We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naturskönt och lugnt” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakotu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bakotu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Kotu, Gambia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Naturskönt och lugnt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We did not expect Bakotu to be such a relaxing and peaceful place, but we really appreciated the silence and green area. All the sounds from birds and monkeys made our stay very pleasant. We woke up every morning when the monkeys landed on our roof, we kept calling them 7eleven since they came same time every morning.

Outside Sunset Beach Hotel in Kotu you need to go and find Ousman the Ferryman down on the beach. He runs the fastest ferry cross Kotu stream at high tide and arranges interesting trips around Gambia and to Senegal as well.
Hi has a great knowledge in Gambian history, we learned a lot during our trips.
There is no rush and he let you take your time, he was very patient also with our not always so co-operative children.
The Ferryman really lighted up our holiday, we felt in very good hands and our vacation would not have been the same without Ousman, his dedication for the country and great experience of the same gave us the extra gold shade that is not to be taken for granted no matter where you travel.
One of the high lights of our trips was the one to Tanji, to see when the fishing boats comes in was a colorful experience of one kind.

We had an excellent holiday, the weather was good and the beaches long. After the first days of some hustles we only enjoyed the open and friendly Gambian people, we made some friends that we will keep in our hearts for life.
Even though traveled around during many years this was the first country to leave with tears in my eyes, the only solution for me is to start planning for our next trip to Gambia-and I really hope that it will be really soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wallgren_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    187
    48
    10
    3
See reviews for
58
256
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

My partner and myself have just returned from a fab week at this hotel. We wanted a break before christmas, just a nice value for money hotel and i must say we thought it was ideal.
Very pretty grounds, nice clean pool, friendly staff. The room we had was basic but for the price we paid we can,t complain.The bed was very comfy which is important, no noise after about 11pm so a good nights sleep is what you will get ( as long as you rent a fan which costs 500 dalasi but worth every penny). We had breakfast included which was also very basic - bread rolls,cheese, jams tea coffee fruit juice, for a bit extra there,s a wide range of breakfast choices.
We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandalincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Bakotu Hotel is a lovely smallish hotel.
Hotel safe boxes £40 refundable cash deposit and 500 or 600 dl a wk.
Easter week was quite busy at the hotel but the 2nd week many had gone home and for us this was much better with not so many people around.
Very hot especially during 12 - 3pm where there wasn't too much shade around the pool. There was other shady spots to sit in around the hotels gardens though.

The staff were wonderful and so helpful especially once it had become clear we were delayed due to the volcanic ash (5 days delay in all).
We were on Bed & Breakfast basis up until our delay which as previously mentioned on other reports consisted of two fresh rolls with butter, cheese and jams, very sweet orange juice, tea or coffee. (Tinned carnation milk or similar used). Once delayed, we were on full board c/o Thomas Cook.
The bed was the most comfy nights sleep ever.
Shower a bit iffy but we got the hang of it as time went on.
I'm so pleased we decided to opt to stay at Bakotu and not the very very busy Kombo across the road which was a more expensive.
I would say this hotel is more for couples than families really with nothing much to do other than the swim pool for the children who were on holiday there, although I have to say the children that were guests were as good as gold here.
The hotel is located a short stroll away from the beach but you get used to being hassled en route for the beach hence just the 3 blobs for 'location'.

Ask for Kabirou Barrow taxi driver working at Bungalow Hotel taxi rank who is a fantastic guide, so knowledgeable of local tourist sites with a lovely sense of humour too. We, along with two other English couples had the fantastic experience of eating at his compound which really was the very best meal all holiday. (He is a trained chef).

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a first taste visit to The Gambia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank news12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Enjoyed our stay at this lovely 'African' hotel. The monkeys in the garden, frogs chorus at night and the birds singing in the mornings added to the experience. We enjoyed the fresh rolls and cheese each morning and didn't need to add to the breakfast. Our service was fast and always with a smile.
We ventured to a different restaurant each evening and thoroughly enjoyed the local culture and food. We were not hassled by 'Bumsters' and the fruit sellers on the beach were friendly.
We used the local travel guides form the office opposite the hotel who were helpful and took us just where we wanted to go at a very reasonable price, Shariffo was our guide and was very friendly and considerate.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcedwardsSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Just returned from a 2 week stay at The Bakotu hotel in Kotu, it was a bit like staying in an african village in the jungle. The rooms are so arranged that it feels that you are staying in very intimate and tropical commune. The human guests share the hotel complex with the resident 16yr old watchdog "Pino" totally deaf but still very alert, a family or two of cats, a rare Genet cat, large lizards, bull frogs, tortoises, terrapins and a family of monkeys along with babies.
The rooms are basic but quite spacious and kept very clean by the staff, the odd powercut and strange workings of the shower did not deter from the overall experience, although the nighty chorus of the bull frogs took some getting used to!
The pool area is well maintained and the pool bar/restaurant provides a reasonable menu. Be warned though that breakfast can be a hit & miss affair with staff darting about but often forgetting key things such as milk, cups and breakfast... The included choice never varies, tea, coffee, fruit juice, bread rolls and cheese slices every day although you can order a la carte if you want something else.
The hotel has a small supermarket but the one just across the road is cheaper with more choice. There is also a money exchange next door which we used and contrary to what we had been told did not charge commission or try to "rip you off". They will exchange most currencies at a good rate, we brought dalassi from home as advised but would have done far better to have waited until we got to the resort.
The beach is a very short walk, with a choice of little bars and restaurants. We particularly liked The Paradise beach bar, great service and food, very reasonable too and you can order from your sunbed if you're feeling very lazy. Dominos on the beach does good food as do Ali Babas & Vee Jays just across the road fro the hotel.
A few last comments, the sea is great but quite rough and not suitable for lenghty swimming but great for paddling and generally splashing about, it also washes up a random assortment of rather large jellyfish as the tide changes which the locals say are not dangerous but we gave a very wide berth...Be prepared to have to speak to everyone you meet and to be offered a taxis,guides,trip organisers etc etc, after a few days you get the hang of being polite and saying no, oh and don't forget the mosquito spray at night - jungle formula extra strength ment no bites for either of us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Staying at the Bakuto Hotel, you can expect a nice and quiet environment. Arrival to the hotel is an easy process, just show your passport and get your key! The rooms were comfirtable, if basic, but the beds afford an excellent nights sleep. The best thing about our room was within 20 minutes a group of monkeys appeared outside and then the same time every day.

As most people say the service is slow, but we found that to be true of everywhen in Gambia and we were not in a rush at anytime. All the staff are welcoming and if you are sick of the bumpsters then they will arrange for security to walk you to your destination, or better yet, head straight out the hotel to the government tour guides office which is opposite. Breakfast is a basic affair but in the heat you don't need much more than what they give you and we found the hotel restaurant to be massively overpriced but well presented and quite tasty gettaway if you feel a little lazy!

Some people say book with the tour company, others say use the locals. We did both and found the tour guides to be so much better then the tour company. they were knowledgable and the tours were just for your group. If you do go there then seek out Kevin and Sherif, they will make sure you are well looked after.

Kotu beach is a small and quiet area but you can easily get into the busier Sena Gambia where there is a large selection bars and restaurants. I would say try out the Paradise Beach bar and restaurant on Kotu Beach, good food and friendly staff.

We were there for just a week and we felt is was not enough and hope to go back some time in the future. I recommend two weeks and making use of the local guides as much as possible and then you'll get the best of Gambia.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east of england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We have just returned from Bakotu in Gambia and yes it is basic and there are people hanging around outside the hotel but we had a great holiday. The weather was perfect, the hotel clean and tidy.

With the bumsters that hang around outside the hotel just be firm and march straight pass them. They will hold out their hands to shake yours if you dont want to, say a very firm NO and continue about your business. They will approach you on the beach but if you head up towards Sailors and Paradise Beach which is right out of the hotel there are not so many of them. Also if you sit on the beach at Sailors they have security guards who will tell them to go away. Try the Barracuda at Sailors it was the nicest meal of the holiday.

If you have any mosquito spray left over at the end of your holiday give it to the security guards at the hotel. They frequently get malaria and work from 6pm to 7am for around £30.00 per month with no mosquito protection. Any toothbrushes, razors, deodrants etc are greatly appreciated by the staff also. The cats also appreciate a little bit of food left out for them too.

Whilst we were sitting around the pool, we witnessed the monkeys come out of trees and rummage through someones bags and take out three bananas. A word of warning, dont leave anything hanging around as the monkeys will steal it and take things off your table outside your room. They are great to watch and provide hours of entertainment. They land on the roof of your room which an enormous bang and scare you half to death.

Breakfast is a bit of a fiasco with two rolls and 3 pieces of cheese. Ask what the choice is other than cheese and you may get baked beans or eggs.

All in all if you are thinking about booking this hotel do so. It is lovely and we shall most certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 7 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 7 in Kotu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakotu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakotu Hotel

Property: Bakotu Hotel
Address: Kotu, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakotu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned and well established, Bakotu is a small, friendly hotel ideally located in Kotu between the beach and the golf course. Facilities include a small swimming pool, sun and shade terraces, reception, laundry, shop, restaurants and bars. Individually decorated rooms, with comfy beds and either terrace or balcony are grouped around mature gardens. The monkeys, squirrels and birds are great attractions. Ideal for those looking for something a little different with good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bakotu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakotu Hotel Kotu
Bakotu Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing