We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
12
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
12
3
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We stayed at the hotel in March for one week and had a fantastic time.The hotel is central to pretty much everything we needed. Our suite was spotlessly clean, spacious with Wi-Fi connection and close to the pool. The whole complex has beautifully manicured gardens and lies on the beach front with access to lovely golden sands

As we like to get out and about while on holiday we only ate at the hotel the first night but it was very nice, a couple of times we had a steak or chicken Baguette for lunch which were again lovely, breakfast was omelettes, porridge, toast, fruit etc. which we found perfectly acceptable and nothing was to much trouble

Best of all are the people of Gambia, I have rarely come across such polite, happy and helpful people in my life, everybody wants to talk, quite a few want to sell but all done in the most friendly of ways

We ate at a few of the restaurants listed on trip advisor, Oscars just to the left of the hotel less than a minutes walk, lovely butter fish lunch cooked in foil, cold beer whilst watching the world go by on the beach was pretty good, Ningki nangka restaurant sipping cocktails watching the sun go down followed by evening meal also pretty good. Kunta kinteh just up the beach, Samba Kitchen at the end of the road and Scala's the best of all within walking distance or by taxi costing around £4 located just outside the hotel.

I am not quite sure why this hotel has negative reviews, its as good as any good Spanish or Egyptian hotel, yes the electric went off a couple of times as did the water but I feel that's all part of the African experience, if you are concerned about cup marks on a tiled floor not only are you in the wrong hotel but I would suggest the wrong continent

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank coffeeboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkemngu E, Manager at Flourish Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thanks for your review. We wish to welcome you when next you visit the Gambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

After a hard days work The Flourish Wellness Resort was a delight to come back to. The food was amazing, catering for all of us, vegan, vegi & chip lovers.

The rooms & facilities were top notch, the staff were very friendly & helpful, the location was perfect & the beach & pool were very relaxing. This was a great place to base ourselves during our volunteering & I would highly recommend it for a vacation destination.

There was a very safe feeling around the whole complex. It was a shame we didn't have enough time to try the Spa.

Room Tip: I would say go for any 1st floor room, if you want the views.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevearella007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkemngu E, Manager at Flourish Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thanks and we wish to welcome you again when next you visit the Gambia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Because when you read the negative reviews this hotel has been given, thats all people are actually doing, they are simply "MOANING" about things they believe they were entitled to expect or "deserve" because they have paid their money.
Well news flash people - firstly remeber where you are or read up on the culture and "what to expect" when visiting The Gambia. Strandards are a long way short of what you can expect in most of Europe or in the U.S.A. and secondly, you probably didnt pay a huge amount of money compared to what you would be "expected" topay in Europe or the US anyway!
But I for one am happy to tell you first hand - having stayed here for 2 weeks from 21st March 2016 - that if treated as they deserve and spoken to and explained to decently and with some degree of humanity and humour there is virtually nothing that Mr Kabba and his staff will not do or arrange for you, and you will have the most wonderful holiday staying at the Flourish.
We stayed on a HB basis, both breakfast and lunch were supplied on a cooked to order basis, with good quality well prepared food served beautifully and attentively. If we wanted something different from what was on the menu, they were more than happy to shop for us and supply exactly what was wanted if given notice.
Our suite was kept immaculate, cleaners on hand to clean at anytime that suited us best. (this was im sure, due to the fact the hotel was virtually empty at the time)
The pool is unfortunately, due for repair because of a small leak, but it was cleaned and topped up daily to ensue it was in perfect condition should we wish to stay at the resort and use it.
I even made one (very tongue in cheek) comment about the lighting in the bedroom being too low for make up application, not expecting anything to be done about it as the lighting was considered by the managament to be romantic. But i said after 30 years marriage make up was far more important than romance, and NEXT DAY NEW BRIGHT LIGHTS. Honestly, how can people give them negative reviews!!
THis resort is in an absolutely fabulous idilic location convenient for "the strip" in Kololi for night life and dinner, fabulous walks in both directions along a beautiful beach PLUS all the great beach bars along those walks. (be polite to the beach boys and so called "bumsters" they are only trying to earn a shilling!) and without our support it will go under. If it does, it will be a great loss and not at the fault of eirther the resort itself, Mr Kabba or the resort staff. I will certainly be supporting it myself again next year. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkemngu E, Manager at Flourish Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thanks so much for your honest review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks from 23rd Feb 2016. It's in a beautiful peaceful location right on georgous Kotu beach. The suites are amazing, very spacious with very comfortable beds. The air conditioning only worked in the bedroom, it wasn't needed in the living area even though temps were in the 30s. We were only bed and breakfast as there are many bars and restaurants nearby or within a short taxi ride away. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss but it was fun (the mantra became " this is Africa"!) Unfortunately the pool became contaminated and it had to be drained, we used the lovely pool next door at the Sand Beach, so no problem. It's just one of those things. The manager Kabba had a tough job on his hands as the hotel is advertised as a 5* luxury resort, it has the potential to be 5* but as it stands currently , it is a 3 - 4 * (this is all down to the owner not the manager) but its in a 5* location. Kabba was so helpful when we were both poorly (due to dehydration and possible food poisoning, not from hotel) he bent over backwards, running us free of charge to clinic and hospital. This brief interlude did not spoil what was a fabulous holiday. Go with an open mind, embrace everything, it's a lovely friendly place. This was our 2nd visit to the Gambia, there will be a 3rd time!


Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkemngu E, Manager at Flourish Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thanks so much Sarah, sorry that you couldn't enjoy our big and lovely pool. It was actually unfortunate. It has been repaired and now very ok. Wish you were here to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Stayed here Feb/March 2016, worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I have been holidaying in Gambia for over 20 years. The breakfast was a joke as there was only one waiter who had a very bad memory problem, and it was very unusual if you got what you ordered. The menu was so poor, eggs with anything!! My friend asked for scrambled eggs and sausages and got scrambled eggs with 2 poached eggs!!
The rooms/suites were nice but the aircon in the living room had no remote to operate it - when I asked for the remote or to have the aircon made to work I was told it was not working in any of the living rooms as it was too expensive to run.
The cleaner/maid we had at first was brilliant but she got finished as the hotel deemed to let her go due to lack of guests, the replacement maid never cleaned the room properly, she just straightened the quilt on the bed and the sheet you lie on was still crumpled. The bathroom was not cleaned as toothpaste was still on my sink until the day I left, the balcony was never mopped as there were still the same cup marks on the tiled floor.
The evening meal was good but not much choice and the table was only set with one knife and fork wrapped in a tissue. I also asked for more bread one evening after having used what they issued with my soup but was told they had no more as they only bought one small french bread roll because they were not expecting us to want more than that (no excuse really as there was a shop at the top of the road selling bread rolls) and no we never took food out of the restaurant and why would we want to take bread out at night ?
The pool was disgusting with green algae growing on it, there was a problem but there was no sign saying it was out of action until complaints were made. And by the time we left there were only 2 umbrellas left around the pool and only one of these worked
This hotel may have a 5* rating when it was opened but honestly I wouldn't have given it 2*
Please avoid this hotel if you require a nice holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nearly-gambians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nkemngu E, Manager at Flourish Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Its unfortunate that this reviewer could not be identified from our database. Probably visited a friend who had issues with the waiter because she requested for extra item to take to the room and was denied. She took offence of that and pledge to ruin our reputation online. All air conditions at the resort are all Samsung and installed less than a year ago. All suites have their remotes. In case where u can't find one, the same remote can work for both air conditions because there are the same model. All our cleaner have the same training. It's true we had to down size staff as the season was running to and end. All the above allegations are false except for the pool which had some problem and was immediately attended to and now in a perfect and good state. Wish you were here to enjoy our big and lovely pool if u even lodge with us in the first place. Stay positive and try to be sincere and objective.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews