters into perspective. Can't wait to return to Gambia and the Bakotu.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have fab views, especially for Birdwatchers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Curlycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Bakotu Hotel, basic, clean, quiet, friendly staff, what more do you need for a holiday in one of the poorest countries in the world.
The Gambian people are the friendliest people my wife and I have ever met, we felt totally safe at all times, including walking back to the hotel late at night through unlit streets where the locals would always ask if we have had a good night out.
We became friends with Stan Da man who was quite a reserved type of gentleman, 100% genuine, the loveliest bloke you could ever meet, it actually brought tears to my eyes as he waved us off, at the end of our holiday. We went to a football match with him, Gambia v Algeria, if you have the opportunity to go to a football match whilst there, please go, what an experience! Stan took us to his village school, which is not funded in any way and rarely gets visitors, a wonderful experience not to be missed. To see the childrens faces light up when they see you, along with their singing will definately bring a tear to the eye, some sweets, books, pens, toys and money for rice will cost next to nothing, so please make every effort to go.
For my wife to say she wants to go back next year speaks volumes for Gambia and her people and I am in agreement, I cannot wait to go back.
When we arrived back home we received a phone call from Stan thanking us for helping him and his village school, sorry, but it should be us thanking him for giving us the most memorable moments of our holiday.
To find Stan ask Lamin who works behind the bar at the hotel. Stan is a local taxi driver and is very helpful when it comes to getting around. He can be booked in advance and will wait for you if required and bring you back safely. We found that mentioning that 'Stan looks after us' when the local bumsters are trying to sell you something or take you somewhere in their taxi, does the trick!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brendan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakotu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakotu Hotel

Property: Bakotu Hotel
Address: Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakotu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned and well established, Bakotu is a small, friendly hotel ideally located in Kotu between the beach and the golf course. Facilities include a small swimming pool, sun and shade terraces, reception, laundry, shop, restaurants and bars. Individually decorated rooms, with comfy beds and either terrace or balcony are grouped around mature gardens. The monkeys, squirrels and birds are great attractions. Ideal for those looking for something a little different with good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bakotu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakotu Hotel Kotu
Bakotu Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing