We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the beach”

John Raymond's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“on the beach”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to the Wednesday evening BBQ at John raymonds.The food was excellent and plenty of it, you could go back as often as you wanted.They had a fire on the beach and African drummers and dancing.I would of rated this higher, but when I paid for my bar bill one of the lads came over and took my change from me saying he was hungry. I would of given him the money had he asked but he just took it..I told I never return to John Raymonds..It was a shame that this spoilt an excellent evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    28
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average beach bar”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Went here a few times in my stay in The Gambia I wasn't impressed with the food at all. The weekly BBQ was good tho but lack of good tasting food.

Helpful?
1 Thank LesRoach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banjul, Gambia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great find on the beach”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The staff are very friendly, especially Henry who did all he could to make us feel at home. Glad we find this whilst strolling on the beach one day and will definitely be calling in again soon. The food was of a good standard and we felt very relaxed on the beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best place on kotu beach”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

just got back from two weeks in gambia , stayed at palm beach hotel and spent most if not all our time at Johm Raymonnds, where everyone there made us feel so welcome and gave us a fantastic holiday thanks t, thanks to every one of you .
see you all again next year
ste nd jo

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joste2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great beach bar”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

we went to this beach shack on a few occasions and were treated lovely, we met a guy working there called Henry, nothing was too much trouble, my daughter wanted a pizza one lunchtime but they didn't have any as they were preparing for there weekly bbq so henry went to another restaurant and got her one. lovely bbq too about 10 dishes to try for 250d.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mulliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Raymond's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to John Raymond's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing